We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great business lunch for 30.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Galley Restaurant & Lounge - CLOSED

The Galley Restaurant & Lounge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$24
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Italian, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: WE ARE NOW CLOSED FOR THE SEASON, RE-OPENING MAY 13, 2016 However, we are open any time for private events and parties with prior reservation all year round. Serving fresh seafood, pasta and steak on the water in beautiful and scenic Chester, Nova Scotia. We are located on the South Shore Marine property. Sixty percent of our menu is available gluten-free. We have a 60 seat dining room, 50 seat lounge and 50 seat deck which can be reserved for your private event or function. Fixed price menus to meet any budget are available! We have plenty of parking and moorings available. We are happy to accommodate tour buses and large groups.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great business lunch for 30.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I arranged a lunch for 30 professionals on June 11. The manager was very helpful and insured our needs were met.

The servers were great!
The food was very good.
The view is wonderful from the dining room and deck.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janicerahme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    27
    9
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overlooking the Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was a first-time visit for me. The view was breathtaking!
Food was delicious...
A little pricey, but so worth it for lobster!
I have been living in Chester for near 2 years, and just discovered this gem!
Better signage and advertising may help.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimouski, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very nice experience to eat 1 lb of lobster while looking at the bay and the warf. Excellent taste at a reasonable price. Good service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“First time here...hidden gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I didn't know about this place until my wife suggested we stop by for lunch. Down a small road, so it's kind of off the beaten path, to the shore of the marina and into an old mariner's house we went. Not busy on this cloudy day, but the outside patio looks fantastic as it overlooks the bay and I can't wait for a sunny day to stop in again. Inside is nice and historic too. My wife had the lobster wrap which she said was one of the best ever and I had the burger (pretty great too). Service was friendly and knowledgable from Joe who was happy to answer all questions regarding the area and we hope to see him again as we will surely return!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubbards, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“so disappointed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Last year when we went I had the best lobster chowder I have ever tasted..we were so excited to go back and sample more ..well what a disappointment.The lobster was tough, the vegetables were too crispy for a chowder,and the taste just wasn't there.The waitress told me they have a new cook..too bad..they should try and get the old cook back as he did it really well.The carpet in the dining room was absolutely disgustingly dirty.Needs a good clean.Our waitress was great though.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben W, Owner at The Galley Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your valued feedback. We're sorry to hear that your lobster chowder did not meet expectations. Our goal is to be the lobster restaurant on the South Shore of Nova Scotia and your feedback will help us in working towards that goal.
As a sign of our appreciation and our desire to keep you coming back to The Galley, we'd like to extend an offer for a free appetizer the next time you are in. Please advise your server when you arrive of this offer of appreciation made via TripAdvisor. If there are any issues, please have the manager on duty call Ben at 902-980-0989 to confirm the offer.
Thanks again,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Galley Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing