We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful spot for visiting the cabot trail”
Review of Mabou River Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mabou
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mabou River Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Mabou B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A beautiful spot for visiting the cabot trail”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We spent 2 nights here in August 2013. The accommodations are good. Our room was large and spotless. The bed was very good. The owners know the area and were great at assisting us on planning our days. The breakfast was good. Home made cinnamon buns. A very quiet location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    57
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
113
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Perfect spot to walk down for a meal and some live tunes at the Red Shoe Pub (owned by the Rankins).

Lovely staff - we missed breakfast but they fed us amazing cinnamon buns, coffee, juice and fruit regardless. Great people!

Rooms are simple but spotless.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed 1 night here after we drove the Cabot Trail. Our room was very clean as well as the private bathroom across the hall. Our beds and pillows were very comfortable. All around - felt comfortable in this room. The next morning we went for breakfast - breakfast was delicious. They offered a variety of items from baking to fruit to eggs. The pizza in the restaurant also smelled very good but did not have any. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NLH85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Our room was very spacious and comfortable. The location was great, walking distance to Main Street and right next to mabou walking trail. Breakfast was great- homemade toast and cinnamon rolls. My only negative is that I think it is overpriced considering amenities and where it is. Otherwise pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twigtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, DE
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Last year we stayed at the Duncreigan and were horribly disappointed at the owners' lack of interest in their guests. So this year we stayed across the road at the Mabou River Inn. It could not have been more different. The owner greeted us warmly, showed around the property, and offered to help carry our bags from the car. Getting information was a snap; there were two whiteboards in the kitchen listing all of the musical events for that day and the next day. We were able to hear about twice as much music as we'd planned because the information was so thorough and well-organized. The owner also helped us find restaurants off the beaten path, so we did not have to fight crowds at the Red Shoe for dinner.

Because the inn was purpose-built as a hotel and not converted from an old house, the rooms do not have nooks and crannies and sloped ceilings to bump your head against that many bed-and-breakfast fans like. The rooms are a little startling in scale--very large and rectangular (about 12' by 30'). But they are furnished like typical bed-and-breakfast bedrooms with old-fashioned substantial wood furniture and pretty wall decor. The king bed was comfortable and the linens fluffy and fresh. Rooms are big enough to have a sitting area with desk and couch as well as a sleeping area. The inn also has a separate communal living room for guests as well as a kitchen and laundry area guests can use. It has a large, wooded garden where you can sit on Adirondack chairs and enjoy the breeze as well as a second-floor patio. So if you were traveling with a group, it would be easy to hang out without crowding into anyone's bedroom.

Breakfast emphasizes baked goods (homemade cinnamon rolls, biscuits, and toast made from homemade bread) but also includes hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, and fruit.

The inn is not staffed at night but there is a phone number to call in case of emergency. I have no doubt that the staff would handle overnight problems with the same concern and efficiency they show toward everything else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellmore, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at the Mabou River Inn last night. It was a lovely place. The people were helpful and friendly, We went to the Red Shoe Pub for dinner and music then toured around town. The next morning we were dining on fresh-baked bread, biscuits, and cinnamon buns. We sat outside in the sunshine on adirondack chairs and sipped coffee. What's not to love?

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 1. It had 2 queen beds in 2 seperate rooms plus there was a pull-out sofa. Ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My wife and I stayed a week here and had a wonderful experience! The staff went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect. I trailer my motorcycle down and was worried where I could leave my trailer for the week and was told anywhere I wanted to leave it was fine and it will be perfectly safe. Like another reviewer on here, Dave (one of the owners) asked if I wanted to wash my bike as he would supply hose, sponge and soap!. The biscuits, cinnamon buns, and home made bread are out of this world! Great staff, we really felt at home. Dave even gave us a container so we could take some biscuits and cinnamon buns for our drive home!

We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JThompson50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mabou
30.6 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
630 reviews
23.2 mi away
Margaree Riverview Inn
Margaree Riverview Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Forks
160 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hebridean Motel
Hebridean Motel
#1 of 1 in Port Hood
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Glenora Inn & Distillery
7.3 mi away
The Fiddle and the Sea, B&B
7.4 mi away
Haus Treuburg Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabou River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabou River Inn

Property: Mabou River Inn
Address: 19 Southwest Ridge Rd, Mabou, Nova Scotia B0E 1X0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Mabou
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mabou
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Mabou River Hotel Mabou
Mabou River Inn Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing