We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun at the Normaway Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Normaway Inn & Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family fun at the Normaway Inn”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our family of 4 enjoyed 4 great nights at the Normaway Inn recently. We stayed in #18 Macpherson house on the beautiful property and it was perfect for our needs. On arrival we had a warm welcome, chatted with Dave (the innkeeper) and Joe (the chef) who prepared a wonderful 3 course meal for us that evening. We spent the next day hiking the Skyline trail with many fun stops up and down the coast. That night we enjoyed "Music in the Barn" with local fiddlers, a guitarist and piano accompaniment. We passed on the square dancing after just because we were tired, but it sounded like great fun. Dave gave us great ideas on hikes and places to visit only a local would know about. Over all, our stay was more than we expected and our host and the Normaway staff gave us a glimpse into the charming community of Margaree.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    71
    30
    15
    13
See reviews for
57
134
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

What a gorgeous spot. Peaceful and charming. And a great place to hear Cape Breton music. We've experienced both the intimate Living Room setting where local musicians are brought in to play for grateful guests, and the Barn for a full on evening of fantastic quality music. We returned this summer for a second visit, and were delighted once again.

Room Tip: We've stayed in both the white cabins and the green ones. Haven't stayed in the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My husband and I spent one night at the Normaway Inn. We wished we had spent a little more time at the Inn. Margaree is lovely, one of the loveliest places in Cape Breton. We had a wonderful dinner at the inn, and even better breakfast before we rushed out to go whale watching. The inn is so peaceful, quiet and dark. One of the best night's sleep we've gotten in ages.

Room Tip: My sisters have stayed in the cabins, and we stayed in the inns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janemac29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2013

My wife and I had a weekend package in October. The property was beautiful and the cottage quite nice the water pressure was bad took for ever to fill the Jacuzzi. The dinning experience was awful. I have spent a lot of my career in the food service industry I have trained many staff in food service. I started as a waiter to Maitre D' to food and beverage manager to rest. manger in find dinning. If I had a server with the attitude that ours had I would suggest he find other employment where he didn't have to deal with people. As for the food I would give it a 4 at best out of 10. you have to think of what the majority of people want and like not your own taste. We had dinner the first night and breakfast in the morning and although breakfast was included the second morning we checked out and found a nice little rest. that served a very enjoyable breakfast and the wait staff was very polite and professional. I would not recommend the Normaway nor would I return there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed here with my family over the summer, we had several cabins. They were all different, so it's hard to say anything about them in general, but they were all nice and featured working fireplaces, and some had porch swings or jacuzzi tubs. The setting was picture perfect, bring a camera. I do not suggest the resturant however. The staff were great and the food was enjoyable, but in my opinion overpriced - above average food at well above average prices.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_127245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Two retired couples spent two nights at Normaway in September 2013. We had downstairs rooms in the main building next to the lounge. Rooms were large, old-fashioned and comfortable - big claw footed bath in the room I had - Great! Jimmy was a really interesting guy and both he and his elderly (in her 90's!) mother gave an interesting historical account of the place. Jimmy organizes regular after dinner musical concerts or items; we were fortunate to have a husband and wife guitar and fiddle players who entertained with celtic jigs etc. The food in the restaurant was excellent - great scollops - and the service OK. They grow their own herbs and veggies!

We enjoyed our stay here - not having TV was a bonus! Normaway was a good base to explore the Cabot Way and other places of interest on Breton Island.

Room Tip: If you have a physical disability the downstairs rooms are for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austraveller65-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We spent the last night of our week at Celtic Colours at a "green" cabin at Normaway primarily to attend a concert by Brian Doyle and Scott MacMillan at the "barn" on the property. The concert was awesome.
The Inn and Cabins are located in a beautiful setting in the Margaree Valley. The cabin was fine, modernized rustic with a nice bathroom and a wood burning stove which worked great. Needed two trips back to the Inn for ice and matches. Wifi worked flawlessly.
The dinner and breakfast were good. The rate for our overnight stay included breakfast but it was unclear and quite awkward at breakfast how the all inclusive rate was managed. We had to order from the menu, a bill was prepared including the line for gratuity then the bill was taken to the front desk where the amount ex gratuity was deducted from the bill ex the gratuity all the while the waiter was standing by my side explaining the process. Why not include a gratuity in the rate and serve guests whatever they wanted as part of their breakfast included rate plan? For those not on the all inclusive plan they can order from the menu and receive a bill as per a normal restaurant process.
Could also do without the commercial messages re the blueberries grown on the property.

Room Tip: The "green" cabins are recommended based on our stay. We did not see any rooms in the Inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tfbb0541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaree Valley
6.6 mi away
Margaree Riverview Inn
Margaree Riverview Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Forks
160 reviews
19.1 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
632 reviews
20.8 mi away
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Big Intervale Fishing Lodge
Big Intervale Fishing Lodge
#2 of 4 in Margaree Valley
25 reviews
7.1 mi away
Salmon Pool Inn
Salmon Pool Inn
#1 of 5 in Margaree Harbour
10 reviews
9.6 mi away
Duck Cove Inn
Duck Cove Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Harbour
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Normaway Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normaway Inn & Cabins

Property: The Normaway Inn & Cabins
Address: 691 Egypt Rd., Margaree Valley, Nova Scotia B0E 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Margaree Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Margaree Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normaway Inn & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Normaway Inn & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Normaway Inn & Cabins Hotel Margaree Valley
The Normaway Inn And Cabins
The Normaway Inn & Cabins Margaree Valley, Cape Breton Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing