We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice Surprise Stop!”

Coastal Restaurant & Pub
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Ingonish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$29
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
South China, Maine
Level Contributor
310 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“What a nice Surprise Stop!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We hit the jackpot on this stop. After riding several hours on the Bike and finally seeing a place to eat, we were very happy to have found this one opened. It was a very inviting Pub. The food was good and had a friendly welcoming/Atmosphere. Would definitely stop there again if ever back in that area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    130
    55
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
202 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good variety of food offerings.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had a variety of foods and all tasted good, the seafood chowder was very good but thin. Maybe a local taste but I enjoy a thicker cream base. The apple crumble desert was outstanding!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 06CES47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ok pub food - but expensive”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

The service and atmosphere were fine and the food was ok. We had the crab dip- and it seemed like nothing special. We also had quesadilla and our kids had pizzas. Pizzas are a better bet at Andrews down the road. Our desserts were pretty good- the Cinnamon skillet and floats. All in all we felt it was overpriced- and riding on the food network coat tails a bit. They have all of this great seafood all around them- but don't really use it on their menu. Too bad-

Helpful?
1 Thank Maricara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“what's all the hype?”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I am beginning to think that these cable tv shows run out of good (even fair) places to review and comment upon that they settle. Supposedly, this restaurant's burgers were reviewed highly.

We ordered them. Overly seasoned (something like a Lowry's, perhaps). Nothing special at all. Buns typical of what you would buy at a grocery store.

Would not go back. I am done with Food Network (and others) reviews!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Gypsy0004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Ringer Burger”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great place and Service. Food is very good. great location in ingonish. close to the beaches, hotels, whale tours.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler2013855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coastal Restaurant & Pub also viewed

Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
 
Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Coastal Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing