We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautifully appointed and maintained property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Louisbourg Heritage House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Louisbourg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Our two night stay in Louisbourg in early September was made very special with our stay at this B&B. Our room was comfortable and well appointed. Our host Parker was very helpful with our travel plans. Breakfast in the B&B was the best on our 2 week trip. There was no question when the planned breakfast was needed to modified somewhat. The B&B is located very near the harbour and next to the Louisbourg Playhouse where great shows run every night. Well worth the stay. The Fortress of Louisbourg is a short drive away. Allow at least 5 hours to tour this site.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms has its own character. We loved being on the front of the house so that we could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

This is a wonderful B&B. The owner, Parker, was very accommodating. We had a great room. It was very clean and very quiet. We stayed at one location and were required to go to the other location for the breakfast but it was only a block away. The breakfast served at the B&B was absolutely amazing. There was an assortment of muffins, etc. in buffet style. And the main breakfast was served (not buffet). We had crepe filled with fruit and a side of bacon. It was delicious. The servers were very very friendly.
We spent the day at the Louisbourg Fortress. It was simply amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C&D-Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We were in Louisbourg on the coldest, rainiest, windiest day in August. After braving the elements and a power outage at the wonderful Fort Louisbourg (we liked it a lot anyway!), we found our reserved accommodation - the Heritage House. The Turner Room is very inviting, everything is spotlessly clean, and Parker welcomes you warmly and tours you around the whole place. Breakfast was creative (baked giant crepes filled with fruit), served at the Harbour House. We would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pte5623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We unfortunately only stayed here for 1 night on our East Coast road trip. We should have stayed longer! Parker was more than accomodating to our unexpectedly late arrival. The rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was absolutely delicious: fresh baked scones and muffins, a delectable strata with a thick slice of ham, and a constant cup or coffee or tea. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShiftForYourself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Quite possibly the best B and B we have ever stayed in. We were in the Matthews room on the 3rd floor. Very large with a great bed, comfortable couch and a desk.A small balcony was accessible through French doors and there was a wonderful armchair tucked into a hidden spot in a window overlooking the harbour. Breakfast was at the sister property a 2 minute walk away and was equally excellent. Thank you Parker, I am sorry we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LVLTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night and were duly impressed. We felt we had the house to ourselves, though other guests did appear next morning. Our room was immaculate, large and well equipped, with a spacious private deck. The bath was huge, pristine and likewise well equipped. Good WiFi, too. Not cheap but still good value for money.

We appreciated the privacy and independence - but also the warm, courteous greeting we got on arrival and again at breakfast at the sister inn, a 2 minute walk away. Breakfast there was an elegant meal, not overly fussy but abundant and very nicely presented.

We have only good memories of our stay in this inn. Fortress Louisbourg was an absorbing site where we happily spent 5-6 hours. Dinner at Grubstake was just OK, nothing special.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeitherStr8NorNarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

When we arrived at this elegant home Parker, the owner greeted us. He was very friendly and treated us as old friends. The rooms were beautiful as was the rest of the house. We decided to go to the Fortress (as we were on motorcycles and it was threatening rain) we asked if there was a cab company we could call. He said no and then offered us a ride and told us to give him a call when we finished. That evening we sat in the living room and chatted with other guests. It was so elegantly decorated, comfortable and welcoming. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and homemade. My one complaint for this place would be that I only had a one night stay.
Definitely one of Nova Scotia's finest!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseofHrMain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisbourg hotels
0.4 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
0.1 mi away
Louisbourg Harbour Inn
Louisbourg Harbour Inn
#2 of 9 in Louisbourg
161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cranberry Cove Inn
Cranberry Cove Inn
#1 of 9 in Louisbourg
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pecks Cottages
Pecks Cottages
#5 of 9 in Louisbourg
33 reviews
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
Wolvespack Cottage B&B
#6 of 9 in Louisbourg
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louisbourg Heritage House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louisbourg Heritage House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 7544 Main St, Louisbourg, Nova Scotia B1C 1J4, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Louisbourg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Louisbourg
Price Range: £94 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Louisbourg Heritage House Bed & Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully appointed house (c. 1886) with generous sized guestrooms each with its own balcony/veranda. Situated in the very center of town and close walking distance to restaurants and the Louisbourg Playhouse (music hall). Access to kitchen (non-cooking) with refrigerator, tea/coffee, ice etc. Breakfast served at our sister property, the Louisbourg Harbour Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Louisbourg Heritage House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louisbourg Heritage House Bed & Breakfast Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing