We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful view of the bay !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gray Gables Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful view of the bay !”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This is one of the nicest B & B's we have ever stayed in, the rooms were beautifuly appointed, comfortable and very clean. The breakfast choices were all delicious and Jacqui's company for coffee was delightful. Her help with tourist attractions and restaurants was greatly appreciated.We will definetly return one day.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
69
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My son and I recently took a road trip around Cape Breton and down the Eastern Coast of Nova Scotia, staying in B&Bs. The Gray Gables in Chester was one of the very best -- beautifully appointed, friendly and caring host and hostess, on a quiet country road and with a good view of the ocean.

I would highly recommend it.

Ruth H., Denver, CO

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, CLO
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2011

My 81 year-old Mother and I just completed a scenic road trip through Nova Scotia. She and I have taken many trips together and have stayed in a few dozen bed and breakfasts. Gray Gables is one of the very best. We enjoyed all of it - the beautiful house, the exceptional setting, the rooms, the comfort, the breakfast and the owners. While the house is one of the best we have experienced, the rates were lower than other B&Bs we stayed at on this trip and a lot less than hotels in Halifax. I highly recommend this B&B and wish the owners all the success in their new adventure.

Jeff Haugen
Lakewood, Colorado

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2011

From making the reservations with Jacqui, to our warm welcome upon our arrival, and delicious breakfasts, a beautiful room, gorgeous views, and wonderful hospitality, Gray Gables was a great place to stay while in Chester for our friends' wedding. Our three night stay was relaxing and fun, and Jacqui added that touch of "down east" friendliness and warmth that made it even more pleasant. We would definitely stay at Gray Gables again. Thanks Jacqui, it was a pleasure staying at your B&B and meeting you.

David and Mark

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mermaid room - it was ground floor, quiet, spacious, with a nice spa-like bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingonish
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

My wife and I stayed at Grey Gables B&B on August 27th. Jaqui and Dave were great hosts. We stayed in the Lighthouse room which has a wonderful view of Graves Island and the bay. The bed, room decor, and bath were all top notch. The included breakfast of eggs benedict , crossants and fruit was fantastic. We would highly recommend Grey Gables to our friends and we will be back. Great value for the money!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loxley, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day stay at Gray Gables B & B! Our hostess Jacqi was wonderful. The bed was very comfortable, the room was spacious and the made to order breakfast was delicious and plentiful each day. Our room was upstairs and had a beautiful view of the cove. We chose this B & B because of it's central location to the areas in Nova Scotia we wanted to explore and we were very pleased! We would go back and stay tomorrow if we could!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAF732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
porto sant'elpidio
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2011

How we can describe a place with confortably and spacious rooms, warm hospitality and an amazing ocean view at a very reasonable price..... Wonderfull!!
Plus it is in a fantastic position half way from Lunenburg to Peggy's Cove and can be the pefect place to stay to visit the South Shore of Nova Scotia.
Last but not least every morning a delicius breakfast is served on a verandah overlooking the ocean.

Antonio & Sonia

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antocicchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
13.9 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
237 reviews
13.9 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
294 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mecklenburgh Inn
Mecklenburgh Inn
#2 of 5 in Chester
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
11.4 mi away
Mahone Bay Bed and Breakfast
9.2 mi away
Bayview Pines Country Inn
Bayview Pines Country Inn
#3 of 6 in Mahone Bay
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray Gables Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray Gables Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gray Gables Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Graves Island Rd, Chester, Nova Scotia B0J 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Chester
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy our seaside getaway. A bed and breakfast experiences in Nova Scotia to remember!This spacious Cape Cod overlooks Majestic Mahone Bay and Graves Island Provincial Park. We offer the traveller a choice of three comfortable ocean view guest rooms. Centrally located 2 minutes from the Town of Chester on the Lighthouse Route of the South Shore. Many popular tourist destinations and attractions are within a leisurely 40 minutes or less. All Rooms include, Welcome Refreshments, Bath Robes and more...3 Beautiful oceanview rooms (Q,T), ensuite 4-pc bath. Full breakfast. Luxurious Cape Cod with large patio overlooking the ocean; picnic table. Close to beach, golf; 65 km to airport. Member: tians. Vs, mc.Open year-round ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gray Gables Bed And Breakfast Chester, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing