We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stayin Mabou”
Review of Mabou River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mabou River Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Mabou B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Skowhegan, Maine
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place to stayin Mabou”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We wanted to stay in Mabou so we could enjoy a couple of evenings at the Red Shoe without having to drive off anywhere afterwards. This place was great! We were in room 7, which is indeed next to the "rec" room. We did not have any problem with noise from that. The lower level rooms are without views but our room was large, clean and very comfortable. We were well aware that the bathroom was across the hall when we booked. This was no problem. Two plush robes were provided for the trot across the hall. The bathroom itself, private for each room, was well equipped, clean and spacious. In addition there is a laundry room and a full kitchen for guest use on this level. The inn backs onto a beautiful trail, perfect for a run or walk. And the Red Shoe is just a short walk away. Breakfast was more than adequate and cooked breakfast is available at an extra charge. The girls on duty in the afternoon were courteous and helpful. The owner is present in the mornings and again was friendly and helpful. We would come back, great value!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    56
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
108
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Quirky is a good word to describe this place. Nice appearance outside & our room was nice but it was confusing as to where to register (it's a pizza place in the afternoon/evening). The only people we talked to were the pizza girls in the evening when we checked in & the ladies working in the kitchen when we came in for breakfast. Breakfast was similar to a chain hotel continental breakfast, toast, muffins, yogurt & fruit. Not a very homey place but clean & comfortable & reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We are here now, early Aug 2012 and wish we had other options. This place has an excellent breakfast included in the room rate and the staff is very friendly but we got a small room in their basement with no views from the windows that are up at ground level. We did not get the double queen room we confirmed and when we told them upon arrival, the evening staff just shrugged. The bathroom is across the hall which we were not told when we made the reservation months ago. The mildew smell is strong and room #7 is right next to their rec hall which gets very noisy with visiting young guests. Maybe the upstairs rooms are better? The place is very clean (despite the mildew smell) but my husband describes it as "a pizza joint with rooms to rent".

Room Tip: You might be ok here if you aren't in the basement and your bathroom is attached to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karrieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Right from the start, this place is a bit quirky. You enter by climbing a deck and going through a door indicating "Reception and Pizza Entrance." Three or four teenage girls were making pizza and said to my wife and me, "Are you guys staying here?" Apparently the skills for making pizza don't translate to the skills for welcoming overnight guests. But the rest of our stay proved to be very good. Mabou is near the Cabot Trail and not 40 minutes from the causeway back to mainland Nova Scotia. It's a small town of 400 with a cozy collection of a few shops, a grocery, gas station, etc. The Red Shoe is a lively pub with entertainment sometimes and The Mull is a no frills restaurant with a surprisingly broad menu. The Mabou River Inn sits nearby up a hill. Our first floor room was partially below ground, had a long narrow shape with beds at either end lengthwise, and a private bath that was across the public hallway. This took some getting used to. The room was attractive and clean, with high quality bed linens. The next morning two women, Geoffrine and Donna, greeted us when we entered the dining room, which had Delft pottery plates on racks and a European feel to it. We enjoyed a free breakfast that reflected the local Cape Breton standards for hospitality; we especially liked their homemade porridge bread made from oatmeal and molasses. These women at our departure sent us off feeling pleased that we had stayed there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed two nights here and really enjoyed it. The room was spotless and spacious, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was great, not just the cinnamon rolls but also the porridge bread toast. The inn is also perfectly located as it's adjacent to the Trans-Canada Trail, which made for some beautiful morning runs, and just a five-minute walk from the Red Shoe Pub.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fern M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Initial impression was that this motel lacked character but the room was huge and really nicely appointed, the a/c silent and the bathroom big and with lots of potions and lotions supplied. All very stylish. The service for breakfast was homely and friendly in a very pretty dining room. Someone had got up early in the kitchen and baked the best scones I ever tasted. The location is great, 5 mins into town. The Gardens are lovely as well so we were very happy. Good value as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank velvethaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
281 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed at the Mabou River Inn for two nights during our vacation in the Maritimes. It billed itself as a B&B, but I would think it is more appropriately called a boutique hotel. There is a free Continental breakfast available, but you need to purchase breakfast from the menu if you want more. The rooms were quite large and very clean. The pillows must have been new because they were large and I could not get comfortable because they were too high. This was solved by slipping a pillow cover over a couch throw pillow. Folks were friendly, and the Inn is well located for travel in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bxdiver65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mabou
65.2 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
30.6 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
23.2 mi away
Margaree Riverview Inn
Margaree Riverview Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Forks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Fiddle and the Sea, B&B
7.2 mi away
Hebridean Motel
Hebridean Motel
#1 of 1 in Port Hood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
6.8 mi away
Glenora Inn & Distillery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabou River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabou River Inn

Property: Mabou River Inn
Address: 19 Southwest Ridge Rd, Mabou, Nova Scotia B0E 1X0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Mabou
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mabou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mabou River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Mabou River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabou River Hotel Mabou
Mabou River Inn Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing