We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay in Louisbourg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Louisbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay in Louisbourg”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

From a drive through town, it appears that Point of View Suites is one of the nicest places to stay in Louisbourg. The room was large, clean and comfortable. There was a nice view of the water (as long as you didn't look toward the fishery complex!) If staying at Point of View, plan to partake in the Beggar's Banquet -- it was fun and delicious (see separate review). The best part about Point of View is the staff -- from the first email inquiry to finding something to eat for breakfast for my son, they were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acedaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share with triadvisor. We pride ourselves, here at the Point of View, in ensuring that our best allows our guest a comfortable and pleasant stay. We truly appreciate the comments our guests share in these reviews. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    52
    24
    4
    4
See reviews for
64
105
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I finished off our tour of the Atlantic on our Honeymoon at Point of View Suites in Louisbourg. Immediately when we entered the main office we were informed that we were upgraded to the best suite available (the signature suite). The room was simply breath taking, luxury through and through. Staff was super friendly and we had zero problems during our stay. The beggars banquette was a unique and joyful experience. Highly recommend this place to anyone planning on staying in Louisbourg!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayme F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thanks for the rave. It's always a pleasure hearing that our guests had a remarkable time. We were happy to hear that your up-grade was appreciated and by coincidence it was on your honeymoon. What are the odds. Thanks again for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at the Point of View Suites as we were touring Cape Breton and wanted to spend the day at Fortress Louisbourg. The location is magical, the room was large enough to accomodate the two of us and our almost 4 year old son. And best of all, the staff at the inn were welcoming, genuinely friendly, and made us feel at home.

The icing on the cake was The Beggar's Banquet the evening of our arrival. The period costumes, music, dance and food made for a memorable experience. Something we will not soon forget!

We would strongly recommend opting for an ocean facing room. A double thumbs up!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYFamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We're humbled by your review. Thank you for sharing and with such enthusiasm. We are always rewarded when we hear that we were a positive and memorable part of someone's vacation. Thanks for the rave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Everything about Point of View Suites was exceptional from our first contact by phone to make a reservation until our departure. Make sure, while you are there, to dine at the Beggar's Banquet -- a thoroughly entertaining experience from the moment of donning a period costume (even my shy travelling companion didn't hesitate to join in the fun). Sabean's shinanigans had the whole house aroar, toe tapping music and join in the dance. Banquet style also let us meet a charming couple from Alberta and long chats afterward with the owner made Points of View and integral part of our awareness of the 18th century answer to Fort MacMurray. Join in the fun, the smiles last well into the next day and can't wait to edit the photos.

Room Tip: The ocean vies with view toward the Fortress at louisbourg is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
It's a beautiful thing. We here at the Point of View Suites love hearing that your experience with us was a good one. Like I've stated so many times before, your satisfaction is our reward. We understand the importance of a vacation and we will do all we can to make sure you have a good one while with us. Thanks for the encouragement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 evenings as part of a tour around Nova Scotia. The apartment was excellent - very clean with a well equipped kitchen. The "Ocean View" apartment had a great view cross the bay. The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. The only small drawback is there is not much else nearby other than the Fort (which was excellent). Restaurant choices are limited nearby, so cooking in is worth considering.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you so much for your encouraging review. We appreciate your comments and learn so much from them. Your satisfaction shows us that we are succeeding in reaching our goals. We work hard towards ensuring our guests have the best time possible while with us. Thanks for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have never felt more at a home away from home as much as I did when I stayed at the Point of View. The staff are so friendly and always have a smile on their face. Our rooms were gorgeous with lots of space. The view from the suits is breath taking. You can tell the wonderful owners take pride in their resort and ensure everyone has the vacation of their dreams. Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamMorrison84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you so much for the rave review. Your comments reward our efforts. We work hard to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay. We're delighted you stayed with us and hope for your return. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

It was nice to face the fortress and to have a little apartment even if it was just for a night. Everything was fine including the staff at the reception who called the only restaurant still opened by the time we arrived around 6pm. However, considering the price they charge for the room I was rather annoyed to have to pay an extra $9 per person for breakfast. I have to say the breakfast was good but when we ordered an orange juice it meant an additional $2.50 per person. During the entire two weeks, this was the only place where we had to pay for breakfast. It was also rather surprising that this place cost more than the Keltic Lodge where we stayed the night before!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the water. You have a nice view of the fortress and of the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Management will take your concerns about breakfasts into consideration. We appreciate all comments from our guests. We learn from this important tool on how
and where we can improve to better serve our patrons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louisbourg
17.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
18.5 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
56.9 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.6 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
606 reviews
18.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
54.7 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates

Property: Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Address: 15 Commercial Street Exten, Louisbourg, Nova Scotia B1C 2J4, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Louisbourg
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Louisbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Point of View is perched on the edge of a four acre peninsula that sweeps out to the magnificent Atlantic Ocean. As your hosts to this extraordinary property, we are proud to welcome you with a premier level of service and first-class amenities. We are the only accommodation property in Louisbourg with water frontage and private beach for your relaxation and recreation pleasures. Enjoy retiring at night and waking in the morning to the soothing sounds of the waves on our shore. We look forward to making your visit a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Of View Suites At Louisbourg Gates Hotel Louisbourg
Point Of View Suites At Louisbourg Gates Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing