We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B and Wonderful Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B and Wonderful Hosts”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I was fortunate enough to spend 3 nights at A Seafaring Maiden B&B while I was in Granville Ferry for my wedding reception. Bill and Ann Marie are wonderful hosts! They are warm and welcoming, and their breakfasts are delicious! Growing up in the area, I've always admired this historic Victorian home so I was very pleased to finally stay there. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable, and I was lucky enough to stay in the Captain's room which overlooked the Annapolis basin. Besides visiting all the shops and sites in the nearby town of Annapolis Royal, I also recommend to guests to check out Butler's Art Studio across the road from the B&B. Thank you Bill and Ann Marie for the amazing stay, I will see you again soon!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah-Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
82
336
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Bill and Ann-Marie's B&B provides a lovely view and down home setting where you have exceptional service and the most DELICIOUS homemade foods. Very clean establishment and comfortable bed. If your goal is to really get the history and feel of this town and area, The Seafaring Maiden is a local treasure. Excellent stay!

Room Tip: We had a room with a private bathroom, but there is at least one room without one and the occupants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This B&B is the place to stay in or near Annapolis Royal. The rooms are nice and well decorated and the breakfasts are as good as you expect. Our room had a scenic view out the front which looked over the arm of the Bay of Fundy and toward Annapolis Royal. The warm welcome you receive from Bill and Ann Marie, the owners, is truly exceptional. They really make the Seafaring Maiden special. Love the "back story" about the place too Turns out her ancestors built the house in the late 1800's but then moved to Florida. Recently, she and Bill bought the ancestral home and moved to Nova Scotia from South Carolina.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our stay with Bill and AnneMarie at Seafaring Maiden had one problem. We only stayed one night, which wasn't nearly enough time to enjoy this exceptional B&B. It was our mistake not theirs, but we'll make sure that doesn't happen again. They are two of the warmest innkeepers we've ever met, but just as important, their B&B is terrific. Our room was lovely, but it was the bed that gets the best marks ever. When we told them how comfortable the bed was and how well we slept, they said that putting a good mattress in each and every room was one of their priorities. Another feature that we really appreciated was that they had ample electric outlets for all of our gadgets. Usually we fight over the one plug we find behind the bed or behind the desk to charge our batteries, but not at Seafaring Maiden B&B. And last but not least, the breakfast was outstanding. Thank you both so very much for a lovely, lovely stay. We hope to see you again and enjoy your excellent hospitality, and in the meantime we'll recommend you to our friends who are traveling your way. Pam and Bruce, (Match couple)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed two nights at this B&B, right after Arthur stormed through breaking trees and cutting the power. I had a lovely stay and enjoyed Ann Marie and Bill very much. I think it shows the quality of their inn-keeping when a guest can say that about a B&B that had no power for the first night. (Luckily they had a generator that allowed for partial power and a delicious breakfast the next morning; plus they supplied the guests with good flashlights.) They also were very helpful about things to see and do in the area. I was in the Captain's Room, which I found just delightful. This year they built an area by the river to sit and enjoy it passing by. I would stay at this B&B again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a lovely time at this B&B. Our only regret was that we did not stay longer than one night!

The hosts Bill and Ann-Marie are very warm and accommodating. On the day of arrival, we had called ahead to let them know we were running much later than planned, and there was no problem checking in, even after everyone else was already asleep.

The entire place is decorated beautifully, and you can tell that Bill and Ann went through great lengths to create a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. Also, the towels are incredibly soft.

The breakfast was delicious! My wife has a gluten allergy and was treated to some great gluten-free bread, along with the fresh fruits, crispy bacon, and a quiche that was cooked to perfection!

Parking is right across the street from the house, with access to a seating area right on the water. It's a beautiful view. I would highly recommend this spot for anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaysoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffersonville, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our hosts Ann Marie and Bill are two of the nicest people we've met in recent years. We only stayed one night but when we left they seemed like old friends. The room was very nice and the location couldn't have been better. We were there to see the Bay of Fundy tides and this location was ideal. We had to leave early to catch the ferry so Ann Marie fixed us a breakfast in a bag and a hot drink to go. We hope to return again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Bay of Fundy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granville Ferry
1.1 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
108 reviews
0.9 mi away
Queen Anne Inn
Queen Anne Inn
#3 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
520 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hillsdale House Inn
Hillsdale House Inn
#2 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bread And Roses Inn
Bread And Roses Inn
#4 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Oak Manor Bed & Breakfast
Grand Oak Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 7 in Granville Ferry
20 reviews
13.9 mi away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast

Property: A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5287 Granville Rd, Granville Ferry, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal > Granville Ferry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Granville Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quaint village of Granville Ferry and overlooking the historic town of Annapolis Royal, this beautiful 1881 registered heritage property was home to Sea Captain, Ship Builder, and Merchant, Captain Joseph Hall. All rooms overlook the Annapolis River,Fort Anne and the town of Annapolis Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Seafaring Maiden Bed And Breakfast Granville Ferry, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing