We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place - tranquil AND tasty!”
Review of The Galley Restaurant & Lounge - CLOSED

The Galley Restaurant & Lounge
Price range: US$8 - US$24
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse, International, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: WE ARE NOW CLOSED FOR THE SEASON, RE-OPENING MAY 13, 2016 However, we are open any time for private events and parties with prior reservation all year round. Serving fresh seafood, pasta and steak on the water in beautiful and scenic Chester, Nova Scotia. We are located on the South Shore Marine property. Sixty percent of our menu is available gluten-free. We have a 60 seat dining room, 50 seat lounge and 50 seat deck which can be reserved for your private event or function. Fixed price menus to meet any budget are available! We have plenty of parking and moorings available. We are happy to accommodate tour buses and large groups.
Halifax
Level Contributor
117 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“I love this place - tranquil AND tasty!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I haven't eaten here in awhile and we drove by and decided to stop for lunch and it was fantastic! It's a really gorgeous place, the view is beautiful and we had superb service from Joe. My husband had the burger which was a top notch beef burger with bacon and cheese and I had the hot lobster sandwich. Both were outstanding but the lobster sandwich was the best I have ever eaten anywhere. They have some really wonderful options to add lobster portions to your meal with different sizes to accomodate everyone. The menu and wine lists are extensive enough to satisfy any palate and we can't wait to come back on a warmer sunny day to sit outside and really enjoy the unique location.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scubashe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    27
    9
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Still the best place to eat in Chester”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The Galley opened for the season May 15th, 2014, so we had to come down from St Margaret's Bay the next day to sample the new menu. As expected, it was terrific. Thanks to Chef Jeff for new creative ideas and Holly for being such a friendly and enthusiastic server. We were able to enjoy the first nice day sitting on the deck overlooking the marina. The Galley is about 10 minutes outside Chester and the road sign is hard to notice, but a left turn off the highway down to the South Shore marina will get you to the best dockside dining around. No one touring the south shore of NS should pass up a meal at the Galley. Five stars!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank onnsdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubbards, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“best chowder in town!!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This past summer we had lunch at the Galley -what an experience ! The lobster chowder was out of this world.I have never tasted better..forget the calories and go with it! Excellent service too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

My favorite thing to eat here is the buttermilk haddock. For dessert they have really good fried cheesecake.

Helpful?
1 Thank matt f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Consistant Quality”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We visited the Galley Restaurant again this weekend and were once again very impressed with the quality of the food and the efficiency of the serving staff! Great atmosphere and the food was excellent. We would highly recommend giving this restaurant a try.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KDP_Hfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Galley Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing