We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food in Annapolis!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sweet Secret Restaurant - CLOSED

Sweet Secret Restaurant
Price range: US$9 - US$20
Cuisines: German, Mediterranean, European, Central European, Eastern European, Croatian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best food in Annapolis!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

We ate here with our two kids and its not really geared towards family dinning. They did not have a kids menu never the less the kids shared an appetizer and a side of fries and devoured everything for the first time during our Annapolis trip! And their plates even came out with happy faces made out of tomatoes and carrots!!! My husband and I had the schnitzel and it was awesome! This was a really lovely place. I'm glad we stopped there on our last night in Annapolis.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nursemelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    12
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great European fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Loved the schnitzel, Digby scallops, chicken Cordon Blue, crepes, strudel, and Black Forest cake. This is not a "fancy" dining establishment, but for those who appreciate European fare, the food is worth the stop. I was hoping to have the type of boiled potatoes usually served with schnitzel in Europe....my only suggestion.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank m0m23b0ys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“European flavour just down the road.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have visited Sweet Secret Restaurant a few times and introduced to our friends who, like us, are very familiar with European cuisine. The has been very positive comments and they continually ask when we can do it again. Whether for a quiet dinner as a couple or as a group gathering we have never come away hungry or disappointed. The food is fantastic, the prices are very reasonable and the only negative point is that the restaurant closes during the winter months so we have to do without until the spring. Very highly recommended, particularly to those who have spent time in Europe and want to taste food at its finest.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EdandOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis Royal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Secret's out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

One of my top 'most memorable' dining experiences in the region. Quaint unpretentious, pleasant dining experience. The Mushroom Schnitzel is unbelievably good! Don't miss this one.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Annapolis-Oenophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granville Ferry, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real Schnitzel, Real Black Forest Cake!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

The owners came to Canada from Croatia over 20 years ago. Among other things they run this delightful little restaurant. The furniture and the setting has a pine-and-lace-curtain, rural feel to it. Dubravko has a very pleasant, gentle manner at table, but the really sweet secret is Dragitsa in the kitchen. Her Wiener Schnitzel is the real thing: veal thinly sliced, lightly breaded and deep-fried to perfection. I haven't really sampled as much of the menu as I should have because I keep coming back to the schnitzel. And then there's the Black Forest Cake. The last time I had Black Forest Cake this good was in a little German restaurant in Red Deer, Alberta about 35 years ago. Most desserts calling themselves Black Forest Cake are gooey disappointments. Ah, but at the Sweet Secret the Black Forest Cake is echt. I would definitely recommend the Sweet Secret to a friend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sweet Secret Restaurant also viewed

Granville Ferry, Annapolis Royal
Granville Ferry, Annapolis Royal
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing