We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Grand Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Louisbourg Heritage House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Louisbourg B&B and Inns
Lunenburg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“What a Grand Room”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The Heritage House B&B in the middle of Louisbourg village is handy to everything (although we did drive to the fortress). Centred amongst all the churches and restaurants with great ocean views, it is easy to find and a joy to arrive at! Parker met us at the appointed time and showed us to our very large room. He is a gracious host. It is sized and appointed more like a hotel than a B&B, with a very large and modern bathroom, complete with jacuzzi. The bed was large and comfortable and lots of windows allow for bright mornings and good cross-breezes. The furniture was comfortable for reading and the fridge cool enough for a bottle of sparkling. However, you should bring your favourite bubbly if that is what you want for celebrating (it was our anniversary) as the local liquor store (just down the street) has very limited choices. Breakfasts, supplied at another B&B they manage just a block away, allow for an early morning brisk walk before and after. There is ample food and friendly service. Dining is from 8-9, so if you are trying for an early departure, you are out of luck, I guess. Timing was great for visiting the fortress as it only opens at 9:30 anyway and is only a 2-3 minute drive away. The Heritage House has an interesting history, if you get a chance to get the tour from Parker. It was originally built as the Anglican Church manse, with additions over the years that turned it into the mansion we see today.

Room Tip: If you like to sit out and watch the sunset, ask for a west-facing room on the second or third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Compuvideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this quaint B & B in August of this year. We were satisfied with the accomodations, staying in The Gabriele suite we had a large room area with a private entrance and use of the kitchen facilities, nicely renovated with decor typical heritage style. Bed was softer than we were used to but acceptable. The bathroom linens were in bad need of an upgrade. The exquisitely presented breakfasts were amazing delicious, from the baked goods to the entree. The breakfast room is at the sister inn a 2 min walk away. Local eateries, The Lobster Kettle located on the sea, with an outdoor patio, was quite affordable with delicious menu selections; and The Grubstake offering a wide menu selection and simply presented. A visit to Fort Louisbourg is a definite must see.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pigsgroove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingonish
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

My wife and I were going to see singer/songwriter Dave Gunning at the Louisbourg Playhouse ( Great concert and excellent venue by the way. There is something going on here every night of the tourist season. A must if in Louisbourg). We had never stay at this B&B before so we thought that we would try it. What a great surprise. The old Anglican Manse had been transformed into six spacious rooms all with private baths. The decor along with the private entrances were excellent. The next morning we had a scrumptious breakfast of strata, bacon, ham, toast, pears, blueberry muffins and Coffee or tea all created by owner Parker Bagnell. Overall the whole experience was top-notch. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Towards the end of our 2 week touring holiday of NS, we decided that we'd slow the pace and have 2 nights in Louisbourg, visiting the fortress on our full day. We had booked a room that included 2 comfy chairs and a property with a shared sitting room, but when we arrived we'd been upgraded to the top floor "attic room" - as we entered the word "Wow" escaped our lips as we looked at this room that seem to span the entire house with lovely wooden floor, a king size bed, cozy couch, a reading nook and comfy chair by one of the window dormers, model ships, desk, tables, a huge bathroom with a whirlpool bath and enough spare space for a snooker table or two! Interestingly though, I've just checked on their website for the name of the room and it doesn't seem to be there.

Anyway, assuming that we didn't imagine the whole thing, the hostess (Audrey?) was very friendly and helpful, the cooked brekfasts were delightful and we thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay here.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brit_abroad_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The town of Louisbourg and the famous fortress lived up to our expectations, but the three nights we spent at the Heritage House were well above expectations! My wife and I were shocked at the lack of visitors to this historic town with its seascapes, history and varied attractions. Was it the economy? Americans needing passports?
The Heritage House, a restored rectory, was beautifully furnished, but not so precious, as in many B&Bs, that you're afraid to sit down or touch anything. Our hostess was the lovely Audrey, daughter of the owner, who was busy running the nearby Louisbourg Harbour Inn.
Audrey was helpful, smiling, and the breakfasts were different each morning and three of the absolute best I've ever had while traveling (the top was at the home of an octagenarian couple in Inverness, Scotland who served up black pudding!).
I'm a big guy and the beds and chairs were comfortable, the bathroom easy to use, the whole place clean and with cable TV and wireless. We ate every night at the affordable waterfront Lobster Kettle and will return on our next Cape Breton visit.
I'm still mystified why this lovely town was so sparsely attended on a prime summer weekend, the same goes for the small crowds at the Louisbourg Playhouse, where we heard Cape Breton music on two nights.
I don't need to talk about the wonderful fortress, which is a world-class destination and a must for any history buff. See it for yourself!

Room Tip: We stayed in first floor rooms, Logan and Maxwell, which were larger and easily accessible with own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Well appointed house with a professional and friendly staff. Would definetely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VANDICARLTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We recently stayed there with two other couples and found this to be a great place. It is very well appointed and right in the centre of town. With large decks outside, we found a very nice spot to have a few drinks in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluegoosebach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louisbourg
0.5 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
17.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
18.4 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Louisbourg Harbour Inn
Louisbourg Harbour Inn
#2 of 9 in Louisbourg
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pecks Cottages
Pecks Cottages
#5 of 9 in Louisbourg
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louisbourg Heritage House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louisbourg Heritage House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Louisbourg Heritage House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 7544 Main St, Louisbourg, Nova Scotia B1C 1J4, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Louisbourg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Louisbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Louisbourg Heritage House Bed & Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully appointed house (c. 1886) with generous sized guestrooms each with its own balcony/veranda. Situated in the very center of town and close walking distance to restaurants and the Louisbourg Playhouse (music hall). Access to kitchen (non-cooking) with refrigerator, tea/coffee, ice etc. Breakfast served at our sister property, the Louisbourg Harbour Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Louisbourg Heritage House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louisbourg Heritage House Bed & Breakfast Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing