We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seafood Chowder......WOW” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seaside Shanty

Seaside Shanty
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
ottawa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Seafood Chowder......WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a small roadside restaurant in Basin Head Nova Scotia on highway 3. Well this is the best seafood chowder I have ever had...sorry mom. Full of seafood...lobster to whitefish to mussels to scallops..all soaking in a cream base that HAS NOT been thickened with flour or corn starch. Spiced with a subtle peppery kick...yummy! I followed this with the seafood crepes...fantastic. Unfortunately I had no room for an incredibly delicious looking blueberry (wild) grunt with fresh whipped cream and vanilla ice cream. Great meal ...wonderful service from Ian...one of the owners. And yes if I am ever anywhere near here again I will be going there.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank robertBOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    32
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lobster Chowder....heaven in a bowl”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is quite possibly the best place to have a bowl of chowder on Canada. My only regret is knowing how many calories are in that dish! The ambiance is fantastic, the service great and the food is marvelous. Go ahead, finish off your decadent meal with a blueberry grunt.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bikechick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian M, Owner at Seaside Shanty, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you so much, your kind words are greatly appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best lobster and seafood chowder!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

This is a must stop for Chowder location! It's soo tasty with a great view if you sit waterside at the back. Excellent quality and we love the "local" feel of this restaurant. We love the lobster seafood chowder! It's almost all fish/seafood!! Yum!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenCanada2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Mountain, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tasty little place on the water.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped here on our way to Hunts Point. great place, awesome food and service was fast and efficient. It doesn't look like much from the outside but you have to try this place out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stevealg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious seafood chowder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Had Seaside Shanty's seafood chowder and it was delicious! The staff was friendly and the restaurant was adorable. Definitely on the list next time I go to Nova Scotia!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seaside Shanty also viewed

Western Shore, Southwest Nova Scotia
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Seaside Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing