We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant historical living museum”
Review of Highland Village

Highland Village
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Iona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the lifestyle of the Scots in Nova Scotia at the Village's Outdoor Pioneer Museum or look up your Cape Breton roots at the Genealogy and Family History Centre. The Highland Village is situated on a beautiful site overlooking the Bras d'Or Lakes and is open from May to mid October.
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Spent a few hours here. The village is very interesting going from the type of housing of the scots in Scotland through a variety of dwellings in Nova Scotia from their initial arrival through the 19th century. The buildings were well maintained and the animators were excellent. As a plus the views of the lake from the top of the "village" are excellent.

Thank Art H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxMacDonald, Public Relations Manager at Highland Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

What a pleasure to hear from someone all the way from North Carolina! You have quite a history of Scottish settlement there as well. It was great to read your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 171 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

Although I've from the local area, our trip to the Highland Village was worth a re-visit. The animators were in every interpretive home and the blacksmith was tending his craft. The walk through the village is self-guided, telling the story of our Celtic ancestors from their clearance in Scotland to their settlement in Cape Breton up to the mid 1900's. The scenery is breathtaking, even on a cloudy day your camera will not rest. Our grandchildren enjoyed it immensely, from watching the carpenter making a wooden spoon, the woman spinning wool to the blacksmith making hooks and nails; and sitting in an early 1900 school house. The animator/interpreters answered any question and told of their experiences living in 1800 or 1900's. You can spend an hour or two here and not be disappointed. An experience not to be missed- rain or shine!!!

Thank GBrown_CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxMacDonald, Public Relations Manager at Highland Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

It's great to hear that you are from the local area. Too often we tend to overlook the wonderful experiences available in our back yard and opt for adventure farther afield. Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The timeline, from Scotland to Cape Breton and through the decades, is meaningfully depicted in the collection of period houses and by the interpreters of their appointed eras. This is an easy detour on Cape Breton, whichever direction you are headed. It's a must-see if you are interested in the many immigrant stories of the Canadian Maritimes.

Thank ao-at-peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxMacDonald, Public Relations Manager at Highland Village, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Telling the story of Gaelic settlement in Nova Scotia is a passion for the interpreters at the Highland Village. This is, in part, because they are telling the story of their ancestors. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit to the Highland Village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Highland Village is a recreated Celtic Village in Iona, located along the beautiful Bras D'or lakes. There is a short video in the Visitor Centre/Gift Shop, that is well worth seeing before beginning the self-guided tour of the site. It chronicles over a four-century period, the history of the Scottish people who immigrated to Canada, beginning in their native country and traces their arrival and development as a culture in Canada until the early 20th century. Staff are in period costumes and interact with visitors 'in character'. We got lucky with our timing, such that my wife was able to participate in the afternoon milling frolic.

Thank driftdiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxMacDonald, Public Relations Manager at Highland Village, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for visiting with us and taking the time to write about your experience. I am so glad your wife was able to participate in a milling frolic. This takes place on a daily basis at the Village. The Gaelic songs and stories of our ancestors are so very important to us. We are also excited that so many young people are learning this history and language.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

It is a self-guided place but there are interpreters dressed in costumes around to answer any questions. We really enjoyed our visit - there was a music festival for that Saturday and that was a treat. Take your time to walk through the village. The person at the blacksmith was very informative about people in the blacksmith trade.

Thank mhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxMacDonald, Public Relations Manager at Highland Village, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

I'm so pleased you were able to take in the Highland Village Day Concert while you were here. This was the 53rd edition of the event. Thank you for telling us about your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Highland Village also viewed

 
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Highland Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing