We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”
Review of Amber Rose Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mahone Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amber Rose Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Mahone Bay B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at the Amber Rose for 2 nights in August - Wendy and George were wonderful hosts - we spent 2 evenings on the back verandah socializing with them. Wendy provided gourmet breakfasts and is obviously interested in creative cooking. The B&B is attached to an art gallery and was tastefully decorated - bed was comfortable - we highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoFourCorners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
16
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Our stay at the Amber Rose Inn proved to be a wonderful experience. Accommodations were very comfortable, the breakfasts were excellent and the hostess and host proved to be most charming. We felt welcome and spoiled and it quickly became evident that our hosts enjoy sharing and exchanging stories with guests and trying to be helpful in every way. The added bonus is that Wendy, the hostess is a talented artist whose adjacent art gallery is an experience unto itself. Our stay couldn't have been better, and therefore, we definitely recommended most highly!

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are quiet and confortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndmarCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy T, Owner at Amber Rose Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank-you for your generous comments!!!!!!!!!!!!
Glad you had a good experience and we enjoyed sharing too!!!!!!!!!!!
Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Amber Rose June 28 and 29 and were very impressed with both the accommodations and Wendy. She is a fabulous hostess, eager and willing to help us with anything we needed. Our room, complete with pansy decor, was large, comfortable and a real delight. She gave us a tour of the adjoining art gallery, many of the paintings hers, and the new construction of a suite above the garage. Not to miss - a taller than life sized Santa in the dining room. Her asparagus strata was absolutely delicious and her blueberry whole wheat pancakes a rare treat. Mahone Bay is a quaint little town and the Amber Rose a delightful B&B. We would love to return for another longer visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We were delighted to find this beautiful B&B that accommodated our family (my husband and two kids 13 and 11) for our last vacation night in Nova Scotia. Our room was spacious and charming, and the innkeepers were so gracious and welcoming. Wendy prepared a delicious breakfast of blueberry pancakes (my son's favorite!) and we loved learning about the area. The art gallery at the Inn is wonderful. They are completing construction of a gorgeous retreat at the back of their property that would be ideal for a week or more stay. We hope to come back to this special area and would love to stay there!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My sister and I stayed at several B & B's in Nova Scotia and found the Amber Rose delightful. The beds were comfortable and the spacious room was clean with the little touches that make you feel special such as rose shaped soap and robes in the bathroom and beautiful decorations around the room. Wendy was a wonderful hostess and prepared a delicious breakfast. I really enjoyed the town in Mahone Bay. The shops in the area were really nice and not crowded with tourists like the ones in Lunenberg. We only stayed one night, but would definitely stay there again. I highly recommend the Amber Rose.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant View, Utah, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this charming B&B. There was attention paid to every little detail. The room was big and spacious and very clean. Breakfast was delicious. The hostess of this wonderful Inn is a wonderful and accommodating lady. The attached art gallery is also worth the visit.

Room Tip: Check out their website and look at room photos. Ours was way bigger than it appeared on the web tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My husband and I had planned our last 3 nights of a 10-night trip to Nova Scotia in Lunenberg. We checked into a highly rated B&B there and were immediately turned off by the unfriendly host and the fact that there was no air conditioning. It was hot, wet and humid. Due to asthma triggered by allergies, I simply could not breathe and we left after the first night. We were exceedingly lucky to find the Amber Rose just 10 minutes from Lunenburg in Mahone Bay. Wendy is a warm and gracious host. Her large, yet cozy and clean accommodation, complete with air conditioning and excellent breakfasts, made our last 2 days in Nova Scotia a pleasure. If you're planning a trip to Lunenburg, skip and it stay at the Amber Rose in Mahone Bay instead. Lunenburg is a busy, tourist tacky sea port, whereas Mahone Bay is a quaint little town with great dining and beautiful views. It's only 10-minutes from Lunenburg, so you can still enjoy the fishing, sightseeing and hustle bustle of the wharf if you wish.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ztraveler39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy T, Owner at Amber Rose Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
We are happy we were able to be of service! Thank-you for your very kind remarks! Glad you enjoyed our beautiful Mahone Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahone Bay
6.6 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
294 reviews
6.5 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
237 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fisherman's Daughter
Fisherman's Daughter
#1 of 6 in Mahone Bay
159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairmont House Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Mahone Bay Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Rose Inn

Property: Amber Rose Inn
Address: 319 West Main Street | P.O. Box 450, Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Mahone Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mahone Bay
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Amber Rose Inn Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing