We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable quirkiness”
Review of Mecklenburgh Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mecklenburgh Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is how B&Bs should be. Welcoming, comfortable and a window on someone elses life. The building itself is quaint and interesting but it is decorated beautifully and packed with Suzis mementos. The quiltis on beds and around the place are lovely. It was great to be able to make a decent cup of tea with boiling water!! Suzi is a great cook and served interesting and filling things for breakfast which kept us going until lunch as we were cycling.

The beds were incredibly comfortable.

Thanks Suzi

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

What a great place in center of Chester..close to all the restaurants, the bars and
the water. Suzi is great hostess and a great cook as well. The rooms are spotless
and comfortable..easy to see Mahone Bay and Lunenburg from this base.
Great job Suzi...

Room Tip: If queen bed too small ask for Saddle Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodtip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I had the occasion to book my father into the Meck this summer for two and a half weeks as an overflow strategy. Suzi is a welcoming and professional inn keeper who is very accessible to provide suggestions and help. The inn is relaxed, comfortable and warm, the rooms are cheerful, bright and spotless, the bed and bedding is lovely and comfortable. The breakfasts are yummy and imaginative, with the ability have lighter fare when wanted.
My globe trotting father, loved the whole experience, and will I suspect make this an annual visit.
I thank Suzi for making his experience in Chester such a positive one!! Kudos!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The Mecklenburgh Inn in the heart of beautiful Chester, Nova Scotia is a place that one MUST stay on any trip to the south shore of Nova Scotia. This historic home is beautifully appointed and you are made to feel at home the moment you step through the front door. Suzi's background in the super yacht industry is evident from the comfort and luxury of the rooms to the fabulous breakfast she provides. As Suzi is a local of Chester she knows all the special local secret spots and can advise you on activities to make your stay a memorable one. I strongly suggest you stay with her, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IttyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We were searching the Sanderson website while we were still on vacation. We just wanted to recreate the feeling of bring in such charming surroundings. The breakfast and cookies were delicious and Suzi is a fine host. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The Mecklenburgh Inn was a great place to stay. Suzi did everything she could to make us feel at home. The location was central to all the spots we wanted to travel to and there was plenty of scenery walking about town. It was nice to get a chance to sit out on the top deck and meet new and interesting people. Our room was comfortable and always clean. The weather was hot but Suzi found us a fan and gave us a window screen to help cool things down. I will definitely stay here again should I ever be blessed with a chance to return to Chester.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdcamp3020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This is a very comfortable and clean B&B in the heart of Chester. Suzi was a great host. Breakfast was great for the week I was there. There is nothing bad I could say about the stay and highly recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mecklenburgh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mecklenburgh Inn

Address: 78 Queen Street, Chester, Nova Scotia B0J 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £83 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mecklenburgh Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecklenburgh Inn Chester, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing