We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gem of a find”

Sydney and Louisbourg Railway Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“gem of a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

What an excellent little find on route to the fortress! We made an impromptu stop here and were pleasantly surprised. Entrance is by donation and it's well worth anything you place in said donation box. tour around the three buildings and learn about Cape Breton's railway history and more. Plenty of artifacts to peek at and read about.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
milanquebec
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

loved the reception we received from the girls and the displays were really great and all was very clean and organized

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredandinlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Worth the stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

My husband is a model rairoad buff and always eager to stop at anything "train". This was no exception. 3 buildings of train memorablia. A very good collection that provided a lot of information in the history of the railway and how it impacted the lives of those around it. He was pleasantly surprised at how good this museum was.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ATRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, AZ
Level Contributor
229 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“For a Railroad Buff This is a Great Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband loves trains and when we travel we usually stop at one or more train stations and/or museums along the way. This was a great little stop. The collection is small, but good and the narratives accompanying the items are quite interesting. There is also a second class passenger car that visitors can board to get a glimpse of how things were for the average tourist. There is no entrance fee but donations are accepted which make it a great stop for someone who loves trains. We spent between 45 minutes to an hour here touring the three buildings. The ladies working at the counter (after entering the first building) were helpful and friendly, explaining the layout of the museum to ensure we didn't miss anything.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BDiekema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sydney and Louisbourg Railway Museum also viewed

 

Been to Sydney and Louisbourg Railway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing