We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Normaway Inn & Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2007

We were delighted with the Inn. This is an old Inn, gracefully providing travelers with fine food, comfortable quarters, and a connection to its environment/people. The staff could not have been more pleasant. The evenings entertainment was a local singer, who spent almost as much time telling stories and getting the guests to share a little bit about who they were and why they were there as he did singing. I enjoyed it; it was the high point of the trip for my wife. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SalmoMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2007

While the setting is lovely and the inn itself is charming, our cabin was very disappointing and rather shabby. There were bare light bulbs in both the living area and the bathroom. There were some electrical wires sticking out of the ceiling. The hodgepoddge furnishings looked and felt as if they had come from an auction of used roadside motel furniture. I don't know if the rooms in the inn are better, but if you choose to stay here, my advice is to avoid the cabins. You won't get what you pay for!!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank KentuckyArttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2007

My wife and I throughly enjoyed the entire experience at the Inn. From our own cabin, with hot tub, to world class fine dining (the best broiled salmon I have had to date), the most friendly, polite, and helpful staff; each evening there was live music from local musicians in the library to add flavour to the local experience. Without hesitation, I would recommmend Mr. MacDonald's Normaway Inn to anyone, couples or family interested in a truly relaxed, comfortable, safe and friendly rustic vacation site.
P.S. I even had the pleasure of hiring their recommended fishing guide, Mr. Ed, for a great 4 hour local flyfishing adventure.

N.G. Trachtman, M.D.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank flydocNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2007

The Normaway Inn was special the way of:
1) Friendly lovely staff
2) Local live music in the Inn's living room each night - a really warm touch
3) The proprieter is such a proponent of keeping the local music supported and does such a great job of it with "the Barn" concerts
4) The Restaurant has the best seafood chowder and food around albeit a little pricey
5) We really felt like we experienced a unique cultural blend that the Cabot Trail is famous for
6) Even the other guests were pleasant and social and part of the experience of the Inn

Be prepared:
1) We stayed in the cabins - which were dark and worn and a little "slap together". Another couple took lovely nice pictures of their cabin in another review, but ours, although the same type of room not as nice.
2) You are in the middle of nowhere - tons of driving to everything except a great little shop that sell Cape Breton Clay pieces.
3) The internet computer is sluggish and cumbersome - the wireless sketchy - just be prepared to be unplugged completely and you won't experience the frustration that we did. Also, cell phones do not get good reception.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank World_Vagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2007

We only stayed for 2 nights but loved every minute; high marks for our room (in the house), the food, the friendly personnel and the evening entertainment.
We would have liked to explore some of the nearby trails and rivers but we had a rainy day so drove to Chéticamp instead.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SMART1E3781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2007

The Normaway is old-fashioned, and so long as you arrive expecting that, you won't be disappointed. We stayed in the inn rather than the cabins, in a corner room on the ground floor. It was roomy, had a nicely polished wood floor (in fact, the whole inn does), and a clawfoot tub that looked like it was original -- and sounded like it, too. There are no phones or TVs in the room, which I expected. What I didn't expect was that there'd be no hair dryer, either. That last omission was inexcusable.

Dinner at the restaurant was fine, although the menu could have been served thirty years ago. We were entertained in the main room by a man who -- in addition to some traditional folk songs -- also sang ones by Johnny Cash, Elvis, and Don McLean. Several guests dropped by to hear him, and everyone enjoyed it.

The inn had a varied clientele. There were groups of extended families who looked like they came to the inn every year; couples; several cyclists; some tourists from the Netherlands. The inn did a good job catering to them all in a homely, unpretentious way.

One thing the innkeeper desperately needs to do is provide directions to the inn on the website. Although it's not impossible to find, the oddly named town of Egypt Road is further on than you'd think. We kept thinking we must have missed it and wondering whether we should turn back. Don't despair -- you'll get to it eventually!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SkyeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2007

My mom and I stayed at the Normaway and were very disappointed with the cabin and the guest services. First of all, it can be difficult to find and is several miles from any other businesses. We called to get directions are were told that they had lost our reservation. They wouldn't even give us directions to the inn! We had to stop and ask for directions at the visitors' center because the woman on the phone at the Normaway was more concerned with telling us that we didn't have a reservation than giving us directions.

Once we arrived, we found that we did have a reservation but they had spelled our name wrong. We checked into our cabin which had no TV and no internet. We were told that there was wireless internet in the inn, but none of the guests were able to access it while we were there. It was a general source of frustration among the guests. The housekeeping staff had left a bottle of neon green cleanser on the sink. I was going to sleep on the hideaway bed, but the sheets and blankets in the closet looked like old army hand-me-downs and I wasn't even sure they had been recently washed.

We had a good dinner and enjoyed the music in the living room in the evening. However, you don't have to stay at the Normaway to take advantage of either the restaurant or the evening entertainment.

We originally had reservations for two nights, but we ended up staying only one because we were so disappointed with the experience. They did refund us the cost of the second night, which was very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BostonHunter4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Normaway Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normaway Inn & Cabins

Address: 691 Egypt Rd., Margaree Valley, Nova Scotia B0E 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Margaree Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Margaree Valley
Price Range: £59 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normaway Inn & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Normaway Inn & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Normaway Inn & Cabins Hotel Margaree Valley
The Normaway Inn And Cabins
The Normaway Inn & Cabins Margaree Valley, Cape Breton Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing