We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here”
Review of Mabou River Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mabou
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mabou River Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Mabou B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel had closed the bedrooms for the winter on the day we were there so we weren't able to stay. Next time in the area we will certainly stay here. It is a tiny bit pricey but well worth it when compared to the alternatives. The owner was very helpful about finding us a place to stay further along the road. Based on what we say the hotel looked smart and clean. The dining room looked very inviting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

What a beautiful, pleasant , enjoyable inn, with a touch of good old country charm.It was so comfortable and very clean. The beds were like sleeping on a cloud. The washroom in our room was so clean with lots of room. Their breakfest was so good, with homemade cinnamon rolls, that melt in your mouth. The hosts were so accommodating and helpful.. Thank you so much for such a lovey stay. Even though it has been over 40 years since our last visit to Mabou, you help us fall in love with this picturesque town all over again. we will Definitely be back.. but this time it will be for pleasure. Thanks for the wonderful Hospitality and making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: We had family and friends stay at this inn for a funeral. We booked it for only one night and then w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Inn is a perfect place to stay. We stayed in room #2, which had a king size bed, a complete bathroom, flat screen TV and is very clean. The surroundings are quiet and is conducive to a good night sleep but the best surprise is the breakfast. The owner David is up early and making fresh cinnamon buns, tea biscuits etc. David is a fabulous host and is very keen to make sure you stay in Mabou is memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineOttawa_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was a perfect place for us to stay. We also visited the Glenora Distillery and the Red Shoe Pub and both those places were very close to the Mabou River Inn. Our basement suite was clean and comfortable. Our friend was unwell while we were there so the one bathroom was a bit difficult but we managed okay. Breakfast in the morning was fine for us, and we had a kitchen to use so were able to make coffee and tea early in the morning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This inn in Mabou is a quirky place, apparently once a private school. Our bedroom was comfortable, the beds were wonderful, and it looks like it was re-done very recently. Everything was immaculate. The quirk was having our bathroom, although exclusive to us, across the hall. The hosts were lovely and helpful with local information. The public rooms were beautiful, with antique furniture and bright windows. The complimentary breakfast was so good that we talked about it for the rest of the day. I would stay again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs. The downstairs rooms had ceilings that were a bit low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jokam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Absolutely loved it! The Mabou River Inn is a spotlessly clean, well-appointed inn on beautiful grounds in the village of Mabou. Room #2 is very spacious, with a magnificent kingsize bed that was by far the most comfortable we've had in 3 weeks of travelling the Maritimes (1 boutique hotel and 10 B&Bs later!). The common rooms are welcoming, the owners and staff are super-friendly and helpful - we only wish we could have stayed longer than just the one night. Within walking distance of restaurants and pubs, it's a great place to stay while experiencing the local food and Ceilidh culture. Quiet and restful, terrific value - would stay again in a heartbeat

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Good location. Rooms are very clean but the one we were in was a bit crowded. We found the bathroom being across the hall rather inconvenient. We would stay here again but would ask for a different room with an ensuite. Overall a very nice place with very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask whether it has an ensuite and we would have preferred a second floor room. But overall very nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mabou
30.6 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
671 reviews
23.2 mi away
Margaree Riverview Inn
Margaree Riverview Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Forks
167 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hebridean Motel
Hebridean Motel
#1 of 1 in Port Hood
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Fair Isle Motel
Fair Isle Motel
#1 of 2 in Whycocomagh
88 reviews
6.8 mi away
Glenora Inn & Distillery
7.3 mi away
The Fiddle and the Sea, B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabou River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabou River Inn

Address: 19 Southwest Ridge Rd, Mabou, Nova Scotia B0E 1X0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Mabou
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mabou
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Mabou River Hotel Mabou
Mabou River Inn Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing