We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay. Good price”
Review of Driftwood Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ingonish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Driftwood Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Ingonish B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 August 2014

With no planned accommodations, I had to find a last minute place to stay that was pet friendly. We found this place through the recommendation of another motel and was glad there was an availability. There was only a one double bedroom and we were three plus a dog (room 3b). We still took it as my parents needed a bed to sleep. The place was very clean, rustic. The bathroom comprised of a bathtub, no shower. The owner was very helpful and courteous. It has a nice ocean view if you had the right room (we didn't have the view, but can access it still). For 55$, it was a very good price compared to the other places we stayed. I would recommend it with advanced booking for better choices and would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Call in advance for availability, price and room choice. Free wifi as there is no cell reception unl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

I want to give Driftwood a 3.5 stars - it is very rustic, so don't expect luxury, but the location, price and incredibly helpful owner make it something worth exploring.

We had the yellow cottage, which is set apart from the main lodge (in fact, the owner's home is between the cottage and lodge). The cottage is right on a (small) cliff overlooking the water's edge, with stairs down to the beach and a yellow picnic table for drinks or a meal while watching the ocean. The location alone is wonderful.

The cottage itself feels very 1970s or 80s Canadian fishing cottage. One room has a queen bed, with a little space around it; the other had a single and a double, with limited space. Both rooms have drawers, but no closet, so you hang clothes from wall pegs. A tiny (but full) kitchen with fridge, stove, basin, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, pots, utensils, etc. A small bathroom with tub and shower. The enclosed patio area off the main door is the only other space, so it serves as dining room and living room. The bugs were almost non-existent while we were there, so you are much better off outside on the yellow picnic table.

The cottage is thus small, and a little worn, but you can see that slowly but surely things are being updated (new wood here and there; floors need to be replaced next I feel). The price, however, is amazing: $100 in high season, and enough to sleep five people (though it was very tight). When we first saw the interior, we were a bit taken-aback, but by the second night there, we were enjoying memories of fishing and lake trips 20 years ago, and we *loved* the view and beach access. Also, Kersti, the owner, was very generous with her time, recommending places to eat and hikes in the Cape Breton National Park (where she works).

The biggest drawback: no AC, just one fan. We came during a hot spell, and even with all the windows open, sleeping five to the cottage was stuffy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Fog-blogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Kersti was accessible and helpful when we made our reservations, but we were disappointed when we arrived. The grass had not been cut recently, and our "apartment" was little more than a motel room with what looked like a bathroom that had been divided to make a kitchenette. The kitchen sink was also the bathroom sink. The only cooking appliance was a toaster oven with two burners on top. Because the furniture was not in good shape, the room felt dirty. The curtains do not close entirely, so that guests staying in the nextdoor apartment can see in. Also there is no air-conditioning and, because it's on the second floor under the roof the room was too warm. There is a floor fan that helped. The view from this upper room, facing the water, was great and there's a small beach that can be accessed from this property.

Room Tip: Despite the view, I would not recommend "apartment" 5 (for two people). Although it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed at the Driftwood Lodge for 5 nights back in July of 2013 and we had an amazing time in the area. The owners of the lodge were more than courteous during our time there and the location is incredible!

First off, we arrived very late at night (around 11:30 pm) because we flew into Moncton and drove around 6 hours in our rental car to the lodge (an amazing drive by the way, incredible scenery!). We had let them know ahead of time that we would be late and they said no problem, just call when we get there and they will help us. So we pulled in finally around 11:30 but we couldn't call because we no longer had cell service...but the owner came out and met us as soon as we pulled in, asked if we needed help with our bags, gave us the keys to our room and gave us a quick tour of it before we called it a night. That alone made me feel great as we were a little stressed from being so tired!

Second, when we went to pay I had completely forgotten about the price that I was quoted months ago when we first booked...so I paid what she said the total was and had no problems with that. Well later on when we were heading out for the day to see some things, she stopped me and informed me that she had actually quoted me less than what I just paid, and she needed to correct it or she would feel really bad about it. This kind of thing is what makes a vacation that much more enjoyable, to be able to meet people who are this nice and honest...it is a rarer and rarer thing these days and it is much appreciated.

Now, for the accommodations...the price was incredible compared to other places in the area, the room was a really good size (about a 2 bedroom apartment size for $95 a night) and the access to the beach was second to none (down one set of stairs and you're on the beach). We could see the ocean from our balcony and hear the waves at night through the window, it was amazing. My fiancee (gf at the time) got engaged while we were there, and it was much more beautiful than anything I could have done back at home.

The area is also fantastic as there is tons to see and do in the area. We went on a whale watching tour about 45 minutes north of Ingonish and the views from the boat were unbeatable. We got to see some Pilot and Minke whales, as well as some seals, bald eagles, and various other sea birds. There are also plenty of hiking/walking trails with minutes of the lodge, and I HIGHLY recommend a visit to Warren Lake. It is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been to and the swimming was fantastic. One of the days we were there we were the only ones on the beach and the water was as still as glass...the quietness and beauty of the place just made me feel great. If I could build a cabin close to the lake and visit daily I think I would be a very relaxed individual!

Overall can't say enough good things about the lodge and the entire Ingonish area, an amazing place to see!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmckay417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for a night just travelling through. Our room was very basic, but clean and comfortable. We did not have a shower, just a bath tub, though it wasn't really a problem, we just found it part of the charm. The room was no more than 50 dollars, which is amazing value, so we were super happy. The owner was very welcoming and made recommendations for where to eat and go.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Location is great, right by the ocean and you can literarily hear the waves from the room. There the access to the private beach and a private little playground that the owner build for his kids- but is generously sharing it, so this was a bonus that we did not expect for our toddler.

Rooms are rusty old, basic, but clean and have everything you need. The space is utilized well.
Owners are super friendly and ready to give advice on dining, hiking trails, etc. They are both artists- happen to work in film and theater and interested people to talk to, They are genuinely nice.

We stayed in the comunal Lodge for two nights- and if it happened that we had stayed on any different day of the week the rating would have been probably higher- however the second night ofd our stay ( wich happen to be Saturday)-we could not sleep until 4:00 AM!
If you are early bird- and go to bed pretty early this place will not work for you unless you rent their " yellow house" - the separate entity at the property.

What happened to us a lots of young crowd came for the weekend fun, there was door slamming, laughing, smoking, rooms circulating, sitting on the stairways, talking..
We heard every single word and movement as isolation is pretty poor.
We asked them kindly to lower the tune, explaining OUR situation, and although they were polite and apologetic, nothing changed and the party didn't end all night. I understood they were just young and on a different life stage than us , I am not blaming them.
However, I wish the owners had made some " house rules" in the comunal house, in terms of the neighbor- curtsey after certain hours , as our relaxing time and all the great feelings about the place we felt were pretty damaged by this experience.

Room Tip: try to book the yellow house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danolear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We weren't t expecting muchness...$50.oo per night in Aug!! And we were pleased with our choice. we only stayed a night and had the small double room with tub no shower. The checking was a bit if a out off as the chap ...owner? Although friendly was a bit on the grungy side. happily the room ...was very clean...carpet looked new and it was all pine...rustic but fine. loved having morning coffee on the beach!!

Room Tip: If you book the rooms with a view you ll hear the waves crashing at night.....a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank easterntreker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ingonish hotels
0.2 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
4.4 mi away
Castlerock Country Inn
Castlerock Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Ingonish
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#2 of 7 in Ingonish
102 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lantern Hill & Hollow
Lantern Hill & Hollow
#1 of 7 in Ingonish
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Lodge

Address: 36139 Cabot Trail, Ingonish, Nova Scotia, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ingonish
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Driftwood Lodge Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing