We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wallpaper heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mecklenburgh Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mecklenburgh Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wallpaper heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We were searching the Sanderson website while we were still on vacation. We just wanted to recreate the feeling of bring in such charming surroundings. The breakfast and cookies were delicious and Suzi is a fine host. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
46
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

The Mecklenburgh Inn was a great place to stay. Suzi did everything she could to make us feel at home. The location was central to all the spots we wanted to travel to and there was plenty of scenery walking about town. It was nice to get a chance to sit out on the top deck and meet new and interesting people. Our room was comfortable and always clean. The weather was hot but Suzi found us a fan and gave us a window screen to help cool things down. I will definitely stay here again should I ever be blessed with a chance to return to Chester.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdcamp3020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

This is a very comfortable and clean B&B in the heart of Chester. Suzi was a great host. Breakfast was great for the week I was there. There is nothing bad I could say about the stay and highly recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

I am very happy to be home again but I woke up this morning missing the great bed in the Saddle room at the Mecklenburgh Inn. And then I realized there would not be one of Suzi's world class breakfasts to surprise and delight my eyes and stomach this morning, and I wanted to run all the way back to Chester! Wonderful host, home and location, this is what true B&Bing is all about :).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax NS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

For the best Chester experience stay at the top of the hill at the Mecklenburgh Inn. Just like being at home, with all the dishes done for you. Suzi is a born and raised chesterite and knows all. She can direct you to the best experiences in Chester and environs, and can get you deals to some places including the Chester Playhouse Theatre.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Sometimes you stumble upon a gem by accident.

Having spent the day cycling the Lighthouse Trail, I originally felt that I was going to overnight in beautiful Lunnenburg. Even though it was a Thursday night in early May and the town was absolutely empty (and literally closes down at 6pm) I could not find a B&B or Hotel for anything resembling a reasonable price. So off I went and thought that I would stop off in Chester which was recommended by a local that I might at lunch a few days earlier.

Driving through this lovely town, which is like a cross between the Hamptons and the Muskoka's but on a subdued scale, I stumbled upon a cute little B&B a block from the main part of town. As I entered I was greeted by Suzi, the host and proprietor. Her warmth and charm was immediately apparent. Suzi took me on a tour of the property and offered a lovely room facing the front. The decor and bathroom amenities were nicely done and the expertly prepared breakfast was a delight.

All said and told, Suzi is the quintessential host. She is proud of her lovely B&B, is warm and more than willing to offer great suggestions on dinning, sightseeing, cycling, hiking etc.

For me, this is a five star recommendation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidJov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bisley
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

This was a very pleasant B and B. The owner Suzi was very nice and was vey quick to offer tea and biscuits on arrival. The rooms were nicely decorated with special little touches. Clean and comfortable . Breakfast was fine in so far a what you were given but guests were not given any choice, no toast, cereal or yogurt. Tea was also limited in supply.

Room Tip: Our room looked out over the post office a nice room but that is it. We had our own bathroom across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandMBisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mecklenburghinn, Owner at Mecklenburgh Inn, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
M and M, thank you for sharing your observations of my home. Your Trip Advisor posting certainly contradicts the lovely note you left in my guest book.
“ 8/5/2013 Very enjoyable stay, just one night. Beautiful house- lovely furnishings. Comfortable. Breakfast superb. M and M.”

The room you chose is the least expensive of all the rooms for the reasons you stated. All rooms regardless of size, enjoy all the Inn has to offer : morning newspaper, a full cookie jar, an upper balcony with hammock for relaxing, the living room with several deep chairs to fall into with reading materials for all tastes, and of course the goodnight chocolates in a silver dish which you seemed to enjoy. I always advise guests using that private washroom to keep the door closed as it is solely for their use.
While I do offer an ample cooked breakfast, there are cereals and bowls on the side board in the dining room if guests prefer lighter fare. One only needs to request toast to have it delivered with a selection of jams and cheeses.

I am sorry your experience was not up to your expectations. I invite you to return, and next time, just ask for toast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
11.9 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
11.8 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
3.7 mi away
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Bayview Pines Country Inn
Bayview Pines Country Inn
#3 of 6 in Mahone Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
9.3 mi away
Fisherman's Daughter
Fisherman's Daughter
#1 of 6 in Mahone Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
9.4 mi away
Mahone Bay Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mecklenburgh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mecklenburgh Inn

Property: Mecklenburgh Inn
Address: 78 Queen Street, Chester, Nova Scotia B0J 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mecklenburgh Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecklenburgh Inn Chester, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing