We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in so many ways”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gray Gables Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Perfect in so many ways”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We just stayed at the Gray Gables for two nights at the beginning of our trip to Nova Scotia. What a treat! The room was amazing, very comfortable, relaxing, with an amazing view of the harbor. Beautiful sunrises were seen from the deck both mornings while I sat and sipped coffee. The breakfasts were fresh and tasty and allowed for hours of conversation with the other guests and host at the table if you let the time slip away. Also, we enjoyed meeting their three wonderful dogs that were in the yard though if you are not a dog lover they are not a presence at all in the house (we love dogs!). The two days allowed us to relax from the busy city life and begin to enjoy all that Nova Scotia has to offer. Jacqui and Dave are amazing hosts and we hope to come back again soon as our time here was too short!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ocean Mist on the second floor which is actually the first floor of the B and B so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joninva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
68
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The Gray Gables can't be beat...of all the B&Bs we have stayed at during our travels, this one is THE BEST!! Beautiful home, comfortable and clean; lovely surroundings; fabulous breakfasts; warm, inviting hosts....what more can one say!? We were sad to leave! Diane & Paul

Room Tip: we stayed in the Lighthouse Room due to personal taste in decor, however any of the rooms would be e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We visited Gray Gables this past May long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Due to our travelling around the area before we arrived, and having to leave the next morning, we didn't get to enjoy as much of the space as we would have liked.
Gray Gables is situated it a beautiful location overlooking the water, with a lovely deck up top that you can enjoy breakfast on (was too cold for us this time). Our room, the Bay Breeze, had a comfortable King size bed and lots of space for both of us....nicely decorated and I liked the added feature of a couple small snacks in the room if you wanted them.
Breakfast was a choice of 3 options so you can pick what you like, along with some yummy muffins and croissants with home made jam.
Jacqui is a wonderful hostess and I enjoyed hearing about how she came upon this wonderful home. It was a shame we didn't get to enjoy the nice Muskoka chairs situated in the yard overlooking the water but we did venture over for a walk around Graves Island the next morning. This is a lovely spot to enjoy the beauty of the area. Thanks Jacqui.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wenalexBurlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

My Wife and I were searching for a Bed and Breakfast that we could enjoy along the south shore of Nova Scotia for our 1st. Wedding Anniversary.... and we found it.
The property was very easy to find along highway #3 on the way from Halifax to Chester.The view from there to Graves Island Provincial Park and the surrounding area and water was beautiful.
The owners were very inviting, showing us around the house and grounds. The house is large with many areas to enjoy. It is very clean, comfortable and enjoyable for a couple wanting a romantic environment.
We had supper out, in Mahone Bay. A leisurely drive of 30 mins. At dusk , we walked out to the hot tub and stayed for an hour. So peaceful .The sky was clear and we enjoyed the warmth and comfort of the water.
After a very comfortable sleep, we enjoyed coffee before a terrific breakfast in a bright and friendly kitchen.
We are looking forward to returning again. We will be promoting this B and B to everyone we know. Michael and Linda.

Room Tip: N/A All are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelmaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We were out for a weekend drive along the coast and discovered this absolute treasure of a
B & B! WOW, i was extremely impressed with both the grounds as well as the decorating of the interior and the hospitality of the Hosts.. Definatley will recommend this to EVERYONE for an overnight visit or longer as the ammenities are fabulous. There is even an outdoor hottub to sit in and enjoy the stars in the evening! The choices for breakfast were outstanding and the presentation of the food was worthy of being in either Magazines or on TV. I would have to rate this wonderful place (that we will return to over and over now) a 10 out of 5........ it's a MUST stay at when you are in the area or to take a weekend out of the city.

Room Tip: All the rooms we viewed were fabulous, extremely well decorated and comfortable. Clean, tidy and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chef006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed at Gray Gables last Friday night as a post Valentine's mini getaway. The house is nicely decorated, clean, and inviting. We stayed in the Ocean Mist room, located on the main floor. It has large windows, framing a beautiful view of the ocean. The room was very comfortable with a nice bathroom, including a jacuzzi tub. This time of year, most restaurants are closed in Chester, so we had to go outside of Chester to eat- we went to the Knot Pub in Lunenburg. After dinner we relaxed in the outdoor hot tub, then enjoyed a glass of wine by the fire, just outside of our room. We had 3 choices for breakfast, I chose the yogurt parfait, and my boyfriend chose the eggs & bacon. They were served with yummy lemon poppyseed muffins. We had a relaxing weekend and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epicureans-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I am sitting in snowy Ottawa, Ontario thinking of my stay this past summer at Gray Gables. The owners are lovely and the accommodations were wonderful. It is an absolutely beautiful home with awesome amenities and pristine premises. The breakfast was delicious as well. I would rate it 10 out of 10 and I would visit again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
13.9 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
13.9 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
5.5 mi away
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mecklenburgh Inn
Mecklenburgh Inn
#2 of 5 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
9.2 mi away
Bayview Pines Country Inn
Bayview Pines Country Inn
#3 of 6 in Mahone Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
9.5 mi away
Anchorage House & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray Gables Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray Gables Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gray Gables Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Graves Island Rd, Chester, Nova Scotia B0J 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Chester
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy our seaside getaway. A bed and breakfast experiences in Nova Scotia to remember!This spacious Cape Cod overlooks Majestic Mahone Bay and Graves Island Provincial Park. We offer the traveller a choice of three comfortable ocean view guest rooms. Centrally located 2 minutes from the Town of Chester on the Lighthouse Route of the South Shore. Many popular tourist destinations and attractions are within a leisurely 40 minutes or less. All Rooms include, Welcome Refreshments, Bath Robes and more...3 Beautiful oceanview rooms (Q,T), ensuite 4-pc bath. Full breakfast. Luxurious Cape Cod with large patio overlooking the ocean; picnic table. Close to beach, golf; 65 km to airport. Member: tians. Vs, mc.Open year-round ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gray Gables Bed And Breakfast Chester, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing