We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and good amenities”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pecks Cottages

Pecks Cottages
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pecks Cottages
Ranked #5 of 9 Louisbourg B&B and Inns
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good amenities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

I recently stayed for two nights at Pecks' Cottage and overall enjoyed the stay. While the cottage itself was fine, what stood out was the friendly service and the handy laundromat and convenience store on site. It was also extremely hot those few days (and no air conditioning available in the cabin), but the staff managed to find us a fan to help cool down the bedroom. While there are other options in Louisbourg that are probably nicer (and I believe for a comparable price), I did enjoy the service and accessibility of Peck's Cottage. It's a good option for a stay in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stacy9558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    10
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
232 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

We recently stayed at Peck's Cottages while visiting relatives in Louisbourg. We were quite happy with our stay and found the cottage spacious for four people as well as a good price. It was $79 for off season rate.
The cottage had a decent well equipped kitchen, bathroom was fairly small but certainly adequate as were the bedrooms. We found the beds comfortable including our teenage son who slept on the sofabed and said he slept good as well. The cottage had free wifi, a decent cable tv selection and was clean. The cottages are located right next to the only store remaining in town. Louisbourg is only 20 mins from Sydney, the regional centre. I have to say the store is fairly well equipped with essentials you may have forgotten. The cottages like all other accomodations in Louisbourg are privately owned and the owners were friendly and accomodating to our requests. The only thing missing was an iron and ironing board. We would stay here again, location is great being only minutes away from the Fortress. We were happy withh price as well.

Room Tip: There are seven cottages, all next to the store. One is as good as the other IMO. We stayed in Cot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countdown6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I found these cottages to be great and what a good price! Personally the cottage we stayed in had good mattresses and good furniture and was very comfortable. Yes I could hear my travel partner snoring in the other room but I can also hear him snore at home down the hall so really who cares. I was REALLY impressed with how clean the place was. It was spotless and that's coming from someone who is VERY picky about how clean a place I stay in is. The tub/shower surround was in brand new condition. The WIFI was a bit spotty but did the trick. For those who are looking for a 5 star resort it probably won't impress you but for people like us who are looking for a comfortable, clean, reasonably priced place to stay, this is a great choice. I will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We rented a cottage for one night before we headed to the Fortress of Louisbourg. The cottage was well equipped with kitchen supplies and the layout of the cottage is nice. However, the walls are very thin (you can hear conversations in the next room) and the beds were terrible. You could feel each spring and it made a lot of noise (which woke up anyone in the same bed, as well as those asleep in the 2nd bedroom). If Peck's were to replace the beds, they would be rated much higher as their unit was clean and we were happy except for sleep quality.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
181 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at Peck's cottages and found them to be in ok shape. They have a 2 bedroom layout, a small veranda, an equipped kitchen and a living/dining area. As allways, the beds are doubles. The cottage was ok with respect to maintainance, only the sofa and chair in the living were in need of replacement. Bathroom is relatively small. All in all a deent place to stay. Wifi was not too strong in our cottage.

Room Tip: aks for one of the cottages at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reisaapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louisbourg
0.2 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
17.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
18.3 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
0.4 mi away
Louisbourg Harbour Inn
Louisbourg Harbour Inn
#2 of 9 in Louisbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cranberry Cove Inn
Cranberry Cove Inn
#1 of 9 in Louisbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pecks Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pecks Cottages

Property: Pecks Cottages
Address: 2 wolfe street, Louisbourg, Nova Scotia, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Louisbourg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Louisbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Pecks Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pecks Cottages Louisbourg, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing