We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DesBarres Manor Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Guysborough B&B and Inns
Bedford, NS
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We needed a quiet week-end break, so we chose the DesBarres Manor Inn for the occasion. Great choice! The small village is becoming quite picturesque and with the setting overlooking Chedabucto Bay, it is hard to go wrong, as this is an amazingly beautiful body of water on our coast. The only down side of the village was the great looking pub, becoming well known for its craft beers, is closed for the season. Go figure!
The Inn itself is quite stately in a laid back way, the rooms were large and welcoming and the beds very comfortable. After a long drive along the Eastern Shore, it was great to be well received by the staff, given a tour of the Inn and escorted to our room. The evening meal was a set four course meal and can only be described as excellent. We travel quite a bit both for work and pleasure and this we both rated as our best dinner in memory. The flavours, quality and presentation were outstanding and we will be going back, long drive or not! Breakfast in the morning was also very enjoyable and as we left the Inn we both had a smile which said we had scored a winner. Highly recommended for a couple wanting a lovely get away.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maclej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    15
    2
    7
    0
See reviews for
7
45
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Summerside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

This was by far one of the best Inns I've ever been to. The food was outstanding and Chef Joe was not just cooking but making a piece of art - his plating was wonderful. The quality of service and friendliness of all the staff was refreshing and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SummersideHobbitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Head Of Chezzetcook
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

DesBarres Manor Inn is a little off the beaten path but well-worth the trip to Guysborough. The Inn is beautiful in its decor. Large spacious rooms are equipped with all the modern conveniences (it was actually our third time at the Inn). Our room was located at the back of the house (#10) on the third floor. Although it was a warm evening, no AC was required thanks to the cool breeze. The deep soaker tub was a welcome relief from the day of travelling, as was the comfortable bed. A complete breakfast was served the following morning. Fine dining in the evening is available with an advance reservation, however we chose to take a short stroll to the Rare Bird Pub (same owner as the Inn). We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: There is no elevator at the Inn. Our room was on the third floor - two full flights of stairs with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 902Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We loved DesBarres Manor Inn in tiny Guysborough, Nova Scotia! The house is gorgeous and has been restored to it's original 1837 glory. Our only tiny complaint would be that the upstairs rooms are not air-conditioned and while that would not be a problem most of the time, it was awfully hot while we were there! But, that being said, we would not hesitate to return! While the house is wonderful, the dinners were out of this world!!! Chef Joe MacLellan is an artist! The winners of the TV show Top Chef have nothing on Joe! We had THE BEST food in our lives and one of the nights he was cooking just for us! Amazing! Fabulous!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateJ55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Had a weekend with 10 friends and it was wonderful. Even had the whole Inn to ourselves when staff went home. The chef was a cuiinary graduate and showed his stuff. Our group was into good food and he took chances which we appreciated. Not for the picky eater. We loved it. Rooms need new carpeting or a cleaning and/or resurface the old floors otherwise excellant. Staff excellant and went out of their way to help making up feel right at home. We are hikers so there were trails and a few interesting places to go. Would recommend this as a quiet place to get away and/or romantic weekend. Not for the city people.

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk up 2 flights choose on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avalily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

The inn was inviting and very comfortable. Our Sable Room was lovely with antique furnishings, very roomy and the windows open wide. The carpet needs to be replaced, it is badly stained, but otherwise the room was very clean.

The dining, however, was the main feature that left my husband and I astounded. The dinner is preset and when I booked our room I indicated that I had dietary issues but my husband would enjoy whatever was prepared. Joe MacLellan, the Chef, prepared fabulous 5 course dinners. We each had totally different meals. Each course was splendid and he had used only fresh ingredients and each item was made from scratch, right down to the marshmallows in the dessert.

Our breakfasts were excellent and again my dietary issues were addressed.

Service was prompt and pleasant in the dining room and at check-in and check-out.

We felt the rooms were pricey considering the location of the inn but the dinner was well worth the $55.00 per person.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwc60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stopped in Guysborough on our way to the Cabot Trail. Unfortunalty nothing on the rest of our vacation measured up to this lovely Inn. The dinner we had was one of the best meals we have ever been served. Every course was exquisite. The chef would be welcome in any 5 star hotel. The room was lovely, well appointed and quite roomy and the service was excellent. It would be #1 on my list of placesnto stay in Nova Scotia!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHowell9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guysborough
17.1 mi away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
24.4 mi away
Coastal Inn Antigonish
Coastal Inn Antigonish
#3 of 6 in Antigonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
13.0 mi away
SeaWind Landing Country Inn
SeaWind Landing Country Inn
#1 of 5 in Guysborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Mackenzie House Tourist Home
Mackenzie House Tourist Home
#3 of 5 in Port Hawkesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
22.0 mi away
Sea'scape Cottages
Sea'scape Cottages
#1 of 1 in Bayfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
18.4 mi away
Capeway Motel
Capeway Motel
#2 of 3 in Port Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DesBarres Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DesBarres Manor Inn

Property: DesBarres Manor Inn
Address: 90 Church Street, Guysborough, Nova Scotia B0H 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Guysborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Guysborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DesBarres Manor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named by The Toronto Sun as "one of 9 of the most romantic hotels in Canada", DesBarres Manor Inn brings together the style of a boutique hotel with the warmth of a country inn. Built in 1837 as the residence for Supreme Court Justice W.F. DesBarres, this restored manor home features 10 luxurious guests rooms, an award-winning fireside dining room and elegant common rooms on six acres of grounds in the heart of the charming seaside village of Guysborough. Recipient of the Nova Scotia Cuisine of the Year and seven Wine Spectator Awards of Excellence, DesBarres Manor Inn offers simple, direct and honest food that captures the flavours and traditions of our Nova Scotia region. The Inn offers a range of special getaway packages including cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your DesBarres Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desbarres Manor Hotel Guysborough
DesBarres Manor Inn Nova Scotia/Guysborough, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing