We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenghorm Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The motel was a bit dated - the rooms were however large - which was great for our toddler. There as a glass panel which provided adequate light - we stayed right next to the reception on the first floor.
The floor did creak quite a bit and we were constantly feeling bad for the folks living in the rooms under our floor.
There were a few swings towards the beach - the beach itself was great - wwe managed a lovely, long walk in the evening. In my opinion the location of Glenghorm certainly makes it worth staying at if you are looking for a cheaper option than the Keltic Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mys_terry78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I were traveling over the Labour Day weekend, did not have reservations and came to the Glenghorm. There is a beach - and a beautiful view! The whole place looked a bit sketchy but we were able to look at a few rooms before deciding to stay. Not wanting to keep looking we stayed in one of the buildings closer to the water. The whole facility with the exception of a couple of smaller buildings is very dated and in need of repair. Our room was OK, nothing special. When I hear "beach resort" I am thinking something different than what is offered. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. The description indicates free WI-fi but we found out later that this is only in the main reception area, the phone in our room worked sporadically if we fiddled with the cord. It is located in a lovely location right on the ocean, I would think that if they spent some $$ on paint and new carpeting just to freshen up the inside and out it would be much better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeannette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This motel is okay, but really needs updating. The staff was very nice, but our room was not so great. It was a decent size and the beds were comfortable, but it was really dark (we stayed on the lower groundfloor rooms right next to the reception building) and the crapets had definitely seen better days. In the morning there was a puddle of water right next to the toilet and even after running the shower for about five minutes the water was barely warm. When I mentioned it upon check out they didn't seem surprised and said I should have let it run even longer. First of all I hate wasting water and secondly how is anybody supposed to know that. I just gave up and had a shower at the next place we stayed at. The continental breakfast is a joke (and I can say that as I'm from the continent). It's toast and jam or honey, cheap cereal and mini 'pastries' and is served on styrofoam plates and cups, which again goes against my environmental policy completely. The location of the resort is great. There is a long sandy beach right outside and Ingonish Beach is only just down the road. The cottages that are part of the resort looked like they might be nicer and there were also two more modern looking buildings on the property that might have better rooms. Overall, it was okay to spend a night, but I would have expected to pay less for a room of that standard.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the old building right next to the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvie1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Booked 2 nights - was put in a basement room with huge stains on the carpet, musty unbearable smell and mould on window ledges. Tried to cancel 2nd night, but the young girl on the desk had no authority to change policy of 72 hours notice, so we left,stayed somewhere else and swallowed our loss.

We travel a great deal, stay in everything from luxury resorts to seaside cabins to European apartments to tents, and at no other time was I so repulsed by the smell and dirt.

This is by far the best location on the CAbot Trail, but something needs to be done or the prices slashed to reflect the quality.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This 3 rating comes only because the Glenghorm has a fabulous location right on Ingonish Bay and a really lovely, clean beach. Also, the staff was friendly and helpful. The grounds are well-kept, and so are the buildings--on the outside, though overall, construction is flimsy. Inside, a serious update is needed--the bathrooms, room design and furniture look to be vintage 60s or maybe 70s. Also, a cleanliness issue. Breakfast was only muffins and coffee. We heard there are new owners from overseas and hope they invest in the improvements needed to bring this resort up to the level of its location.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank SallyEline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

It was CLEAN but needs some major updates. The bed was very noisy....no flat screen TV here. The carpet could not be trusted to walk barefoot on. The property is absolutely beautiful!! They really need to condense their buildings and make it one nice big facility. They need to bite the bullet and try to be a second to the Keltic Lodge. They have the property and view. The breakfast was a JOKE they even had the nerve to ask our room number....really! Friends of ours stayed there 2 days after us and we had a good laugh over this. It doesn't even qualify as a continental breakfast. Pay the extra and stay at the Keltic Lodge you deserve better. Oh another thing... when we booked we told them it was our 25th wedding anniversary. We stayed at the Muir building. The ceiling was paper thin. We thought the people in the room above us were going to come crashing down. Thanks Glenghorm for setting us up in one of your better rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for the closest cabin near the water. The Muir building is not on the water....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise1236123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

A golfing buddy and I stayed two nights in a two bedroom cottage near the beach. The cottage would not meet my wife's discerning taste but for two guys on a golf road trip we were happy. The cottages were old and tired but were clean and had good beds. We went to their pub for dinner one night and had the best fish and chips I can remember accompanied by some Irish live music. Both days after golf we went for a swim in the ocean. The golf package with Highland Links is good value and we plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and stay as close to the ocean as possible. The sound of the waves at night are incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Codkicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingonish
1.8 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
43.9 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
676 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Ingonish Chalets
Ingonish Chalets
#3 of 7 in Ingonish
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lantern Hill & Hollow
Lantern Hill & Hollow
#1 of 7 in Ingonish
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenghorm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenghorm Beach Resort

Address: 36743 Cabot Trail | P.O. Box 39, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Price Range: £55 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenghorm Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glenghorm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenghorm Beach Hotel Ingonish
Glenghorm Beach Resort Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing