We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
131
2
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
131
2
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgraves islandprovincial parknova scotiachester areaocean mistwonderful hostsgolf clubhighly recommend this b bwonderful propertyblueberry pancakesoverlooking the watermemorable weekendceiling fanrecommend it highlyother guestsevery morninghome made
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We rate Grey Gables as an outstanding B&B, one of the finest we have ever stayed in. Dave and Jacqui were friendly and very accommodating, they even changed the normal time for serving breakfast to match our schedule. The breakfast was first class in all respects, as was the bedroom. The Grey Gables B&B, in our view, is a magnificently decorated and extremely well furnished facility operated by a very accommodating couple. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the Chester area of Nova Scotia.
Doug and Abby Beaman

Room Tip: The room with the King Size bed!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

What a treat,the place is small with only 3 guest rooms but it is the cleanest B&B we have ever seen anywhere in the world.Great furnishings, great views,incredibly friendly and helpful owners and the absolute best breakfast that we have ever had in a B&B anywhere in the world.We were travelling with our friends from Denmark and we all agreed that if and when we visit Nova Scotia in future we would go out of our way to get back there. If you are anywhere in the area and they have rooms available you simply must go to this wonderful property.

Room Tip: the rooms are all fantastic, just book way in advance of your travel to make sure you can get one.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westcoastcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at Gray Gables BnB, in the Mermaid Room, late August 2012. We were greeted warmly by Dave, who swiftly showed us around. He was also kind enough to provide us with a map of the local area, and upon our request gave us some suggestions for dining.

The Mermaid room is the only suite on the main floor and spans along the one side of the house from front to back. It is spacious, and tastefully decorated. Jacqui has left nothing out - there were chocolates on our pillows, and a little snack basket containing 2 bottles of water, and 2 little snack bags (and more mini chocolates). This room also contained a HUGE closet (for those staying a little longer and wanting to hang items).

Breakfast was our choice of one of three items - we had the french toast, parfait one morning, and then a traditional eggs and bacon the other morning. The breakfasts were plentiful, all homemade by Jacqui each morning and were simply delicious!

The grounds are expansive on the property - built into the top of a hill overlooking Graves Island Provincial Park. We were awestruck at the views we had all day long - right from our room. The rest of the house is also very tastefully decorated and we enjoyed sipping a glass of wine in the main livingroom. There is also a hot tub on the property which we were able to enjoy one evening - which was very romantic as it was just the two of us.

Dave & Jacqui both were very patient with all of our questions (as we were vacationing from Ontario - and had many questions about the local area, etc.). Jacqui was inquisitive about our days events each morning and very pleasant to chat with.

We can't forget to mention Rocky (the little Jack Russel) - who was a joy to watch running around the yard and play a little catch with.

We thank Dave & Jacqui for making our stay such a memorable one, and would go back in a heartbeat. Terri & Jeff

Room Tip: The Mermaid room has the best views of the ocean and Graves Island. It is the most spacious - and located on the main floor (only bedroom on the main floor)
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

My wife and I, with a second couple stayed for two nights in August 2012. Defeninatly the cleanest B&B I have ever stayed in. Great breakfast, great host withoutstanding view. We will be back. Many thanks . Jim and Sara.

Room Tip: All rooms have water view. Very Quite location.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights in this beautiful home. Jacqui's decorating is superb!!! Our room was charming and immaculate!!
We were treated to a delicious breakfast on the sunny balcony, which has a wonderful view of the ocean, it doesn't get any better than that!!!!!
Thank you Jacqui for helping make our 1st visit to Nova Scotia memorable!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews