We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well done”

Grand Pre National Historic Site
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Grand Pre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Grand-Pre, get to know the Acadians, Nova Scotia's early French settlers. Theirs is a story of pioneer life, tragedy, and triumphant survival. This commemorative site was the heart of the 17th and 18th century Acadian village that became the scenic setting for Longfellow's narative poem Evangeline. A Visitor Reception and Interpretation Centre opened in September 2003 with new interpretation exhibits and a multimedia theater. Take time to walk in the superb flower gardens and admire the beautiful scenery. You will be charmed by the natural beauty of the surroundings.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very well done”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The interpretation centre is large well lit and the guides are very professional. The grounds around the church are beautifully manicured and easy to navigate.
The park guides are witty and will answer all questions.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    89
    15
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful historical site”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

If you are planning a visit to the Annapolis Valley, the Grand Pre historical site is definitely a must see. The visitor centre has a great exhibit showing the history of the Acadians and the Grand Expulsion. The grounds are beautiful as well as the church. A great place to have a picnic or take some photos.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank dljeff81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
337 reviews
174 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“We finally visited Grand Pre!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have driven by Grand Pre before, but this time we decided to stop and visit it. We are glad we did. We arrived just in time to get the 2 o'clock tour (there was also a 10:30 tour in English -- I believe that the French tours were at 11:30 and 3:00). Amy, our tour guide, did an amazing job of explaining the dikes that the Arcadians built and giving a history of the Arcadian deportation.

There was a interesting film (22 minutes) on the Arcadians. Then you could visit a museum, a church, a black smith shop, lovely grounds and gardens, and some statues. Because of the hour long tour, we spent about 3 hours at Grand Pre and learned a great deal.

I didn't like the earphones that we had to use for the movies and some of the displays in the museum. They seemed very old and used.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank bcnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice historic site”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

This site was bigger than we originally expected. Very nice and the tour and the movie help understand the situation in those days. We took our picnic lunch on the grounds where they have nice trees and picnic tables to use. Overall we had a very good time.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank doesntmatter_98224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hard to get to but worth it”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had to arrange our own tour from our cruise ship but it was definitely worth it. You might have to rent a car to get there. It is about 45 minutes from Halifax. Unfortunately the government has cut some of the funding for the society that gives tours but there is an excellent film about the ejection of the French by the British. It is a beautiful place in a very fascinating area. Gorgeous farmland crated by levees, an area with one of the highest tides, and a history that most of us don't know anything about.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LRose49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Pre National Historic Site also viewed

Wolfville, Southwest Nova Scotia
Kentville, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Grand Pre, Southwest Nova Scotia
Grand Pre, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Grand Pre National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing