We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't hesitate....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mabou
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laurel's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 7 Mabou B&B and Inns
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate....”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Host is Laurel.....a lovely lady, a great cook and baker extraordinaire, incredibly knowledgeable about local history and area, a fab conversationalist, superb singing voice, generously flexible in all arrangements, a breakfast spread every day that's different and all home cooked from fresh local ingredients..... A home away from home. We stayed 6 nights... and enjoyed each of the rooms at Laurel's - one with 4 poster bed and large en suite, the other with a big bed and bathroom just outside. Lovely bedding and very comfy mattresses. Lovely deck to sit on, fast fast wifi, Hector the dog, Tigger and Roo the cats....it may be a few minutes drive out of Mabou but I can't believe a better B&B exists...Faultless.

Room Tip: If you prefer a bath choose the ensuite room. If you prefer a shower choose the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrekkingWhiteTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel B, Owner at Laurel's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
C & D, you have been excellent guests. I enjoyed being your host, and look forward to seeing you again, soon! Beannach Leibh!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    3
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
52
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

A charming home nestled on a hillside field surrounded by an abundance of cultivated and wild flowers. Laurel was a very special host, cooking delicious, locally-grown breakfasts. Because she is very much a part of the local scene, she was a great guide to the rich selection of music, hiking and other activities. A very clean B&B with a wonderful feel of home, including the well-behaved cats and dog. 5 nights wasn't enough! Thank you Laura.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel B, Owner at Laurel's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you, Sue and Chris! It was lovely to be your host!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

When the Glendyer was full., the innkeeper recommended Laurel's and are we ever glad they did. She is a couple miles out of town, directly across a little bridge from the Bellesmeade Farm. she has two lovely rooms that are exceptionally clean, maintained, furnished, and comfortable. Pretty much what you find at a high quality B & B. The best, though, is getting to know Laurel who really knows the area and takes time to help you find local music and a great match for all your interests. Right up there is her breakfast--she uses local and organic ingredients and makes an outstanding meal. Trust me-- you will be very glad you stayed here (and the price is sure right!) Thanks, Laurel--we will be back.

Room Tip: How to choose a good room? Don't stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wisconsinnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel B, Owner at Laurel's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Once again, thank you for you kind words and your encouragement. I hope to see you again.
Safe travels, and best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Misenheimer, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We have been to Mabou many times over the last 7 years. It is our favorite small village in Cape Breton. We love dining at the Red Shoe Pub which always has live music and The Mull restaurant. But Laurel's is defninitely our favorite place so lodge. It is very clean and tidy. There were spectacular landscapes out of every window. It was very close to Mabou, all the dances,celidhs and several trails. It was comfortable on so many levels. It was so quiet and peaceful that we almost didn't want to get out of bed. Our breakfasts were varied but all homemade down to the strawberry jam. She always had my tea ready for me when I came down in the morning and was sensitive to our dietary requirements. She seemed to anticipate our needs. She also allowed us to play music on her piano in the front room. Laurel is a warm and gracious host. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel B, Owner at Laurel's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for your kind words! I enjoyed sharing my home with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at Laurel's on our first night in Cape Breton and it set a high standard for the rest of our trip. The home is beautiful and our room was large and tastefully furnished with a big bathroom ensuite. In addition, Laurel was a wonderful hostess with an irresistible dog named Hector. She is also a talented chef incorporating home-made breads and produce from local farms that was perfect for our vegetarian preferences. She provided spot-on advice for local entertainment and outings. Couldn't imagine going back to the area without staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel B, Owner at Laurel's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
It was my pleasure to be your B&B host. You made my "job" very easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We so enjoyed our stay really enjoyed the wonderful breakfast and of course Laurel's kitty cat and the dog such a house with character and a great view to wake up to through our window .We would definitely recommend staying at Laurels B&B to anyone travelling to Mabou

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevitrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel B, Owner at Laurel's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful B & B in December 2012. Our room was huge, gorgeous and well-decorated. When we arrived, there was a wood fire on and fresh treats right out of the oven. It felt like we were at home and the healthy breakfast was impressive. We would like to stay there again.

P. and N.

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seeingtheworld76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel B, Owner at Laurel's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
I enjoyed your company, you were wonderful guests! Thank you, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mabou
28.0 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
608 reviews
55.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
9.6 mi away
The Fiddle and the Sea, B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Glenora Inn & Distillery
9.5 mi away
Hebridean Motel
Hebridean Motel
#1 of 1 in Port Hood
33 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hillcrest Hall Country Inn
Hillcrest Hall Country Inn
#3 of 4 in Port Hood
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Laurel's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4596 Highway 252 | Rr 2, Mabou, Nova Scotia B0E 1X0, Canada (Formerly Witsend Farm B&B)
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Mabou
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mabou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Ceilidh Trail,Cape Breton's sunset coast, Laurel's Bed and Breakfast is a beautifully restored 1880s home, set far back from the road.(rte. 252) Laurel's is just minutes from the heart of Mabou Village, the cultural and musical soul of Inverness County. Guests enjoy a full organic breakfast with espresso, coffee, tea, and food gathered from the garden and from local farms. Take a short drive to the stunning West Mabou beach for swimming, hiking, and photography. Celtic Shores Coastal Trail is our choice for a bike ride or a long walk. Enjoy kayaking and canoeing nearby on the Mabou and Mull rivers. On Sunday mornings, visit the Mabou Farmer's Market where you will find local foods, fine crafts and prepared meals. The famous Red Shoe Pub and the Glenora Distillery offer fine food and live music day and night. Enjoy stories, conversations, and culture like nothing you will find anywhere else. Laurel's is an LGBT-welcoming Bed & Breakfast. We accept Visa and Mastercard and cash as payment. Check-in 3-6 PM; self check-in after 6PM. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laurel's Bed And Breakfast Mabou, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing