We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Louisbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We were a party of five, grandparents, daughter and two children, a boy 12 and girl 9. We were lucky enough to get one of the suites with a balcony, looking out over the water to Fortress Louisbourg for a Saturday night. The suite was on the second floor and quiet, even though there were people staying above, so the building is well-built. The suites are nicely furnished and well set up for housekeeping and the view is superb. Perfect for us. We enjoyed our stay. We went to the "Beggar's Banquet" in the evening which was much fun with great singing by Etienne who also woks at the fortress. Halibut or pea soup to start, delicious lobster, crab, chicken, many salad choices, ginger cake for desert.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the back that looks out over Louisbourg Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBrown011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
I want to thank for your great review of our establishment. We are encouraged and warmed by the recognition but mostly by your satisfaction. You make our efforts and hard work a rewarding part of our jobs.

We are glad that your entire family enjoyed their stay and our Beggars Banquet. It's an honour to be part of some ones good memories. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    48
    24
    3
    4
See reviews for
64
98
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

The rooms are adequate and definitely not what their suites look like on their website. Our room had a funny smell to it, which we realized was because the air didn't work in the room. The view was lovely and having a balcony was a treat. For an "upscale" hotel, the towels were pretty flimsy and I was surprised at only 2 pillows on the bed. Definitely not a big deal...but there were not the amenities I've come to expect at nicer hotels. Very close to the fortress and a wonderful view. Expect a three star cottage and you'll be pleasantly surprised.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank beautyspeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that we do our very best to provide quality service and comfort for all our guests.

All of our towels are replaced with new ones each and every year and carefuly monitored at every washing. We have four pillows for each beds. The extra pillows are kept in a wooden box at the foot or side of the beds. We do provide more pillows when requested.

As for the oder in your room, it is the first time we have been made aware of any problems with our rooms emiting any unpeasant odor before. The only time we get unpleasant smells is when the tide is low and the humidity is high, the shore will have an odor. The sea breeze blows it all over town and shares it with all with no discrimination. We do not have A/Cs in the rooms as of yet. It has not been a need before this summer. This has been an exceptionally hot, long and extremely humid summer. We do however see that the need has presented its self and are looking into units which will provided added comfort to our suites. Again I appologize for your discomfort, but some situations present themselves beyond our control.

Again I thank you for your review and deeply appologize that you were let down by your experience with us and hope that this does not discourage you from visiting Louisbourg in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

This is a nice clean ocean view suite. We also enjoyed the Beggars Banquet where the Halibut was Awesome (and I am not a fish lover !). There is more than enough food for you and you are always encouraged to go back for more. The room itself was spacious and airy.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MommysusanOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thanks for the rave. You reward our hard work greatly when you take the time to share your satisfaction about your experience with us. We love being a part of good memories that you take with you. Thank you for staying with us and again, thanks for the nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed here as the first leg of an east coast vacation. The welcome was fantastic. We were running very late getting into Sydney airport and, when called, the staff sincerely expressed concern that we were safe. Given that we had not eaten dinner and everything in Louisbourg was closed, they told us not to worry and prepared some wonderful seafood chowder, fresh baked bread and spice-cake for our arrival.

The room itself was spacious, huge TV, great bed, mini-fridge, octagonal room with six walls of windows and associated views. However: no a/c. We can appreciate the rarity of needing it on the coast but when we were there it was hot and humid. A large fan helped, but the room was nearly un-sleepable.

The toilet facilities were not what one might hope for. Its nice to have a watercloset/shower separated, but the rooms were too small. No space for toiletry storage in either and the tub was a small standard tub. Some renovation, even combination of the two rooms would render both much more useable. If a soaker tub was not practical, a big shower, toilet and vanity would easily fit.

We also attended the Beggars’ Banquet which was lots of fun from the 1750’s. Excellent access to the Fortress complex from here, too.

We can’t complain one iota about the hospitality, the views or the location. Just a bit of tweaking would make this a fantastic spot to lure us back again, otherwise we enjoyed our stay. The lack of a/c and sub-standard toilet configuration are the only things keeping this rating below very good-excellent.

Room Tip: Room #20 is in the smaller ante-building by the shore. Best views no doubt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tango9R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review, not only the Baggars Banquet, but also our accommodations. You're right by saying that an a/c is usualy not a nessessity here but this summer has shown that we must consider their installation. I appologize for the discomfort that the humidity caused you. We are experiencing a summer like no other.

We improve our establishment continualy. We take pride at working towards giving our guest a clean, functional and modern place to stay. It is by your comments that we are guided towards what needs our attention and for that we thank you. We are always a work in progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nova scotia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

This is a must to attend to anyone visiting the area! What a great evening we had at there. From the time you get there until you leave you get top notch treatment. We arrived there and we were given our costume for the Banquet. The meal was beautiful! Buffet style for the soup and salad then the main meal is served to you but you go and pick out your side dishes.

The entertainment was great with songs and stories of the 17th century and everyone at the end of the evening danced and sang the last song in French! This was the first time for both of us to go there but it won't be the last. Actually we have re-booked for this Thursday to take my daughter and niece. The entire night of entertainment, drinks, food and great company with lots of laughs was a night we will always remember.

If you are ever in the area, make sure you take part in this event. Check it out on line because it is a must! Also there is a great Bar Maid, who will have you laughing before long!

Room Tip: They also have beautiful suites there for you to stay over night!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnanovascotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thank you so very much for your rave review of the Beggars Banquet. We know all of our hard work has payed off when we hear about the good time it has allowed our patrons to experience. Your praises are rewarding and encouragement to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Visited the Louisbourg Historic Site and there was so much to see that we decided to stay in town for the night. The ocean view suite on the shore was fantastic - great views (even with the fog). Participated in the Beggar's Banquet put on by the inn - great fun great lobster dinner great atmosphere

Room Tip: Splurge for the ocean view suites in the separate ocean front building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YukonHalibut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thanks for the short and sweet review of your stay with us. It always encourages us when we hear about your satisfaction with our accommodations and our dining experience. Nothing rewards hard work more than recognition. Thanks you so much and we appreciated your stay and your taking the time to evaluate us so kindly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed here one night and loved our room. We had booked astandard ocean view room, but were upgraded when we got there to their largest suite on the top floor. The view was amazing, as you are right on the water with a nice rocky shoreline and trees. The room decor was very simple, but clean and bright, and this suite was bigger than our first apartment with a kitchen, large bedroom and bathroom with a jet tub. We also did their Beggar's Banquet supper where you dress as acadien peasants, and that was fun and entertaining as well. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view, as you'll get a beautiful view and a nice breeze off the water as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feline2ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thanks for the rave. We love hearing about your experience with us. Beautiful reviews such as yours rewards us beyond words. It makes our hard work at assuring you have pleasant stay worth it. I will pass the complements to the staff on your behalf to encourage them further. Thanks again for your stay and for taking the time to share it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louisbourg
56.9 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
17.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
39.6 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
18.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
54.7 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates

Property: Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Address: 15 Commercial Street Exten, Louisbourg, Nova Scotia B1C 2J4, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Louisbourg
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Louisbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Point of View is perched on the edge of a four acre peninsula that sweeps out to the magnificent Atlantic Ocean. As your hosts to this extraordinary property, we are proud to welcome you with a premier level of service and first-class amenities. We are the only accommodation property in Louisbourg with water frontage and private beach for your relaxation and recreation pleasures. Enjoy retiring at night and waking in the morning to the soothing sounds of the waves on our shore. We look forward to making your visit a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Of View Suites At Louisbourg Gates Hotel Louisbourg
Point Of View Suites At Louisbourg Gates Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing