We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let's Get Serious”
Review of Beach Breeze Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Breeze Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grand Pre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is hard because so many people like this place and first the good part. The room seem clean and it is hard to beat the view of the tide change. Friendly service and welcoming. I'd say it was build in the mid 40s and looks every bit of it including all the furnishings -- all every worn and faded. Quaint might be the right description. Seems like it would not take a ton of money to brighten things up, The biggest turn off is the outside where changes could be made at nearly no cost (except for the swimming pool that is ancient and is sadly probably beyond repair). There is trash here and there -- an old piece of carpet against the pool, lines of trash cans, dirt where the grass has worn away. It is like the outside along the building is the storage area. You are here mainly for the view so why not have everything clean and happy as opposed to inspired by a trailer park. This could be a gem if the furnishings where brightened up and the grounds cleaned. Otherwise, despite the view it is a bit of a downer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don B, Owner at Beach Breeze Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Firstly, this is a historic older building. We as new owners(this is our 9th season), are constantly upgrading both the inside and outside of our motel. Our priority has always been to make the rooms as clean and as comfortable as possible. We have added new microwaves, coffee makers and mini-fridges, along with replacing the box springs and mattresses. The rooms reflect a cozy, cottage type setting. We have not tried to make this motel into anything other than what it is.
As for the pool, it is usually up and running by the first week in July. However, because of the tropical storm, work was totally delayed by at least one week. Please see pictures of the pool from other years.

The outside of the building, is usually more pleasing, however, the tropical storm hit us hard and it is taking a bit for us to recover. These are not meant to be excuses.

On the more positive side, we did take note of your comments about location-5/5;cleanliness-5/5;and service-5/5. We want to say thank you for those comments and really appreciate them very much.

Thanks for visiting with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Don & Patsy
Owners
Beach Breeze Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

We arrived at the Beach Breeze Motel around 7:30 in the evening on July 10th of this year. As we were driving down the road to the motel; we knew we had picked the perfect spot to spend our 33rd anniversary. The motel is situated right on the water and the view is spectacular. There are benches and picnic tables overlooking the water. We took our morning tea outside and sat by the ocean. We stayed in Room 1, the room was spotless and spacious with a microwave, fridge and coffee maker. The bed was very comfortable and there was an air conditioner but with the beautiful breeze from the ocean we did not need to use it. It was very peaceful and serene at night listening to the waves splashing against the rocks. Don was very friendly and we had a nice chat in the morning before leaving. I would highly recommend this motel to anyone who wants to stay by the ocean and the price is very reasonable. In fact we liked it so much we are going back this week for another night.

Thanks Don and Patsy

Kim F.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimmie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Chosen for its location, the stand out memory remains the courtesy. Arrived after Hurricane Arthur reorganized a family wedding into a candlelight occasion. Late, dark,tired, no water, no power, cancellations evident by all but 2 cars, but still a key. We slept well, awoke to the wonder of sun and the view and no power, branches strewn. Yet, the owner appeared bearing fresh coffee, a jug of sanitary water and a bucket leaving us prepared to face our day! Amending the bill for Mother Nature's interruptions was welcome, but the graciousness and consideration will be remembered.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ramson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don B, Owner at Beach Breeze Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thanks for visiting and being so patient and understanding during a very difficult time during the tropical storm. You both were great and really appreciated by both Patsy and myself. It would be our good fortune to see you sometime again in the future. All the Best !!

Don & Patsy
Beach Breeze Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on a businesses trip and was pleasantly surprised. It It's a beautiful setting with a great view of the water and sunsets. The room was very clean (cleaner than the chain hotels I stay at in the states) and the owners are very friendly. It is just minutes away from some great restaurants (Love Paddy's Pub) and a gorgeous overlook of the valley and water.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciasanril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Grand Pre is a nice little area. Nearby is a cute small town. The motel is right on the water. You can watch the tide come in and out or walk way out into the basin when the tide is low. Our room had a fireplace, satellite/cable tv, wi-fi, kitchen sink, regular sized refrigerator, microwave, plates etc. Please keep in mind that it is a motel, not a four star hotel. We stayed there to get away from city life. Yes, it is a bit rustic and the beds weren't the best, but that's shouldn't be a surprise. Didn't have any problem sleeping. Don (the operator) is around and very nice.

Room Tip: Get room that faces the basin. Worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Beach Breeze Motel brought relief from the heat of the day. The serene scene of Blomidon across the Bay made up for our long day trip from Annapolis Royal. Room #7 was equipped with a refrigerator, a microwave, an electric coffee maker, a ceiling fan and stand-up fan. Despite the proximity to a summer trailer park, quietness reigned. Early in the tourist season this place offered a good night’s sleep. The operator was congenial. We would go here again for an overnite stay.

Room Tip: Apparently if you use the air conditioner, there is a fee; I do not think there should be a fee on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graceNewBrunswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don B, Owner at Beach Breeze Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Patsy and I both thank you for visiting !! We would love to see you return some day !! Thanks again,
Don & Patsy
Beach Breeze Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Looking for a vacation spot for this year I came upon this sites review page , so although its been awhile since our visit here I figured I would share our experience from when we stayed here.
The view was great ... hard to go wrong with a location like that. Was great to have the fridge and microwave in the room. The room was very clean. So that was the good.
Now for the bad. The bed was so uncomfortable neither of us could sleep on it. We even tried putting the mattresses off both beds on top of each other and it still was horrible. We had to go out and buy an air mattress to put over the bed so we could sleep after that first night. When our vacation was over we arrived home to find a message on our answering machine wanting to know why we stole their shampoo and we better return it or they would charge our credit card for it. I returned their call and told them to look under the sink for their shampoo.. which they must have done as they never charged us for the shampoo that they would have found if they looked for it,... so that was good.
All in all I would never go back and would not recommend it to anyone....unless your a bald vampire and don't sleep anyways.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ayjai Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don B, Owner at Beach Breeze Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review response. I am sorry you did not have a comfortable nights sleep. As your stay was last August,2013, it is very difficult to address your concern We are constantly upgrading our box springs and mattresses and as I am not sure which room you occupied, I cannot say for sure, if you had a room with newer mattresses. It is very difficult to get a mattress that suits all people, as you are aware. We get many compliments, from other visitors, on how quiet, and peaceful their sleep was.

Again, I apologize for you lack of a peaceful nights sleep.
However, I wish to thank you for your other positive responses: Value 3/5;cleanliness;4/5;location;4/5; and service 3/5.

We are not perfect as owners, by any means. We do however, take a great deal of pride in offering a clean, comfortable and reasonably priced accommodation

Thanks,
Don & Patsy
Owners/Operators
Beach Breeze Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Pre
6.0 mi away
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wolfville
332 reviews
9.2 mi away
Slumber Inn
Slumber Inn
#2 of 2 in New Minas
118 reviews
8.4 mi away
Greensboro Inn
Greensboro Inn
#1 of 2 in New Minas
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Super 8 Windsor NS
Super 8 Windsor NS
#1 of 2 in Windsor
338 reviews
2.5 mi away
Evangeline Inn & Motel Inc.
3.7 mi away
Micro Boutique Living Wolfville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Breeze Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Breeze Motel

Address: 127 Evangeline Beach Rd, Grand Pre, Nova Scotia B0P 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Grand Pre
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grand Pre
Price Range: £65 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have beachfront/housekeeping rooms available. They offer two double beds (number 10 has a pull out hide- a-bed in the sun porch area ) and we can provide a cot. The beachfront/housekeeping room has a fully equipped kitchennette with a microwave, full fridge, coffee maker, full tub and shower and a fantastic view! The outer sun room area has a rustic slate stone floor, with lots of sitting area, large windows for the amazing view and a working wall to wall wood burning fireplace. We also have standard rooms available. They have two double beds,mini-fridge,coffee maker and a shower. All rooms have a view of the water ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Beach Breeze Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Breeze Hotel Grand Pre
Beach Breeze Motel Grand Pre, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing