We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of France”
Review of Julien's - CLOSED

Julien's
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
Chester, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A little bit of France”
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Julien's French Bakery in Chester is thousands of miles from the bustle of the Paris streets but the atmosphere is instantly transported. I often pop in for a morning bowl of cafe-au-lait and a croissant. The patisserie are to die for whilst the selection of bread is first class in both variety and quality. A few minutes from the harbour it is a lovely spot for Sunday breakfast. It is open until early January and reopens in March.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank nmunnery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Texas ladies”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I can't remember what I had here, but I know it was very delicious. We had dessert also and shared bites with each other. That was fun. The desserts were delicious and the service was prompt and very pleasant.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic bread and great service”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

So happy we stopped. We had to buy a couple of loafs then we learned that they go to the market in hubbards so we deffenatally know who were getting our bread from :)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Youngcouple541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Way to Start the Day”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

On a beautiful Sunday morning we wandered down to Julien's for coffee and breakfast. The delicious smells when we entered were very welcoming.

We decided on the fried egg sandwich with ham and cheese. Wow was that good and I think what really made it was the kaiser bun so fresh. Our coffee was hot and the service was very good considering how many people were in the bakery.

I hope to return soon to get some of their pasteries and look at the canned jams and pickles available to purchase.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seven7up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Dc
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fresh Baked Goods And a Smile to Start the Day!”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Wow...what a great local bakery and coffee place. Also has a limited, but very good selection of sandwiches and soups for lunch. But we thought it best for the morning when you could wander in, order a fresh coffee and maybe a baked treat and bring some fresh baked bread home for later that day. A definite favorite among locals and very friendly service, too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cabin2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Julien's also viewed

Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing