We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gray Gables Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2013

As a B&B owner myself, I am very picky when staying at a B&B.We recently went to a play and dinner in Chester and had reserved a room in this lovely B&B. Everything was topnotch, the food, the service the beautiful room. Was a really nice getaway. The view is amazing and the hostess,Jaqui was delightful. If you go to Chester this is a must stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melwill8494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

My husband and I scheduled our vacation around the availability of this B&B and it did not disappoint. The beauty of the view is everything you find in these pictures and more. Chester is an excellent location between Lunenburg and Halifax should you want to venture out, but the serenity and peacefulness of the deck overlooking the bay just makes you want to stay put. Jacqui and Dave were most gracious hosts, good people, truly devoted to making our stay everything it could be. Breakfasts were a wonderful experience as well, Jacqui puts a lot of thought and practice into what she serves her guests and of course there are always options. The house was gorgeous, not a typical old B&B but a spacious, well appointed and decorated home. Like walking into a brand new beach house. Should we travel to Nova Scotia again, I would be certain to make this a destination.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank NannyMcL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Perhaps our most relaxing and enjoyable holiday yet, thanks to the hospitality of Jaqui and Dave and the excellent accommodations. The scenery from our room and deck was magnificent and Jaqui's breakfasts were the best. We found your location quite central to many of the points of interest and the town of Chester quite unique. Hoping your scootering is progressing, Jaqui and that Dave finds that perfect motorcycle. We look forward to returning in the future and will certainly reccomend your place to our family and friends.
Bert & Sandra Waterhouse. London ON

Room Tip: From our perspective, all 3 rooms have individual characteristics
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethlehembert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My girlfriend came to Nova Scotia from Ottawa for a visit. She had not been to Chester before so I wanted to plan a special overnight road trip. After reading the reviews of Gray Gables, I thought I would book a night. From the moment we were greeted by Jacqui, our entire experience was excellent! She has positive energy and the pride she has in her B&B is evident. She gave us a tour of the house and made us feel most welcome.

The location is stunning and the grounds are well maintained. Gray Gables is spotless and when I opened the door to our room, I immediately thought: Now this is nice! Our room felt clean and fresh; such a positive first impression. The beds were comfy and we both had a great sleep. Our breakfast was delicious and oh so filling.

When we left, my girlfriend's first word was, "Wow!" Wanting to impress my friend with warm hospitality and a beautiful place to stay, Gray Gables did it. Thank you, Jacqui, for making this positively memorable!

If you're wavering in your decision as to where to stay in Chester, this is the place!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We just stayed at the Gray Gables for two nights at the beginning of our trip to Nova Scotia. What a treat! The room was amazing, very comfortable, relaxing, with an amazing view of the harbor. Beautiful sunrises were seen from the deck both mornings while I sat and sipped coffee. The breakfasts were fresh and tasty and allowed for hours of conversation with the other guests and host at the table if you let the time slip away. Also, we enjoyed meeting their three wonderful dogs that were in the yard though if you are not a dog lover they are not a presence at all in the house (we love dogs!). The two days allowed us to relax from the busy city life and begin to enjoy all that Nova Scotia has to offer. Jacqui and Dave are amazing hosts and we hope to come back again soon as our time here was too short!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ocean Mist on the second floor which is actually the first floor of the B and B so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joninva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The Gray Gables can't be beat...of all the B&Bs we have stayed at during our travels, this one is THE BEST!! Beautiful home, comfortable and clean; lovely surroundings; fabulous breakfasts; warm, inviting hosts....what more can one say!? We were sad to leave! Diane & Paul

Room Tip: we stayed in the Lighthouse Room due to personal taste in decor, however any of the rooms would be e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We visited Gray Gables this past May long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Due to our travelling around the area before we arrived, and having to leave the next morning, we didn't get to enjoy as much of the space as we would have liked.
Gray Gables is situated it a beautiful location overlooking the water, with a lovely deck up top that you can enjoy breakfast on (was too cold for us this time). Our room, the Bay Breeze, had a comfortable King size bed and lots of space for both of us....nicely decorated and I liked the added feature of a couple small snacks in the room if you wanted them.
Breakfast was a choice of 3 options so you can pick what you like, along with some yummy muffins and croissants with home made jam.
Jacqui is a wonderful hostess and I enjoyed hearing about how she came upon this wonderful home. It was a shame we didn't get to enjoy the nice Muskoka chairs situated in the yard overlooking the water but we did venture over for a walk around Graves Island the next morning. This is a lovely spot to enjoy the beauty of the area. Thanks Jacqui.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wenalexBurlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
13.9 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
347 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mecklenburgh Inn
Mecklenburgh Inn
#2 of 5 in Chester
93 reviews
11.3 mi away
Fisherman's Daughter
Fisherman's Daughter
#1 of 6 in Mahone Bay
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray Gables Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray Gables Bed and Breakfast

Address: 19 Graves Island Rd, Chester, Nova Scotia B0J 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Chester
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £50 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy our seaside getaway. A bed and breakfast experiences in Nova Scotia to remember!This spacious Cape Cod overlooks Majestic Mahone Bay and Graves Island Provincial Park. We offer the traveller a choice of three comfortable ocean view guest rooms. Centrally located 2 minutes from the Town of Chester on the Lighthouse Route of the South Shore. Many popular tourist destinations and attractions are within a leisurely 40 minutes or less. All Rooms include, Welcome Refreshments, Bath Robes and more...3 Beautiful oceanview rooms (Q,T), ensuite 4-pc bath. Full breakfast. Luxurious Cape Cod with large patio overlooking the ocean; picnic table. Close to beach, golf; 65 km to airport. Member: tians. Vs, mc.Open year-round ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gray Gables Bed And Breakfast Chester, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing