We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh Baked Goods And a Smile to Start the Day!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Julien's - CLOSED

Julien's
Cuisines: Canadian, Soups, American, Cafe
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Washington, Dc
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fresh Baked Goods And a Smile to Start the Day!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Wow...what a great local bakery and coffee place. Also has a limited, but very good selection of sandwiches and soups for lunch. But we thought it best for the morning when you could wander in, order a fresh coffee and maybe a baked treat and bring some fresh baked bread home for later that day. A definite favorite among locals and very friendly service, too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cabin2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best breads and pastries on the South Shore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Don't miss this little cafe in Chester - doesn't look like much, but everything is delicious and well prepared. Even if you don't get to the cafe, look for Julien's pastries at farmers' markets all along the South Shore. Give yourself a treat - absolutely yummy.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank skymoon50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food, nice location...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Good food, portions are rather large but the quality and flavor are good. Nothing fancy but enjoyable and done with care...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank novascotiamemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
328 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Tasty Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stopped here for lunch. We both had the lobster sandwich--$14.95--better than ones we have had recently. The bread was better. It came with chips. We also had a glass of the Jost white at $4.95. There were a lot of great looking pastries and sandwiches in the display cases. They do serve beer, too. A lot of locals came in for take out orders. The decor is kind of hodge podge (which was OK with us), but the restroom needed cleaning.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just do it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Everyone should eat here! I am a local & summertime is my favourite time because Juliens is open! :) Great home made food & desserts, and service with a smile!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank veracruz3378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Julien's also viewed

Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing