We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Nights stay M and M”
Review of Mecklenburgh Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mecklenburgh Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This was a very pleasant B and B. The owner Suzi was very nice and was vey quick to offer tea and biscuits on arrival. The rooms were nicely decorated with special little touches. Clean and comfortable . Breakfast was fine in so far a what you were given but guests were not given any choice, no toast, cereal or yogurt. Tea was also limited in supply.

Room Tip: Our room looked out over the post office a nice room but that is it. We had our own bathroom across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandMBisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mecklenburghinn, Owner at Mecklenburgh Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

M and M, thank you for sharing your observations of my home. Your Trip Advisor posting certainly contradicts the lovely note you left in my guest book.
“ 8/5/2013 Very enjoyable stay, just one night. Beautiful house- lovely furnishings. Comfortable. Breakfast superb. M and M.”

The room you chose is the least expensive of all the rooms for the reasons you stated. All rooms regardless of size, enjoy all the Inn has to offer : morning newspaper, a full cookie jar, an upper balcony with hammock for relaxing, the living room with several deep chairs to fall into with reading materials for all tastes, and of course the goodnight chocolates in a silver dish which you seemed to enjoy. I always advise guests using that private washroom to keep the door closed as it is solely for their use.
While I do offer an ample cooked breakfast, there are cereals and bowls on the side board in the dining room if guests prefer lighter fare. One only needs to request toast to have it delivered with a selection of jams and cheeses.

I am sorry your experience was not up to your expectations. I invite you to return, and next time, just ask for toast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2012

We have been visiting B&Bs in Nova Scotia for many, many years. The Meck ranks in the top three we've visited and since the other two have closed or changed hands, this one is at the top of the list. As others have expressed so well, the driving force behind this success is the innkeeper, Suzi. She is an extremely friendly hostess (but not overbearing!) and goes out of her way to make sure of your comfort and that your needs are met. Her breakfasts are gourmet class and and made from fresh local ingredients. Although visiting in off (waaaaayyyyy off) season, Suzi had good suggestions of things to see and where to go in the region. Highly recommended!!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Stevray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We were travelling off season (late Nov) and stayed for two nights. Suzi made is feel extremely welcome and in line with the other reviews I can whole heartedly recommend her fantastic breakfasts - you won't need lunch!
The room was great, clean and comfortable with toiletries and chocolates welcome additions. Lots of books dotted around on local tourism and places to visit - of course Suzi will provide ideas for days out etc. We loved Chester, small but full of atmosphere with a god pub and nice restaurant. Great views from the waterfront...wrap up warm if travelling out of season.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisSmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mecklenburghinn, Owner at Mecklenburgh Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

C & C,

Thank you for posting on TA and thank you for sharing info about UK travel.
Merry Christmas ! Suzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The Mecklenburgh is a lovely old inn, restored to a comfortable B&B by an animated hostess named Suzi. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, as are the bathrooms, and what Suzi does in the kitchen is worth the stay. She is a Cordon Blue chef who prepares a most sumptuous spread in the morning, shared around a large common table in the dining room. A short walk takes you to lovely vistas of the harbor and the outlying islands, and Chester is a nice place to walk and to enjoy seeing the beautiful homes which dot the seashore. We visited in September when the summer crowd had departed, making our stay very relaxed and easy ... and fun, thanks to Suzi!

Room Tip: Accept the oddity of an o200 postal truck that unloads in the middle of the night ... it's a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mecklenburghinn, Owner at Mecklenburgh Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

WOW ! THANK YOU !

A huge thanks to ALL of you for taking the time to share your experience here at "The Meck."
I have a blast running the joint. It makes me happy and it keeps me sane - sort of.
You, my guests, make it all worthwhile.

Thank you all so much.

Suzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We really enjoyed this B&B... We arrived late (after 10pm,) and found the door unlocked and a welcoming message with a telephone attatched for us to call to wake up poor Susan....She met us in a robe, showed us to our room and said 'see you in the morning!' (she had a bad flu I think.)
The rooms had everything anyone could think of! right down to new toothbrushes! I've never been in such a well-appointed room!
The breakfast was exceptional! She's a qualified chef and it shows! She shared lots of iinformation with us and made our trip very special!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exavious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This lovely little inn is charming annd very well located. It is in the heart of one of the most beautiful areas of Nova Scotia, while not being in the middle of the tourist centers. The best part of the inn is the innkeeper herself. Suzi is warm and welcoming and a top notch cook. Count on an electic and finely prepared breakfast!

All this said we faced two challenges. The beds were way too soft for our taste. And secondly, the inn is next to the tiny town post office, where deliveries occur in the wee hours of the morning and can wake you up. I slept soundly through it, but my husband found him self wide awake in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We spent 1 night in Chester and loved the Mecklenburgh. Rooms are comfy, spotlessly clean and well equipped with toiletries, soft yummy sheets and towels and even a teddy on the bed. Both the upstairs and downstairs balconies are great places to relax or socialise. Suzi was very welcoming and chatty and it was more like we were staying with a friend. Breakfast was cooked by Suzi and was fresh, healthy and delicious and it was fun and social to all sit around her dining table. We would definitely recommend staying at the Mecklenburgh. Thanks Suzi yours was the best accommodation experience on our journey.
Pete and Jane from Australia

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mecklenburgh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mecklenburgh Inn

Address: 78 Queen Street, Chester, Nova Scotia B0J 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £83 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mecklenburgh Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecklenburgh Inn Chester, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing