We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Louisbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 evenings as part of a tour around Nova Scotia. The apartment was excellent - very clean with a well equipped kitchen. The "Ocean View" apartment had a great view cross the bay. The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. The only small drawback is there is not much else nearby other than the Fort (which was excellent). Restaurant choices are limited nearby, so cooking in is worth considering.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you so much for your encouraging review. We appreciate your comments and learn so much from them. Your satisfaction shows us that we are succeeding in reaching our goals. We work hard towards ensuring our guests have the best time possible while with us. Thanks for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    48
    24
    3
    4
See reviews for
64
98
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have never felt more at a home away from home as much as I did when I stayed at the Point of View. The staff are so friendly and always have a smile on their face. Our rooms were gorgeous with lots of space. The view from the suits is breath taking. You can tell the wonderful owners take pride in their resort and ensure everyone has the vacation of their dreams. Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamMorrison84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you so much for the rave review. Your comments reward our efforts. We work hard to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay. We're delighted you stayed with us and hope for your return. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

It was nice to face the fortress and to have a little apartment even if it was just for a night. Everything was fine including the staff at the reception who called the only restaurant still opened by the time we arrived around 6pm. However, considering the price they charge for the room I was rather annoyed to have to pay an extra $9 per person for breakfast. I have to say the breakfast was good but when we ordered an orange juice it meant an additional $2.50 per person. During the entire two weeks, this was the only place where we had to pay for breakfast. It was also rather surprising that this place cost more than the Keltic Lodge where we stayed the night before!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the water. You have a nice view of the fortress and of the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Management will take your concerns about breakfasts into consideration. We appreciate all comments from our guests. We learn from this important tool on how
and where we can improve to better serve our patrons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here for one night while touring the Island. The room was more like an apartment, very big, full kitchen (but no microwave), eating area. The view was nice, and it is close to the Fort. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was also very clean, and well maintained. Only issues we had were that the TV remote didn't work well (probably low batteries), and the Wifi was touchy. The bathroom was standard, but the tub was nice as it had jets. It was great having the kitchen (as there are not many restaurants in town) but there are no full grocery stores either - suggest you pickup some groceries in Sydney before heading to Louisburg. (But there is a small grocery store in town) It's only a short drive to Sydney, so it's still a good place to base yourself if traveling on the east side of the Island. Room was a bit pricey, but average for the area. This is a great getaway spot!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrinceAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We're glad you had a nice stay with us. Our staff collectively work hard ensuring that our guests experience our very best. It's important for us to hear what our patrons have to share so we can improve or maintain our level of services. It was a pleasure to have you as guests Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

The room was beautiful, and very clean. Absolutely loved the view of the ocean from our balcony. It was a little chilly this time of year to enjoy the balcony as much as we would have liked. We only booked it for one night, wishing I had of booked it for another. Missed out on the banquet. We will definitely be back to experience the things we missed out on by going so early in the season.
Thank you for a lovely stay :).

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your very nice review. It gives us great pleasure to hear that your stay with us satisfactory. We never tire of hearing how much our guests enjoy the view and sounds of the ocean. We hope to see you again in the future when you can return for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We found Point of View to be a lovely place. Clean and well maintained, the bathroom had little counter space, but the shower was great. We didn't need the kitchen facilities, as the restaurants in town were good. We had a second floor queen suite, with a balcony, and were very close to the water. Free parking, breakfast the next morning for about $10. Not a lot of options with the breakfast, but it was well cooked and filling. It's about an hour from the start of the Cabot Trail, which was our reason for being on the island. Front desk gave us good tips on routes and shortcuts. Wifi was iffy, started good, then we weren't able to connect the following morning. It was back up that evening. But since we weren't there all day, we didn't call about it. I would imagine that in peak season, it would be quite busy, but there weren't that many there Thanksgiving weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for writing about your experience. We appreciate the comments and concerns our guests share with future readers. It shows us also where we need to grow and or maintain our current efforts to ensure our patrons have a good relaxing stay while with us. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockport, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Beautiful view of the ocean. The room was large, well-maintained with nice amenities. Although we missed out on the Beggars' Banquet, we had a good dinner at the restaurant. The waitress was very cheerful, friendly & made us feel very welcome. Overall, the staff was very nice and our stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olgaanddaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize about the delay in responding sooner but we are now closed for the season and I have not been available until now. It is always encouraging to one or all of our staff when their efforts have been noticed and appreciated. We all work hard at the Point of View to ensure you have the best treatment and comfort while with us. It is by your comments that we gage our performance. Thank you for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louisbourg
56.9 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
17.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
39.6 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
18.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
54.7 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates

Property: Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Address: 15 Commercial Street Exten, Louisbourg, Nova Scotia B1C 2J4, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Louisbourg
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Louisbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Point of View is perched on the edge of a four acre peninsula that sweeps out to the magnificent Atlantic Ocean. As your hosts to this extraordinary property, we are proud to welcome you with a premier level of service and first-class amenities. We are the only accommodation property in Louisbourg with water frontage and private beach for your relaxation and recreation pleasures. Enjoy retiring at night and waking in the morning to the soothing sounds of the waves on our shore. We look forward to making your visit a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Of View Suites At Louisbourg Gates Hotel Louisbourg
Point Of View Suites At Louisbourg Gates Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing