We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Louisbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We had not really researched places to stay in Louisbourg, but a cursory look through the hotel list and led us to pick this one.

What a great surprise! When we were greeted, our room was not ready but we were going to spend the day at the fortress and we got a discount coupon for admission charges. We also opted for the Beggar's Banquet (reviewed separately) as our dinner for the evening.

When we did check in, the room was very clean and spacious. Despite having to go to the main building for ice, everything was just great. All the staff we met were very friendly and a pleasure to deal with.

Highly recommend this inn - when we go back to Louisbourg, we will return here as well.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your great review. We're happy you found us and stayed with us. We look forward to serving you again. Thanks for the rave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    48
    24
    3
    4
See reviews for
64
98
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is THE place to stay when in Louisbourg! Our 2-week trip through the Maritimes ended in Louisbourgh with a 2-night stay. Nice and close to the Fortress. The room was bright, spacious and clean with a nice large kitchen and easy access and a view to the sea. We didn't attend the Beggar's Banquet but heard good things. The staff are all very pleasant and accomodating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azevedo_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Very happy you were pleased with finding us and enjoyed your stay. We never tire of hearing from our guests. We get encouraged to continue to do what seems to be working and are ready to learn more to add to our services. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
497 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

From a drive through town, it appears that Point of View Suites is one of the nicest places to stay in Louisbourg. The room was large, clean and comfortable. There was a nice view of the water (as long as you didn't look toward the fishery complex!) If staying at Point of View, plan to partake in the Beggar's Banquet -- it was fun and delicious (see separate review). The best part about Point of View is the staff -- from the first email inquiry to finding something to eat for breakfast for my son, they were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acedaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share with triadvisor. We pride ourselves, here at the Point of View, in ensuring that our best allows our guest a comfortable and pleasant stay. We truly appreciate the comments our guests share in these reviews. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I finished off our tour of the Atlantic on our Honeymoon at Point of View Suites in Louisbourg. Immediately when we entered the main office we were informed that we were upgraded to the best suite available (the signature suite). The room was simply breath taking, luxury through and through. Staff was super friendly and we had zero problems during our stay. The beggars banquette was a unique and joyful experience. Highly recommend this place to anyone planning on staying in Louisbourg!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayme F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thanks for the rave. It's always a pleasure hearing that our guests had a remarkable time. We were happy to hear that your up-grade was appreciated and by coincidence it was on your honeymoon. What are the odds. Thanks again for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at the Point of View Suites as we were touring Cape Breton and wanted to spend the day at Fortress Louisbourg. The location is magical, the room was large enough to accomodate the two of us and our almost 4 year old son. And best of all, the staff at the inn were welcoming, genuinely friendly, and made us feel at home.

The icing on the cake was The Beggar's Banquet the evening of our arrival. The period costumes, music, dance and food made for a memorable experience. Something we will not soon forget!

We would strongly recommend opting for an ocean facing room. A double thumbs up!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYFamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We're humbled by your review. Thank you for sharing and with such enthusiasm. We are always rewarded when we hear that we were a positive and memorable part of someone's vacation. Thanks for the rave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Everything about Point of View Suites was exceptional from our first contact by phone to make a reservation until our departure. Make sure, while you are there, to dine at the Beggar's Banquet -- a thoroughly entertaining experience from the moment of donning a period costume (even my shy travelling companion didn't hesitate to join in the fun). Sabean's shinanigans had the whole house aroar, toe tapping music and join in the dance. Banquet style also let us meet a charming couple from Alberta and long chats afterward with the owner made Points of View and integral part of our awareness of the 18th century answer to Fort MacMurray. Join in the fun, the smiles last well into the next day and can't wait to edit the photos.

Room Tip: The ocean vies with view toward the Fortress at louisbourg is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
It's a beautiful thing. We here at the Point of View Suites love hearing that your experience with us was a good one. Like I've stated so many times before, your satisfaction is our reward. We understand the importance of a vacation and we will do all we can to make sure you have a good one while with us. Thanks for the encouragement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 evenings as part of a tour around Nova Scotia. The apartment was excellent - very clean with a well equipped kitchen. The "Ocean View" apartment had a great view cross the bay. The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. The only small drawback is there is not much else nearby other than the Fort (which was excellent). Restaurant choices are limited nearby, so cooking in is worth considering.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you so much for your encouraging review. We appreciate your comments and learn so much from them. Your satisfaction shows us that we are succeeding in reaching our goals. We work hard towards ensuring our guests have the best time possible while with us. Thanks for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louisbourg
56.9 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
17.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
39.6 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
18.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
54.7 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates

Property: Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Address: 15 Commercial Street Exten, Louisbourg, Nova Scotia B1C 2J4, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Louisbourg
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Louisbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Point of View is perched on the edge of a four acre peninsula that sweeps out to the magnificent Atlantic Ocean. As your hosts to this extraordinary property, we are proud to welcome you with a premier level of service and first-class amenities. We are the only accommodation property in Louisbourg with water frontage and private beach for your relaxation and recreation pleasures. Enjoy retiring at night and waking in the morning to the soothing sounds of the waves on our shore. We look forward to making your visit a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Of View Suites At Louisbourg Gates Hotel Louisbourg
Point Of View Suites At Louisbourg Gates Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing