We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Although we had only planned to stay one night, we enjoyed it so much we stayed a second night! Bill and Ann Marie are very friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was delicious! Highly recommend this beautiful home and beautiful area of Nova Scotia.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbiB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
82
330
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2011

.. and this house was great too. Beautifully appointed, comfortable and quiet. Our hosts gave us good advice also, for a fine dinner , an excellent evenings entertainment, and even arranged our next evening's stay in Lunenburg.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K1KA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2011

It felt like we were staying with friends for the weekend. Anne Marie and Bill were so accommodating to my food allergies as well. The bed was extremely comfortable and the house was beautiful. Great location for exploring Annapolis Royal and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindsandPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
176 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Ann Marie and Bill Monk were gracious hosts. From the chocolates on our bed each night, to the nice linens and thick towels, and wake up coffee outside our door each morning we could ask for nothing more. The breakfasts had several delicious courses each morning. Bill was also helpful in making suggestions to help plan our daily activities. We visited the Port Royal NHS, the Melanson Setlement, the Tidal Generating Station, Fort Anne, O'dell House Museum, and the Sinclair Inn and took the cemetary walk one night. We failed to use the Monk's DEET spray and regretted it. We'd liked to have had time for the North Hills Museum and the Fort Anne Gardens. We have already recommended this B&B to several couples we met on out trip.

Room Tip: Our room was the Abigail. It happened to have Charleston decor since the Monks had lived in Charles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molly30087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Nothing is too much trouble for Bill and Anne, a wonderful setting and what a house, like being transported back in time, but with all mod cons. Very knowledgeable about the area and things to see and do, even persuaded my wife to go canoeing in Keji. Breakfast so good, but very Canadian influenced so be prepared to enjoy something different from a traditional British fry up!!!. Why is this only the no2 b&b in Canada, best we have ever stayed at and the bench mark for all future B&B stays. Thank you

Paul and judy Billington
Nottingham, England

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulbbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Bill and Ann are gracious hosts, and their Victorian mansion is lovingly restored, full of heritage antiques. They have lots of local sightseeing information to share, and are helpful with even the smallest details. Gourmet breakfasts were fabulous. A Seafaring Maiden is a treasure you will remember for ever. Granville Ferry is a perfect spot for day trips to Annapolis Royal, the Digby neck, Bear River, and the Annapolis Valley. 5 stars!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamminkeln, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Bill and Ann Marie have acted as perfect hosts. Their way of welcoming and treating guests is examplary. To us it appeared somehow like staying with friends instead of hosts. Their B&B is an experience. Above all the attention granted to us was outstanding. All useful hints regarding restaurants etc. in the vicinity were nicely compiled in a separate reference book. Moreover, Bill and Ann Marie have always been supportive as we hadn't fixed our complete itinerary prior to our arrival at the Seafaring Maiden. Having stayed in other B&B's in NS afterwards it is worth mentioning that other hosts were unable to reach the warmth and attentiveness of Bill and Ann Marie. Both have the ability to convey to visitors the feeling 'you are always welcome'. The mansion itself , the service and breakfast granted and good talks made a difference. Against this background we subsequently offered our dear hosts to pay a visit to us whilst being in Europe. Addressed to any future visitors our advice is as simple as follows: Just do it and enjoy the Seafaring Maiden to the full.
Hedwig & Wolfgang Nikolaus, Germany

Room Tip: Each room is something!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfgang_nikolaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granville Ferry
1.1 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
104 reviews
0.9 mi away
Queen Anne Inn
Queen Anne Inn
#3 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
510 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hillsdale House Inn
Hillsdale House Inn
#2 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bread And Roses Inn
Bread And Roses Inn
#4 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Oak Manor Bed & Breakfast
Grand Oak Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 7 in Granville Ferry
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast

Property: A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5287 Granville Rd, Granville Ferry, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal > Granville Ferry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Granville Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quaint village of Granville Ferry and overlooking the historic town of Annapolis Royal, this beautiful 1881 registered heritage property was home to Sea Captain, Ship Builder, and Merchant, Captain Joseph Hall. All rooms overlook the Annapolis River,Fort Anne and the town of Annapolis Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Seafaring Maiden Bed And Breakfast Granville Ferry, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing