We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but still OK.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glenghorm Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tired but still OK.”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

A golfing buddy and I stayed two nights in a two bedroom cottage near the beach. The cottage would not meet my wife's discerning taste but for two guys on a golf road trip we were happy. The cottages were old and tired but were clean and had good beds. We went to their pub for dinner one night and had the best fish and chips I can remember accompanied by some Irish live music. Both days after golf we went for a swim in the ocean. The golf package with Highland Links is good value and we plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and stay as close to the ocean as possible. The sound of the waves at night are incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Codkicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    30
    43
    48
    46
See reviews for
62
68
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I loved the beach and the fact there was no one there, nice sandy bottom with gentle slope.
The rooms were ok but I didn't like that the windows didn't open. I would think it would be more practical and comfortable to have opening windows instead of using the AC. The bed was comfortable.
Staff was friendly and helpful.
The pub had live music and was hopping on Saturday night.
The breakfast was very basic cereal and ordinary bread and juice. Some fruit would have been nice. Also all that Styrofoam used for bowls and plates could be changed up for compostable materials.

Room Tip: I would try to get a cottage with a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janicerahme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glassville, New Brunswick
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My partner and I, and my daughter and her new fiance stayed 2 nights at the Glenghorm on the long weekend in August - it is a beautiful spot and we especially liked the cabins! they are fully equipped with everything you might possibly need... if not, go ask Tammy Lynn @ the desk and I am sure she could find it for you! The cabins are very rustic but that is part of their charm. We stayed one night in one of the rooms and it was a bit outdated, the air conditioning was not installed properly, but we didn't spend a lot of time in our room! We were out exploring the beautiful beach, playing washer toss and later enjoying drinks and live entertainment (Larry & Tracy) in the bar! Would suggest to the new owners that an upgrade be done, but not overdone, the Keltic is up the road for those who feel the need for that, and that they consider adding an evening meal to the room or cabin, the continental breakfast and entertainment -in other words make it an all inclusive! We will be back for sure!!

Room Tip: Try for one of the cabins closest to the beach - the pounding waves will put you to sleep in no time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthyoung059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night. Cabin (504) had 4 double beds in 2 bedrooms with a jack & Jill bath connecting two rooms and a full kitchen. Barbq worked great. We played volleyball, kids used swings etc and we loved the huge, clean beach. The sky is huge and e enjoyed stargazing at night. The beds are very comfortable and the cabins are pretty basic,.. Very cottagy and rustic. All you need.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missnbonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Just stayed a night in a queen cottage at Glenghorm Beach Resort. The condition of the cottage was terrible. The wiring and plumbing was exposed, and overall the cottage was very run-down. The kitchen There is NO air conditioning.

But then, to balance it all out, was a beach a few steps away. A very beautiful beach too! The evening walk along the water was amazing, and the Adirondack chairs overlooking the beach was great too! But the best was falling asleep to the sound of the waves.

I just thought I'd mention the continental breakfast. I am on a gluten free diet, and there was nothing I could eat at the breakfast. The only thing provided was bread for toast, muffins, pastries and cereals. Not exactly a balanced breakfast for the average diet either!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Not a bad spot for 1 or 2 nights, it has a nice beach area, and the Thirsty Hiker Pub was great for live evening entertainment. The rooms are dated, but sufficed for what we needed. It is dated but not dirty. Apparently this place has been purchased by a new owner who is going to gut the entire place and improvements will be coming, so it would be neat to see when it's all done, as it's a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mugla, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We had to stay here one night, due not being able to book anywhere else, but we quite disappointed with the condition of the cottage as well as the utensils and equipment in the it.
The kettle, coffe machine and the toaster did not work so we had to boil water on the stove.
The nets on the windows were torn away and we could only see one poor guy running around and trying to solve everyone's problem, which was impossible.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nilüfer ç
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ingonish hotels
1.8 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
1.8 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
2.3 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lantern Hill & Hollow
Lantern Hill & Hollow
#1 of 7 in Ingonish
201 reviews
2.8 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#4 of 7 in Ingonish
87 reviews
4.0 mi away
Castlerock Country Inn
Castlerock Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Ingonish
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenghorm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenghorm Beach Resort

Property: Glenghorm Beach Resort
Address: 36743 Cabot Trail | P.O. Box 39, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenghorm Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glenghorm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenghorm Beach Hotel Ingonish
Glenghorm Beach Resort Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing