We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place Great Food Great Service”

Rope Loft Dining Room
Ranked #3 of 17 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Place Great Food Great Service”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I just got back from a dinner at this restaurant...which came recommended by the BandB we are staying at.
It was a great little place. The service was amazing. Our server "Christine" was friendly, chatty (without being invasive) and have us some great menu opinions. We started with martinis that were both perfect.
We both had the amazing seafood chowder (one if the best so far) and I had the seafood linguini, which was tasty and well prepared.y partner had the crab cakes, which we amazing as well. The final chapter of our meal was an AMAZING oatmeal cake (again suggested by Christine) We shared and the portion size was perfect.

A great meal and the service was bar-none.
A great way to spend an evening in Chester...over looking the docks/pier with some wonderful food.

Cheers!

Helpful?
1 Thank Troy810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRopeLoft, Manager at Rope Loft Dining Room, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank-you taking the time to write such a positive review! We're so happy you enjoyed everything and had such a lovely time. Glad you had room to try our famous Oatmeal cake! Hope to you see again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    73
    20
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Seafood restaurant with a view”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Quaint , quiet, great seafood ,food was served hot, great water view. Tavern atmosphere. Staff friendly .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rosie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRopeLoft, Manager at Rope Loft Dining Room, responded to this review, 12 October 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. Glad you enjoyed our little piece of heaven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best seafood chowder”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband and I came into The Rope Loft for a seafood lunch with our cousins in June 2014. We were visiting Canada from the USA, we live at the coastline of Connecticut. We love seafood and were hoping for a good seafood meal. We were pleasantly surprised with a fantastic Shellfish chowder. It was beautifully presented with whole shellfish and was piping hot . The scallops were fantastic. We also ordered a 6 oz haddock with salad which had fresh haddock and spinach salad with tomatoes, mushroom and egg.Delicious!!! We had coffee, black, and were not disappointed. The staff were very nice. Everyone was happy with their meal and the experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRopeLoft, Manager at Rope Loft Dining Room, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank-you so much for taking the time to write such a warm review. We pride ourselves on our fresh seafood, we're so glad you enjoyed everything! Hope to see you again sometime, we'll have a bowl of chowder waiting for you ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Everything was Perfect”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I had reserved a table for a Birthday Lunch...they had decorated the table for us with some balloons and other decorations (very nice touch).. the food was great.. All of our guest were happy and enjoyed their meals..

a great place to dine or have a beverage on the warf.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChesterNonsuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRopeLoft, Manager at Rope Loft Dining Room, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank-you so much for the kind review, we really appreciate it! So happy you enjoyed everything and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely spot”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I had a tasty seafood crepe and my wife a salad. It's a lovely spot sitting on the deck, relaxed and pretty. The food was very good and not too pricey.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GBeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRopeLoft, Manager at Rope Loft Dining Room, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rope Loft Dining Room also viewed

Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
Chester Basin, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Rope Loft Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing