We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent family run motel in residential road”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Allen's Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kentville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Allen's Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kentville
Lochcarron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent family run motel in residential road”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I was impressed with the quality of accommodation that I had found in Nova Scotia. The friendly welcome, the facilities provided and value for money too, so it was here at Allen's Motel, an extremely attractive and well run establishment. Since 1971 owned by the same family, initially 22 years by Jessie & Arthur Oakley, now by their son Michael and his wife Joan carrying on the family tradition, but who are now themselves near retiring.

The grounds and property are really well kept and the Innkeepers living on site ensures it stays that way, it really does have that family feel throughout. The basic units are in a line on the left, there's also suites, an upstairs room in the house and a cottage too. Mine was room 7 near the end of the main block looking from the entrance. The room had windows to front and rear, with desk, wired internet, telephone and separate bathroom. All shown in my pictures.

On the other side of the main drive is the office and reception as well as the breakfast room. It's been a tradition from the start that Allen's Motel serves a specific breakfast and it's only $3.50, the large tables are beautifully laid out with china in a very homely way. It's cooked and served by the owners themselves, it's such a lovely atmosphere too, certainly worth the experience alone.

Breakfast consists of a poached double-yolk egg on toast with local smoked back bacon. Toast, homemade jams, A choice of juice and coffee, tea or milk rounds off the menu. A very special place, I stayed two nights and sure I will return when in that area again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuartholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    13
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
31
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
198 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Normally when we visit the Annapolis valley we stay with friends. This year that option was not available, but we stayed at Allen's Motel which was almost the same thing. The property with its gardens and bird feeders is delightful, and as commented by others the rooms are clean and bright with tv wifi air conditioning assigned parking. Traditional motels like this one are gradually giving way to big chain motel/hotels, big signs and flashing lights perched on every big highway exit. But we much prefer the quieter, nicer, more relaxing accommodations in communities like Kentville away from the highway were you can walk and explore local stores and pubs and restaurants. Allen's is one of those places. We appreciated the good value and the seniors discount.

Oh and by the way you can't beat the breakfast. Check out the memorabilia on the walls, talk to your hosts and other guests over juice, coffee, toast with home made bread + jam, poached egg on back bacon, great start to your day for a reasonable price of CDN$3.50 . (Try finding a price like that at a drive thru:-)

All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
343 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

This is a semi budget hotel with assigned parking outside your door. The rooms are clean but nothing fancy, bathrooms are small with a smaller shower (narrow with no elbow room), and each room has AC and a ceiling fan. There is free WiFi and breakfast is excellent for only $3.50 (no menu, same for everyone). The lady that runs the place is very friendly and will try to accommodate your needs. The grounds are well kept and it’s quiet at night. Be warned that the beds are hard for those who don’t like that. They accept CAA/AAA for a discount. There was no hairdryer in the room but they do have coffee machines.

Room Tip: ask if some rooms have a larger shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luv2travel_RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halton Hills, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

This has to have been the best place we stay the whole time we were in Nova Scotia and we stayed at the Four Points Sheridan in Halifax and The Dundee resort to mention two.

The Allen's Motel was the cleanest place we have ever stayed at, bright clean rooms, I am sure they must have redone the bathrooms as they were so nice and clean also and goodness the TV was HD/LG TV :-) great TV reception. The Four Points Sheridan was old fashion definably not HD very poor choice of channels too. Dundee had old fashion tube TV about 20" and very poor quality and choices of channels.

The Allen's had a little laundry area for guest to use, unlike the one at Dundee that didn't work, we ended up there having to hang our cloths on the deck to dry. And Dundee is not a cheap place to stay.

Parking was free for guest unlike the Four Points that charged us 20 dollar a night to park at their hotel, where else where we gonna park? The Allen's Motel had the choice of wireless or connected internet, better than Four Points which as wireless, slow and not working the day we were there.

The Dundee, well that was so sad, the only place you could get on line was at one little area on the way to the dinning room, not one cottage had wireless. The the cottage we stayed at rated a 2 on a scale of 1 - 10 for bright and clean.

The Allen's Motel rates a 10, they even disinfect the remotes between users. They also bless them have a Gazebo set up for people like my hubby who still smoke.
Yes he knows its bad, and doesn't smoke in our house either but I thought it was so nice and considerate of them to provide a nice covered area for him to use so he didn't feel like a piece of poop for still being a smoker.

They also have a lovely breakfast at very very reasonable price and it was very good. I has also taken ill with vertigo and they were very nice and caring and gave us the information to find the nearest walk in clinic. I am happy to say I am well again.

The price to stay at the Allen's Motel was very reasonable too. We would very highly recommend if you are in that area of Nova Scotia to stay at the Allen's Motel, we would again any time.

The Hayes
Halton Hills Ontario Canada

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

On first impressions, this motel lived up to its (mostly) rave reviews. The room was in the new part of the complex, clean, fresh and spacious. We were able to park the car right outside the room making it very convenient to transfer luggage upstairs. However, upon retiring to bed the "security" light outside our bedroom window floodlit the entire room and hummed loudly until it mercifully went off at midnight. We brought this issue to the attention of the male owner who dismissed it by saying "you have to have one, it's the rules". If that is the case, why is a security light necessary for rooms 11 & 12 when there aren't any others on the property? Secondly, why aren't the occupants able to turn it off when it's convenient for them? The stairs are already well-lit with solar lights so the additional floodlight is completely unnecessary. And thirdly, we have travelled widely throughout Nova Scotia staying in various accommodations and have never come across a security light of this kind so we can only conclude that every other motel/B&B must be breaking "the rules". In addition to this, the bed and pillows were so hard it was impossible to sleep soundly and we both woke up with stiff backs/necks. All in all, a very poor experience and even worse customer service from the owner.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 11 & 12 like the plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OzMaryAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellarton, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Our family stayed at the Allen Motel during the Gunn Tournie. We stayed in Room 8 which had two double beds, microwave, fridge. The room was spotless and quite large. We also enjoyed the breakfast for 3.50. It was absolutely lovely. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 8 is quite large and close to laundry and ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Halefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay so much that we stayed an extra night! Wonderfully quaint motel that has been maintained to high standards! Exceptionally clean, with excellent beds and well stocked kitchen. Excellent customer service from check in to check out! We arrived in unusual 30 degree weather and Joanne and Michael, the very gracious owners made sure the A/C had been turned on before we arrived-what a great welcome. The grounds are beautiful and breakfast was delicious - only $3.50 each! As a previous review said, it is a bed and breakfast atmosphere with wonderful people and the privacy of a motel.
We chose this motel based on great reviews and we were meeting up with family who were visiting in that area. We visited Halifax, Lunenburg and Peggys Cove-all were an hour to hour and half away. We missed Halls Harbour and Grand Pre but will be back and will definitely stay at Allens again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetotravelWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kentville
3.2 mi away
Slumber Inn
Slumber Inn
#2 of 2 in New Minas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
6.0 mi away
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wolfville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
21.0 mi away
Aurora Inn
Aurora Inn
#1 of 1 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Greensboro Inn
Greensboro Inn
#1 of 2 in New Minas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
11.0 mi away
Beach Breeze Motel
Beach Breeze Motel
#1 of 1 in Grand Pre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
7.5 mi away
Victoria's Historic Inn
Victoria's Historic Inn
#5 of 10 in Wolfville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allen's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allen's Motel

Property: Allen's Motel
Address: 384 Park St, Kentville, Nova Scotia B4N 1M9, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Kentville
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kentville
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Allen`s Hotel Kentville
Allens Hotel Kentville
Allen's Motel Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing