We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Louisbourg Harbour Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel North(North Sydney)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
126
27
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
126
27
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesthe ownerpopoversboth morningsbreakfast was deliciousthird floorrocking chairssitting arealocal restaurantsjacuzzi tuba wonderful stayfresh fruitwarm greetingprovided excellent servicestayed one nightprivate balconyeach morning
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This lovely yellow house is in beautiful condition and is situated with a view of the bay. There is no A/C but probably doesn't need it 95% of the time -- we were there during an unprecedented heatwave, and even so the evening temps were comfy. We had a very pleasant room with access to a balcony to look over the harbour. We were going to a concert that evening in the Playhouse next door, so this was a very convenient location. The room was pretty and the shower was very nice. Breakfast (8 to 9 only) was delicious and beautifully presented. Our experienced hosts were pleasant and unobtrusive. This was a very nice choice and we highly recommend it, especially if you are visiting the fortress.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artgallerygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The property is situated about 200 metres from the water, though the view is not exactly picturesque, as somewhat dilapidated buildings stand on the waterfront. Parking is at the back, and upstairs rooms are accessed via somewhat rickety external rear staircase. The main indoor staircase is at the front on the house, and being more than 100 years old, its use is not encouraged, other than to access the downstairs breakfast room and guests' lounge.
Our room was nicely appointed, and had opening windows, so we could forgo air conditioning. The bed was comfortable, and assured a good sleep.
Breakfast was a limited offering, but more than adequate to set us up for a visit to Fort Louisbourg. Dining options in Louisbourg are restricted; the Lobster Kettle is walking distance, and does good seafood, but don't expect too much.

Room Tip: Upstairs is the place to be, as the house has exposed floorboards, and I suspect it is noisy downstairs when people move about. However, the staircase is potentially treacherous.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenstOat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed one night on a visit to Fortress Louisbourg. The inn is a very well restored and maintained Victorian house located in the middle of the village. The house was the family home of the owner who has two inns in Louisbourg, Our room on the second floor was spotless and nicely decorated as was the rest of the inn. The only things that made our visit less than ideal were a mattress that was softer than we are used to and the bright lights from the wharf area nearby that shine in the window if you leave the curtains open. Breakfast was very good and there are freshly made scones and muffins provided in addition to the featured entrée which changes. The owner and staff are friendly and very helpful.

Having read some of the other reviews I concur in the comments that indicate there isn't much to do or see in the village itself. There are only 2 restaurants and the one we chose was mediocre at best. However given that the tourist season is less than 3 months long, the village is small and Sydney is relatively close that did not come as a surprise. If you choose to stay in Louisbourg to have a relaxing start before attacking the Fortress (which opens at 9:30 am) you can't go wrong with the Louisbourg Harbour Inn

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimbo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The view on the harbour was great, the room and the breakfast also.

But,i didn't felt welcome...

I know that usually, Bed and breakfast's owners ask their customers to check in before 18h. If it's not possible, we have to call to advise them. A lady from the Port Hawkesbury information center called them at 16h30 to advised that we (my girlfriend and i) will check in around 20h, and we did.

I can imagine what it is to be disturbed during you diner time, of course. May be it was the reason why Parker let me felt not welcome a short moment.

Room Tip: The Louisbourg fortress is the principale attraction of the place (great!). If you like hiking, take your car, go to the lighthouse where is a nice and easy trail along the sea.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McBane_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The Louisburg Harbour Inn is a beautiful Victorian mansion with great view of the harbour and perfect location, right next door to the local playhouse, where we got to see a local singing star now from Alberta, on a homecoming concert. The room had a 4-poster bed, nice woodwork, one chair and a rocking chair and small table. Very close by was the wonderful Lobster Kettle restaurant right on the water. Breakfast was great. On our action-packed day we saw the Marconi museum and underground coal mine tour at Glace Bay, the Fortress of Louisbourg and the concert.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heikermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews