We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, fun place to stay with a family.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crown Cove Cottages
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great spot, fun place to stay with a family.”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We spent five nights at the Crown Cove Cottages in late June and enjoyed our stay very much. We were two families each travelling with two young children.

The Cottages themselves are basic but clean and charming. Each cottage had two bedrooms - one with a double bed and another with two twin beds. There is a small living/dining area (with a futon couch) and a small kitchen. Large clean fridge. Each cottage featured a balcony with a bbq and some chairs. There was also a picnic table and fire pit per cottage.

The highlight of the stay for us was the large expansive grass area in front of all the cottages. The children loved playing on the play structures and just basically running around. (It made for early bedtimes for the little ones so that the parents could enjoy some adult time sitting on the porches and enjoying the view!).

We appreciated the friendly and helpful proprietors. It was nice to have a laundry available too. It would be nice to have some additional amenities in the kitchens - such as wine glasses or a potato masher but these are minor points.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: All the cottages have good views but cottage 1 has no cottages in front of it so may be a good choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guzadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    5
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a great time with our three young children. They enjoyed the grounds; especially the playground, pool and fire pit. So close to Upper Clements Park as well. I would highly recommend these cottages. Wonderful view and the go karts next door were also a hit!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I brought a group of youth on a volunteer trip to the area last June and we stayed at Crown Cove. The cottages were spacious, clean and had everything we needed. The proprietors went out of their way to accommodate our large group. Even in the rain, the kids had a great time!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaniceC251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Unfortunately the first thing I noticed in our cabin when we entered, #6, were lots of bug guts smeared on the ceiling in the living room. Not impressed with the overall feel of the cabin, didn't feel comfy or cozy. Should add some lamps instead of bright fans with no shades!! Maybe a sofa and a comfortable chair rather than a futon and wingback. Great location and loved the river access. Can't say much to the service as we had to track down someone, the owner I guess on arrival, who directed us to the cottage. Once we unloaded we had to go find him to get a key. That was literally the last we saw of anyone. When we left two days later, we just left the key on the table as no one was around. Glad we didn't have an issues when we were there, since there was no one to help anyway. Won't stay here again. Wasn't expecting five star Hilton atmosphere, but cleaner and more cozy would be nice. :(

Room Tip: Clean the ceilings and windows, add some comfy furniture and lamps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, Manager at Crown Cove Cottages, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
It is hard to get a balance between comfort and practicality for all travelling guests who stay at our cottages. As most of our guests are families with children, we set the cottages up for them. Providing bright clean rooms, and quality furniture that will take the wear and tear of family use.

The lights are bright to to allow for good visibility inside, we also are environmentally friendly and the bulbs that were provided by NS Power efficiency program were too long for us to put the shades back on. We chose to remain green and leave them off. Lamps would not be practical as they would get broken with family use, we have tried them in the past and they are not safe with children running around.

Timing was unfortunate during your stay, someone arrived at the office after you left each day and before you came back. We do not tend to remain on site as we like our guests to have their privacy but we are not more than 2 minutes away when someone calls with any enquirers or needing assistance. No calls were placed to us to respond to or provide assistance for.

Our cottages are renowned for being very clean and we pride ourselves on this. It was an over-site by the cleaner that a fly that was swatted on the ceiling by the previous guest was missed when cleaning. The cleaner has been asked to look up more often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Rustico, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Crown Cottages was a great pet-friendly choice for our few days away. The cottage was spotless with lots of fluffy white towels, hot water, comfortable beds and a lovely view of the Annapolis River and hills beyond. Diana was very helpful through the booking process and her welcome didn't disappoint, especially after a long journey. She provided us with towels for our two dogs, assuring us to ask for more if we needed them. The cottages are close to Annapolis Royal and many other activities - historic gardens, scenic walks, museums and lots, lots more.

Room Tip: Cottage #1 has an uninterrupted view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I am very happy with our choice to go to Crown Cove cottages for the weekend! The cottages and grounds were excellent. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. Cottage was very close to all sorts of activities. Excellent spot for kids! My 21 month old enjoyed the cottages and flat property as he likes to run! I highly recommend these cottages and will definitely be a returning customer!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

we had a very enjoyable time at this location ,with the fantastic cottages ,,peaceful area and view of the river.. the manager was more than helpful for any and all that was required
we will return for sure

Room Tip: change nothing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granville Ferry
2.3 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
108 reviews
14.9 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
2.6 mi away
Mountain Top Cottages & Campground
Mountain Top Cottages & Campgrou...
#1 of 4 in Granville Ferry
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Upper Clements Cottages
Upper Clements Cottages
#2 of 9 in Annapolis Royal
47 reviews
13.1 mi away
Still Point Lodge & Cottages
Still Point Lodge & Cottages
#3 of 9 in Annapolis Royal
9 reviews
1.5 mi away
Queen Anne Inn
Queen Anne Inn
#3 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Cove Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Cove Cottages

Property: Crown Cove Cottages
Address: 4752 Highway 1, Granville Ferry, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal > Granville Ferry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Granville Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crown Cove Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation by the river at Crown Cove Cottages, Nova Scotia. Located in the Annapolis Valley near the beautiful Bay of Fundy and Annapolis Basin. Spacious grounds, relax by the heated pool. Relax in the evening on the deck with a river view and watch the sun set. Surrounded by excellent facilities, and attractions. Check in is 3pm and Check out is 11am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Crown Cove Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Cove Cottages Granville Ferry, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing