We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highland Village

Highland Village
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Iona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the lifestyle of the Scots in Nova Scotia at the Village's Outdoor Pioneer Museum or look up your Cape Breton roots at the Genealogy and Family History Centre. The Highland Village is situated on a beautiful site overlooking the Bras d'Or Lakes and is open from May to mid October.
Truro, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Friendly, Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This place is filled with good history, informative people and those who are ultimately very thoughtful. They well embody the Cape Breton spirit and show some heavens honest dedication to the original culture of Cape Breton and all that it means to go in to spend time.

It is a bit of a walk up the first hill, but beyond that there is those who are well worth the time to listen to. Their knowledge and the enjoyment of those who were around, and everyone I could find had not a bad thing to say about it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxMacDonald, Public Relations Manager at Highland Village, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
It is certainly wonderful to hear your comments, Ashley! The staff work hard to provide a great experience and to hear you describe their efforts as " informative people ... who are ultimately very thoughtful." is very rewarding for them. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    59
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Briliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

A beautiful location, engaging and well-informed staff, a visit to this location is definitely worth the drive. Starting with a bit of a walk up a steep hill, the rest is smooth sailing through old style buildings and costumed staff that put you in a different era offering different stories and experiences dependent on their relative time period.

I'm by no means a history enthusiast but this was definitely enjoyable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SparkyFoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxMacDonald, Public Relations Manager at Highland Village, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for writing. I\m glad that you pointed out you don't have to be a "history enthusiast" to enjoy a visit to the Highland Village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very enjoyable way to spend a few hours. You need to be fairly mobile as the exhibits are situated on a hill and you walk between each building. The people who are part of the experience are in character and explain what their story is and how it relates to the period of time and how Nova Scotia developed over the years.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TandyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxMacDonald, Public Relations Manager at Highland Village, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit with us. It is also good that you pointed out that the Village is situated on a hill with a stunning view of the Bras d'Or lakes. We welcome anyone with mobility issues to drive to the church parking lot at the top of the hill to enjoy their visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulfport, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We were here in mid June, and had the place almost to ourselves, so we spent most of the day soaking it in and talking with the excellent staff, who were in character for the times, and very friendly and well informed. We were delighted to enjoy a caleigh (song, story, and visiting) where we were the only visitors for most of it, so got to really talk with the 4 wonderful artists. We learned so much, and, most importantly, were able to be alone and quiet to put ourselves back into time with our ancestors.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank storyfolks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxMacDonald, Public Relations Manager at Highland Village, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
It sounds like you had a very special visit with us. The quiet you describe is something we don't experience that often these days. It reminds us that our ancestors lived a very different lifestyle than we do in this fast paced world!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
“A Must See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a spot you have to take in when you are on Cape Breton. The scenery is breathtaking. Staff know their history and they do a great job of portraying their forefathers.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HungryTraveller480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hviona, Front Office Manager at Highland Village, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for the kind words. We are fortunate to live and work in such a beautiful location and work hard to tell the story of our ancestors who settled here. I am glad that your experience was a good one and hope you will return to visit with us again. We have a full list of fun education and special events this summer. This is a link to a list of them. https://highlandvillage.novascotia.ca/events-experiences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Highland Village also viewed

 
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Highland Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing