We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, fun, fun”
Review of Beggar's Banquet

Beggar's Banquet
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Louisbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$47
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Join us for a tantalizing evening of music, dance and storytelling, and a magnificent 18th century feast!As you arrive, don a period costume and take your seat in the Beggar’s Banquet tent, a beautiful 18th century inspired backdrop for the perfect evening of entertainment and dining. Costumes optional but recommended.Your choice of four delicious, hot entrees and enjoy local, fresh seafood including lobster and crab. Fully Licensed, 6-8pm nightly.Everyone welcome—the fun is for all ages!
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We had so much fun at the Beggars Banquet. We dressed up in 1700 french canadian costumes and enjoyed fun music and stories (I am so sorry I don't know the entertainer's name, but he was great), and very good service by the staff. The menu included soup, salads, veggies, brown beans, with a choice of chicken, lobster, or crab, ginger cake and hot buttered rum. We especially enjoyed the wench, Sabine, and her bag of "tricks". I thought she might keep my brother in law.... I'm just sayin'. Everyone in the place was dancing, singing and laughing - how often does that happen in life?.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank WesRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Beggar's Banquet, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Thanks for your evaluation of the Beggars Banquet and for playing with us. Though the Beggars Banquet is over for the season, we still serve the same menu in our dining room nightly. The only things missing are Sabean, the singer & the beans. We had a blast again this this year and guests such as yourself made our fun possible. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 139 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Fantastic Meal and great people!! Totally worth it and a lot of fun. My husband was a little hesitant to dress up in the period costumes but by the end he was up dancing with all of us! Great time!!

1  Thank Fabcat_3413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Beggar's Banquet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thanks for posting a review for the Beggars Banquet experience also. We're now done with the Beggars Banquet for the season and are now serving dinner in our eighteen century style dining room. Though the entertainment and dressing up is done for the year, we do have our same menu daily. Thank you for playing with us and sharing with Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This was so much fun...we dressed up in 1700 period costume (clothing supplied). All you can eat soup, salad, side dishes (veggies, beans, etc.). Your choice of chicken, lobster, fish.
Entertainment supplied, stories, music, dancing and a "wench" (owner :) ) who visited each table.
We would return to this restaurant again, if we are ever in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Beggar's Banquet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you for posting this review of your experience of the Beggars Banquet. We enjoyed sharing this venue with all our playtrons this season. You have honoured us with the voicing of you satisfaction. The Beggars Banquet is now over for this year, however we do continue our menu in the dining room from 6pm to our last seating at 8pm. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Loved getting dressed up in the period costume. Could have used a bigger change area and full length mirrors to check out the garb but the process was well organized and the staff were very helpful in showing us how to put everything on. The decor of the banquet hall was excellent. You had plenty of room at the table and the chairs were quite comfortable. The entertainment was outstanding. They even managed to get my husband up singing and dancing. I don't think I stopped smiling and laughing once all evening. The food is definitely not fine dining but there was lots of choice and plenty of everything. The veggies were overcooked but the salads were very good, the pea soup was excellent and the ginger cake was sinful. We both had the lobster. It's only a pound and was a little overcooked but was still very tasty. I highly recommend the buttered rum but you have to down it while it's still hot. Drinks cost extra and you could quickly rack up the cost running a tab. I recommend paying for each drink if you're on a tight budget. We opted for the tab and although it was a bit pricey, thoroughly enjoy the evening. Would definitely recommend this for those looking for a fun night out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Beggar's Banquet, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us. We enjoy our guests also. We have a good time from the opening day, July 1, to our last presentation of the season, on August 31, going back in time and dressing the part. Sharing this with fellow playtrons is a bonus indeed. Thank you for your review and for experiencing an evening of the Beggars Banquet with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We read about this on TA and were planning to stay at the hotel.As it turned out, there were no accommodations left for our family of 5 ( kids aged 9-18) which is too bad, because the view was absolutely beautiful. We decided to go to the banquet anyway, in between touring the Fortress and going to the Playhouse that night. We were very glad we did.

I'm sure this is not suited for every taste, but if you like this sort of thing, it was very enjoyable, and people- both families and couples- seemed to be really having fun with it. Food was good enough and plentiful, individual musician played and talked while we ate, service was excellent, and the host/owner of the experience delighted each table with a fairly bawdy impersonation of a 17th century harlot.

We left before some dancing happened so we could get to the playhouse, but from what I could see as we were heading into our car, folks were having a hoot with it.

This is not cheap, but it will stand out in the memories of our family for a long time to come.

Thank chickyskids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Beggar's Banquet, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience of the Beggars Banquet. We are in our fourth year of doling out this under go and still find enjoyment in doing this nightly. I'm pleased that you & your family consider this a good memory to look back on. Thank you for dining with us and for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beggar's Banquet also viewed

Louisbourg, Cape Breton Island
Louisbourg, Cape Breton Island
 
Louisbourg, Cape Breton Island
Louisbourg, Cape Breton Island
 
North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
Louisbourg, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Beggar's Banquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing