We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful & tranquil!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mabou
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laurel's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 7 Mabou B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Peaceful & tranquil!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We booked this spot based on the reviews and we were not disappointed. It's a old Country farm house, it was very quiet and relaxing! We enjoyed the chairs up in the field with a glass of wine. We went to the Red Shoe pub for supper and came back to relax on the deck, it started to rain so we went inside to the cozy living room and enjoyed the peace and quiet!!

Laurel was very friendly and welcoming, she made a great Breakfast! We both walked away stuffed!

Thanks Laurel!

Karen & Dave
halifax, ns

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HalifaxChairgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel B, Owner at Laurel's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Karen and Dave, thank- you for your kind words. You were wonderful guests, and I enjoyed our breakfast conversation. Come any time! Laurel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    3
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Laurel's B&B is a five minute drive from Mabou and is ideally situated for exploring Inverness County and the rest of Cape Breton.
Laurel's casual and gracious hospitality is perfectly suited to her light filled home that oozes with country charm. Our large bedroom and ensuite bathroom were spotlessly clean, airy and well appointed. Her fabulous and nutritious breakfasts were accompanied by intelligent and insightful commentary on the culture of the island often giving us nuggets of information that we would otherwise have missed. Laurel's brother and wife were visiting during our stay - the story telling, familial bantering added a whole new level of fun and entertainment to our stay. Try and time your visit for their next return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel B, Owner at Laurel's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Ian and Catherine, you were wonderful guests! Your graciousness and humour stood you in good stead, making you both honorary members of the family. Thank you, again, and best wishes!
Fondly, Laurel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. Laurel was very pleasant and an excellent hostess. Hector, Tigger and Roo (canine and feline greeting committee) were good hosts and hostesses as well. The room was spacious and clean, the private bathroom was great as well.

We really enjoyed our breakfast in the morning as well, very well prepared and incredibly tasty. Great conversation in the morning as well, Laurel is really funny.

We had an excellent time and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank effguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel B, General Manager at Laurel's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
You were wonderful guests, and I enjoyed our conversation at breakfast. Thanks for taking time to submit your review. Cheers! Laurel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Host is Laurel.....a lovely lady, a great cook and baker extraordinaire, incredibly knowledgeable about local history and area, a fab conversationalist, superb singing voice, generously flexible in all arrangements, a breakfast spread every day that's different and all home cooked from fresh local ingredients..... A home away from home. We stayed 6 nights... and enjoyed each of the rooms at Laurel's - one with 4 poster bed and large en suite, the other with a big bed and bathroom just outside. Lovely bedding and very comfy mattresses. Lovely deck to sit on, fast fast wifi, Hector the dog, Tigger and Roo the cats....it may be a few minutes drive out of Mabou but I can't believe a better B&B exists...Faultless.

Room Tip: If you prefer a bath choose the ensuite room. If you prefer a shower choose the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrekkingWhiteTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel B, Owner at Laurel's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
C & D, you have been excellent guests. I enjoyed being your host, and look forward to seeing you again, soon! Beannach Leibh!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

A charming home nestled on a hillside field surrounded by an abundance of cultivated and wild flowers. Laurel was a very special host, cooking delicious, locally-grown breakfasts. Because she is very much a part of the local scene, she was a great guide to the rich selection of music, hiking and other activities. A very clean B&B with a wonderful feel of home, including the well-behaved cats and dog. 5 nights wasn't enough! Thank you Laura.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel B, Owner at Laurel's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you, Sue and Chris! It was lovely to be your host!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

When the Glendyer was full., the innkeeper recommended Laurel's and are we ever glad they did. She is a couple miles out of town, directly across a little bridge from the Bellesmeade Farm. she has two lovely rooms that are exceptionally clean, maintained, furnished, and comfortable. Pretty much what you find at a high quality B & B. The best, though, is getting to know Laurel who really knows the area and takes time to help you find local music and a great match for all your interests. Right up there is her breakfast--she uses local and organic ingredients and makes an outstanding meal. Trust me-- you will be very glad you stayed here (and the price is sure right!) Thanks, Laurel--we will be back.

Room Tip: How to choose a good room? Don't stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wisconsinnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel B, Owner at Laurel's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Once again, thank you for you kind words and your encouragement. I hope to see you again.
Safe travels, and best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Misenheimer, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We have been to Mabou many times over the last 7 years. It is our favorite small village in Cape Breton. We love dining at the Red Shoe Pub which always has live music and The Mull restaurant. But Laurel's is defninitely our favorite place so lodge. It is very clean and tidy. There were spectacular landscapes out of every window. It was very close to Mabou, all the dances,celidhs and several trails. It was comfortable on so many levels. It was so quiet and peaceful that we almost didn't want to get out of bed. Our breakfasts were varied but all homemade down to the strawberry jam. She always had my tea ready for me when I came down in the morning and was sensitive to our dietary requirements. She seemed to anticipate our needs. She also allowed us to play music on her piano in the front room. Laurel is a warm and gracious host. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel B, Owner at Laurel's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for your kind words! I enjoyed sharing my home with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mabou
21.7 mi away
Margaree Riverview Inn
Margaree Riverview Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Forks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
63.3 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
9.6 mi away
The Fiddle and the Sea, B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mabou River Inn
Mabou River Inn
#1 of 7 in Mabou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
5.9 mi away
Glenora Inn & Distillery
9.5 mi away
Hebridean Motel
Hebridean Motel
#1 of 1 in Port Hood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Laurel's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4596 Highway 252 | RR 2, Mabou, Nova Scotia B0E 1X0, Canada (Formerly Witsend Farm B&B)
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Mabou
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mabou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Ceilidh Trail,Cape Breton's sunset coast, Laurel's Bed and Breakfast is a beautifully restored 1880s home, set far back from the road.(rte. 252) Laurel's is just minutes from the heart of Mabou Village, the cultural and musical soul of Inverness County. Guests enjoy a full organic breakfast with espresso, coffee, tea, and food gathered from the garden and from local farms. Take a short drive to the stunning West Mabou beach for swimming, hiking, and photography. Celtic Shores Coastal Trail is our choice for a bike ride or a long walk. Enjoy kayaking and canoeing nearby on the Mabou and Mull rivers. On Sunday mornings, visit the Mabou Farmer's Market where you will find local foods, fine crafts and prepared meals. The famous Red Shoe Pub and the Glenora Distillery offer fine food and live music day and night. Enjoy stories, conversations, and culture like nothing you will find anywhere else. Laurel's is an LGBT-welcoming Bed & Breakfast. We accept Visa and Mastercard and cash as payment. Check-in 3-6 PM; self check-in after 6PM. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laurel's Bed And Breakfast Mabou, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing