We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, family friendly resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glenghorm Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great, family friendly resort”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This resort is a nice, family-friendly retreat with a variety of accomodation options. Three friends and I had booked into a room for a night while on the Cabot Trail and opted for the cheapest option which was a room with two double beds. It was very basic but clean. Unfortunately, almost immediately (during a shower) the plumbing in the bathroom broke and flooded the back half of the room. We reported it to the front staff and were immediately provided with an upgraded unit in another section of the resort without having to pay for the difference. We were extremely happy with that service and thought it to be the most professional and correct way to address this unfortunate incident. Our new accomodation was a great upgrade with a living room/kitchenette and separate bedroom (queen beds) with adjoining modern bathroom and shower. It was very nice and you can see that the resort caters to a variety of price points and accomodation types. The property itself is right on the ocean and has nice grounds to walk around and explore. They have a pub and a restaurant which meals can be taken at and all in all it was a cute place. I'd stay there again but hopefully for more than a night and actually get a chance to explore the Cape a bit more.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmcg9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    32
    46
    48
    52
See reviews for
68
70
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We only stayed one night and wanted a cabin down by the beach. We were in the 2nd cabin from the beach front. The cabin had 2 bedrooms each with 2 double beds, a full kitchen and bath, small deck and picnic table and barbecue in front. It was clean but rundown...slats missing off mini blind in bathroom doors that didn't close all the way, beds were too soft, older furniture and tv's. There was a pool but it was kind of off the property and not very nice.
The good points: there were adirondack chairs overlooking the beach and ocean, there was a sandy beach that was very nice but the waves were too big the day we were there, there was a fire pit with chairs around it, and the grounds were beautiful. Though the mosquitos were too bad to enjoy the outdoors at night. The best part was falling asleep to the sound of waves and crackling firewood. We did have lunch in the cafe and breakfast in the restaurant and both were very good.
Ingonish itself is just not convenient, nothing is close together ie: restaurants, stores. The last time I went around the Cabot Trail I stayed in Cheticamp and drove around from that direction and I definitely preferred overnighting in Cheticamp and enjoyed the views more.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wpbdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineMarketing, General Manager at Glenghorm Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Wpbdle:

Thank you for your feedback. We do listen to our guests comments and we are in the process of upgrading and painting the rooms. We are replacing the beds and tv's gradually and we continue to keep the pool in good condition.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed the beach, firepit and yes falling asleep to the sounds of the ocean waves is fabulous.

We hope to see you again in 2012.

Sincerely,

Colleen Dunphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Seven friends and myself stay a night, in 2 rooms, in July 2011. That night the power went out 5 minutes after we checked in and stayed out until the next morning. It was rainy and cold. During the evening, not one person came to our rooms to offer extra blankets, candles or even to check if we need anything or if we were all ok. When we did go to the front desk to get candles, we were given 2 little tea candles. The workers were rude and acted like they didn't care about our situation. The next day, no mention of what happened, not even a complimentary breakfast. After multiple emails to the resort head, Colleen Dunphy, my night was explained. When she finally emailed back, she stated blankets and candles were brought to every room. Basically saying I must have been missed. How could 8 guys be missed?? Please don't waste your time staying here, and please check out the owner of other resorts on the Island and this owner has multiple spots, and if it was that bad where we were, you can expect the same from the rest of his operations.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoCBhospitality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineMarketing, General Manager at Glenghorm Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear NoCBHospitality:

I am extremely sorry you had such a bad experience with us. We did have three storms that resulted in power outages this year and we were very diligent about getting blankets and candles to our guests. My staff assured me every room was visited however I do apologize that your rooms were missed. I would like to invite you back to the property, please contact me directly to make arrangements.

Sincerely,

Colleen Dunphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ingonish hotels

Kinston
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We have stayed here several times and enjoyed each stay. The rooms are quiet, adaquate, and clean. The restaurent has a good breakfast. For the evening meal we recommend the bar downstairs with an adaquate selection of pub food and a folk song singer.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonKinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineMarketing, General Manager at Glenghorm Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Don Kinston:

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. We strive to hear comments like yours on our rooms as our housekeeping staff are excellent at keeping our rooms clean and welcoming. We have a fantastic lineup of entertainment at the pub and it is a popular spot in Ingonish.

Sincerely,

Colleen Dunphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The vast grounds on the water were very enjoyable, but to call the Glengthorm a "resort" is rather misleading. We stayed in the Muir building, which, not being on the highway, was quiet. It was, however, just a dated motel room. Clean, but run down. The receptionist was very nice, the breakfast room was pretty and updated, the food was good. I believe the room price was too high for a room that really needs a makeover.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjoann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineMarketing, General Manager at Glenghorm Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Kjoann:

Thank you for your feedback, we do listen to and value our guests comments. I am very glad you enjoyed the vast grounds on the water and our dining room for breakfast. We are in the process of upgrading and phasing in modernizing the rooms.

Sincerely,

Colleen Dunphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This "resort" was probably very nice 20+ years ago. The location is great given the large expanse of beach adjacent to the grounds. Other than that, the facilities are outdated and in an overall state of disrepair. In example, the window frames, doors, balcony railing, and similar exposed metal features were severely corroded. The mattress was hard and the bedding was cheap. The closet door would not fully open due to the placement of the furniture. The concrete beach retaining wall was crumbling and the wooden steps leading to the beach were flimsy. There were several dogs residing with their owners in neighboring rooms.

Room Tip: Drive an hour to Baddeck for a nice selection of hotels and b & b's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenndora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineMarketing, General Manager at Glenghorm Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Glendora:

Thank you for your comments. The beach side location of Glenghorm is great. We do listen to our guests comments and we are in the process of upgrading and painting for the 2012 season. Our property is pet friendly and if you stay with us again we would be happy to accommodate you with an alternative room away from the pets if you perfer.

Sincerely,

Colleen Dunphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We had high expectations based on the website, pamphlets, hotel grounds and the great onsite restaurant, coffee shop and pub. Then......we entered our room. We stayed in the one room suites closest to the road and reception. There was nothing "suite" about it. They need to invest some of their marketing budget on these old, dated rooms. Beds were hard as rocks, carpet was dirty and old, room smelled, and windows and bathroom were original circa 1970's. We didn't take our shoes off the whole stay. It was clean, but knowing everything was so old and well used didn't allow us to relax at all. We didn't want to stay in our room at night, which forced us to the on-site pub - the thirsty traveller. The pub was awesome! I would recommend that people look elsewhere to sleep, but drop by for a beer and great live music.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurora1514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineMarketing, General Manager at Glenghorm Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Aurora:

Thank you for your feedback. Happy to hear you enjoyed the restaurant, coffee shop and pub. The rooms closest to the road are traditional rooms and our suites are located behind the main building. We are in the process of upgrading our rooms and we are gradually replacing the beds and tv's in the traditional rooms for our guests' enjoyment.

Hope you are able to stay with us again in 2012.

Sincerely,

Colleen Dunphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingonish
43.9 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
629 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
2.3 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#3 of 7 in Ingonish
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ingonish Chalets
Ingonish Chalets
#4 of 7 in Ingonish
89 reviews
4.0 mi away
Castlerock Country Inn
Castlerock Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Ingonish
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenghorm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenghorm Beach Resort

Property: Glenghorm Beach Resort
Address: 36743 Cabot Trail | P.O. Box 39, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenghorm Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Glenghorm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenghorm Beach Hotel Ingonish
Glenghorm Beach Resort Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing