We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certificate of Excellence well deserved!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lantern Hill & Hollow
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Certificate of Excellence well deserved!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We just spent 3 nights at Lantern Hill & Hollow and wholeheartedly agree with all of the positive reviews. Sharon--the innkeeper--has created a lovely oasis. From the moment you turn into the driveway you know it will be special. The landscaping is beautiful and the cottages are perfectly situated on the water--well away from the traffic of the Cabot Trail. Ours was the Beachcomber--a very comfortable 2 bedroom unit overlooking the beach--thoughtfully equipped and nicely furnished. Even the wi-fi was excellent. And the entire complex was kept spotlessly clean and is beautifully planted--no small feat in a place that gets such severe winters! We would happily return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 31express
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    21
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
85
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Spotlessly clean, amazing beachfront location and super quiet. We were there for 5 nights in early June. The cottages and property are very well maintained, and exactly as shown on the Lantern Hill website. All the staff were super friendly and helpful. We would stay here again as the beach is literally on your doorstep. The location is great as well for exploring the Cabot Trail. There is not much in the way of shopping, so I strongly advise bringing groceries with you. There are some good restaurants close by. Whale watching trips are available in the community as well.
There is also wood and kindling provided for campfires on the beach, with chairs available on the beach. There is also a large bin of beach/sand toys available for children to use on the beach.

Room Tip: All cottages are located with easy access to the beach, so any of the cottages would be an excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annie041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Unlike similar properties, this one is new construction. The cottages are cleverly positioned to offer just the right amount of privacy, yet with a great view. The cottages have everything you need, with full kitchen and a nice sitting area. The rates may be higher, but the value is greater. Some other properties you will be at the restaurants, at Lantern Hill, you can avoid them.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Loved, loved, loved the location. We went in early June and we had the beach practically to ourselves (you could walk like 1.5 miles of beach). We got the Beachcomber cottage (the one closest to the beach). The cottage is beautiful. It has two bedrooms with comfortable beds. The bathroom was very nice. It had a kitchen/dining room and a living room with a large tv. You can see the beach from the windows in the livingroom and one of the bedrooms. It was wonderful to hear the waves at night and see the moon reflecting on the water. We enjoyed exploring the surrounding highlands area. It is a beautiful part of Nova Scotia. The owner of the place lives on-site in the main house but she is not intrusive whatsoever. The cleaning staff were super friendly and we asked them questions about the area. Would definitely stay here again if lucky enough to return to beautiful Cape Breton.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MariettaMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Lantern Hill & Hollow, on the edge of the water, with spectacular views to the ocean or the landscaped property was one of our highlights when travelling the Cabot Trail. It was the "perfect" place to overnight, clean, comfortable cottages, with all of the amenities to cook (BBQ) our own dinner that evening. I hope we can book this location again when we visit this area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The Lantern Hill and Hollow has a spectacular waterfront setting between Ingonish Harbour and Keltic Lodge. The view from the shore is spectacular. The property is nicely landscaped with lovely rocked area near the main house.

The cabins are modern, clean as a whistle and beautifully appointed with nice prints of local artists works showing the cabins and scenes from the property and nearby.

The kitchen is fully stocked if you choose to prepare your own meals. In hindsight, we should have as the local restaurants are not great and the dining at the Keltic Lodge is overpriced.

The beds were very comfortable and the location very quiet. You can hear the waves lapping at the shore when you drift off to sleep.

We stayed one night on a cycling trip around the Trail. You won't find a better place to rest your head!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimbo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

These are spotlessly clean and comfortable cottages right on the edge of the beach. We had a very relaxing time with beer and a good book next to the beach. This was followed up by steak on the BBQ. I would strongly recommend a stay here.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AmabelF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingonish
1.9 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
43.6 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
2.0 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#4 of 7 in Ingonish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
3.6 mi away
Castlerock Country Inn
Castlerock Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Ingonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern Hill & Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Hill & Hollow

Property: Lantern Hill & Hollow
Address: 36845 Cabot Trail | Ingonish Beach, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Ingonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lantern Hill & Hollow 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps away from the Atlantic Ocean stands an enchanting beach house with guest bed & bath rooms on a hill overlooking its own kingdom by the sea...A charming seaside village of beachfront guest cottages nestled in the hollow below...All of this is situated on a 6 acre beachfront property-- a picturesque tranquil & secluded park-like setting directly along the famous Cabot Trail in Ingonish, Cape Breton Island, NS. Minutes to amenities, golf, hiking trails, sea adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lantern Hill & Hollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern Hill And Hollow Hotel Ingonish
Lantern Hill & Hollow Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing