We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seascape Coastal Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seascape Coastal Retreat
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Alberta
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was our second visit to the Seascape. And as the first visit, we throughly enjoyed it. It would be nice if we could stay longer. Both times we only had one night's stay there. It is such a CUTE cabin... Big bedroom, Big Bathroom. Nice sitting area. BBQ out on the deck. Hors d'oeuvres in the room when you arrive. The shore is a rocky shore. You can't swim there, but just a short drive to Ingonish Beach. This trip we took a drive down to the Thirsty Hiker Pub for the evening, enjoying the local entertainment. Only a 3 minute drive. You get a free breakfast at the Seascape served between 8 and 9am. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandWina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    42
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
222
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

These cottages are absolutely heavenly. I stayed here 2 nights leading up to the long wkend. in August and only wish I could have stayed much longer.
I was still unpacking the 1st afternoon around 4pm when a young staff member brought a plate of snacks by.........a delicious seafood dip with crackers. What a great way to welcome the guests. They include a different snack at approx. the same time each day. The 2nd aft. I was given equally tasty coconut shrimp and dip.

The very first thing you will be struck by when entering the grounds is the view. Second to none. You will be hard pressed to ever find a nicer view while vacationing on the east coast.

Then when you enter your own private cottage you will be very pleased by the comfort and beauty of the unit. High quality linens, bedding etc. My unit, cottage #4 had a whirlpool bath, fireplace, bbq, sat. tv. and kitchenette. and wifi. Beds were firm but very comfortable. And the view from your porch is stunning. Both days I spent many moments 'woolgathering' on my porch gazing at the ocean.
You also have available as part of your fee to both mountain bikes and kayaks. The latter I would definitely recommend b/c the cove is directly below your cottages with very easy access.
I would recommend very highly this place to any and all. It would be a perfect romantic getaway or if like me you are single there is no end to the amount of offerings available both leisure and active...................a great respite it gave me personally.

Room Tip: I really doubt there is a cottage with a bad view and they are all situated to give you a good amoun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hatthead2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reisterstown, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We did a lot of hiking and kayaking in Cape Breton. What a treat it was to come back to the Seascape and unwind in the hot tub or on our private porch with ocean and mountain views. The breakfasts are superbly delicious and appetizers appeared in our frig ever night.

Room Tip: This place is geared towards couples, but we stayed with our 15 year old son and he slept on the sof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed here for a full week in July and absolutely loved it. We had a private cottage looking over the water. It was quiet and beautiful. The owners were friendly and very accommodating, but not intrusive. The hot breakfast every morning was delicious and really substantial. It was a great way to start the day. Then the little treats every afternoon were amazing. This place was THE place to stay in Ingonish and maybe in all of Cape Breton. I can't say enough good things about how wonderful our stay was. Highly recommended! Great for couples especially!

Room Tip: go for cottage 7 or 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diloren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Our 4 nights here were the highlight of our vacation, this place has everything you could possibly want, exceptional view, delicious breakfasts, and great seafood appetizers, that is such I nice touch. The cottages are super clean well stocked if you want to use the bbq (we did) beds are comfortable and they are nicely decorated. This place is close to the golf course (Highlands) a beautiful drive to Cheticamp where you see the best of the Cabot Trail, (we just drove there and back this way you only have to drive the road that allows you to see the best views) and great hiking trails. They offer supper which we did not have as we never knew our schedule but I am sure the meals would be great. The lookout from the deck is relaxing and serene. The beach is a bit rocky but after a bit of a walk it takes you to some sandy sections, neat exploring time. The owners are super friendly, if we were to travel to Cape Briton again, we would definitely stay here and I would recommend it to anyone I know who is thinking of going!!

Room Tip: We paid extra for the more private deck, but all cottages face out to the bay and have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chickiepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Seascape Coastal Retreat is lovely. The cottages are up to date and clean with comfortable beds. A delicious appetizer awaits you in the refrigerator when you get there.
Breakfast was delicious and the area is beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed at the Seascape Coastal Retreat for five days and enjoyed everything about it. The view from our cottage was spectacular, with a view of the mountains and cove. The cottage itself was well maintained, very clean and comfortable. The only downside was the very small kitchen area, but this was minor.
We loved the morning breakfasts and evening appetizers that were brought to our cottage every afternoon.
The owners were very friendly and helpful, and the grounds and garden were very nice. This is an excellent place to enjoy a Cape Breton getaway, and we had a wonderful time here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weezyl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingonish
45.2 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
56.9 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
40.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
3.8 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#4 of 7 in Ingonish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seascape Coastal Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Coastal Retreat

Property: Seascape Coastal Retreat
Address: 36083 Cabot Trail, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full service resort. Suitable for couples. Outdoor Spa and tranquil gardens. Free vacation planning for our guests. Full service restaurant with liquor license ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Seascape Coastal Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seascape Coastal Retreat Hotel Ingonish
Seascape Coastal Retreat Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing