We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seascape Coastal Retreat
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Certificate of Excellence
Bordentown, NJ
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here for two night on the third leg of our trip to Nova Scotia. The location can't be faulted. Its right on the Cabot Trail. We did a lot of hiking locally while we were there, and it was nice to come back to relax on the deck.

The cabin is very nice, although the decoration was too modern to be rustic and too dated to be modern - Nothing major, but a few updates (a spash of color on the walls, updated furniture, ditching the tube TV for a small flatscreen) would make the cabin feel a little more luxurious. Still, the cabin was well maintained and very clean. The highlight for me woulf first be the view! Every cabin has an ocean view, and a view that would cost double or triple in another location! But, if you're looking for the best view, the higher the cabin number, the beter the view. Another plus was the deck. We enjoyed sitting out to watch the ocean each afternoon after we came back from hiking. I also loved the jacuzzi tub and taking my morning walk along the beach. The only real downside of this cabin (and the only reason I'm giving Seascape a four rather than a five) are the beds. The pillows were flimsy and the bed was too hard. For the price, I would expect a better mattress.

The site itself is very well maintained. The cabins are right next to the ovean and there's a small path to take you down to the rocky beach. There's a nice little garden with flowers and a pond, and also a hot tub.

The breakfast, included in our rate, was goo, but not the best we've every had. Between my husband and myself, we tried everything on the menu while we were there and had no complaints. I really enjoyed the oatmeal and would recommend it for someone looking for a lighter, healthier option. The service was very good also. The lady who served us at breakfast was very informative, and basically wrote out our itinerary for the day.

The location was perfect for hiking and sightseeing. Its also only about ten minutes away from the Keltic Lodge, where we went for drinks and live music. Other than the the Keltic Lodge, the restaurant picking were a little slim, and both the Keltic Lodge and the restaurant at Seascape were a little more than we wanted to spend. If we stay here again, we'll probably just buy fresh seafood and cook it ourselves on the outdoor grill.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    42
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
223
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed in cottage 8 for three nights in September 2013 and it was a amazing.For couples this place is just awesome We were lucky to have a full moon shining down on the ocean I sat on the our deck most of the nights listening to the ocean.The breakfast was amazing and the special treats they bring at five for you to taste was a great touch.I was going to stay at the Keltic Lodge but after checking it out while we were there Im so glad we picked seascape. Dont get me wrong the Lodge is nice but the view at seacape is ten times better and so close to the ocean and you have your own cottage Its a beautiful thing.Rod and Julie have a gem there and I will be back again some day.Thanks again you guys.Tim

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimmyMac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Great location & setting along the Ingonish Bay. Fabulous sunset & quiet surroundings. The garden is a beautiful retreat. Path along beach is very private. Although all the cabins were all inhabited we felt we were there all alone. The breakfasts were very good........would definitely
Return to this property.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauimarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The cottage was comfortable, clean, and had everything we needed. The bathroom was large, but the bedroom and living area were a little cramped. Our hosts were so pleasant and knowledgeable about the area. Breakfast was really great and, as others have said, the seafood snack in the fridge was a nice touch. The weather was rainy for the two nights we were there, so we weren't able to enjoy the deck. The grounds were nice and we did walk down to the pebbly beach despite the weather. The dinner options in the surrounding area are pretty limited. Unfortunately, we were looking for dinner on a Sunday night, which is the night they don't do dinner at Seascape (though he did offer to whip something up for us when we asked for recommendations in the area).

Room Tip: Room #9 does not have the best view from the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed sitting on the private deck every evening! The weather wasn't the best during our stay but the one day we were forced inside due to the rain was comfortable. The views were incredible and the beach (rocky) was great for beach combing. The sound of the surf was all you could hear. Very soothing and I miss it. The location was great for us as we did mostly hiking on the local trails. We didn't eat at the restaurant for suppers because we took advantage of the bbq but we did decide on breakfast one morning (included) which was delivered to our door because the weather was so nasty!

The only negative was the hot tub was never "hot" enough.

Fresh tasty seafood treats delivered to our cottage every day during our stay was also a plus!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trinab024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a comfortable, modern cabin just a few feet from the ocean shore. Lovely location with a wonderful view of the coast, comfortable room, helpful staff, a charming garden, excellent breakfasts. The birding from the porch and grounds was fantastic. We highly recommend staying here. A little pricey, but otherwise great.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotttetown
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Recently stayed at the Seascape Coastal Resort on a trip around the Cabot Trail. The cottage while small were very well appointed and comfortable, huge bathroom. The view is incredible, the breakfast fantastic and the seafood snack delivered to the cabin a nice touch. would recommend this place to anyone it is handy the village and golf as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingonish
45.2 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
56.9 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
40.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
3.8 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#4 of 7 in Ingonish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seascape Coastal Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Coastal Retreat

Property: Seascape Coastal Retreat
Address: 36083 Cabot Trail, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full service resort. Suitable for couples. Outdoor Spa and tranquil gardens. Free vacation planning for our guests. Full service restaurant with liquor license ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Seascape Coastal Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seascape Coastal Retreat Hotel Ingonish
Seascape Coastal Retreat Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing