We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fisherman's Daughter
Ranked #1 of 6 Mahone Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My husband and I took 3 elderly family members for a 2 night's stay. It was a "match made in heaven." We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The accommodations, the fantastic breakfasts and the hospitality were great!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

Nestled between two of the three churches, this B&B is in a fantastic location to explore Mahone Bay and stay away from the main busy-ness. From the first moment of our arrival, Willem and Mel made us feel comfortable and welcome. We were delighted to hear the history of this beautiful house. This original structure from the 1800s pre-dated the churches and has so much charm!.

We happened to be celebrating our wedding anniversary as well as a birthday and this was a great location for these events. We were given the Captain's suite which is spacious but still cozy and was on the main floor by the entry. Mel and Wil surprised us with a special treat for our celebration - very kind. The ensuite was fantastic with a claw foot tub and a large walk-in glass and tile shower with a rain head. Great linens on the bed and fluffy towels. Max the dog was friendly and affectionate - all the guests enjoyed his attention and Wil and Mel were careful to ensure everyone's comfort before letting him mingle. As "dog people" we found he capped off a delightful stay.

We took advantage of the rolling lawn to sit on the lawn chairs and admire the view of the bay. There is also a porch on the back side of the house to enjoy if you wish.

Breakfast in the morning was a choice of three items and all choices were plentiful and the local and personal touches were fantastic. fresh-picked blackberries and edible flowers were welcome additions as were Mel's homemade granola bars. We were well-fed and reluctant to leave.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Wer didn't see the other rooms but were delighted with the Captain's Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenFredBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Will and Mel are wonderful hosts with a really homey home. And Max the dog was an instant hit with the kids. Breakfast was fantastic and they were kind enough to accommodate our son's allergies. Also one of the few places welcoming to kids in the area. Located just a minute's drive out of the main patch of business in the town, it was a really peaceful spot. I'd highly recommend it. Questions are welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfryyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My 85 year old mother and I had the privledge of staying for 2 nights at the Fisherman's Daughter B&B. Our hosts, Mel and Wil were so engaging and hospitable with my mom. They even asked her to stay on. And Max the dog was great. The B&B was the perfect size to make one feel at home both in the accomodation and the harvest table in the dinning room. The breakfast menu changed ever day with options. One must not forget to leave your request on the dining table the night before or you will get in trouble with the chefs.
On our last day in Mahone Bay, we missed the LCBO by 5 minutes. Mel and Wil invited us to join them on the front lawn to share their homemade organic wine. Mom and I were so touched. We felt like family.

Room Tip: I checked all rooms upstairs, Each was charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzieque_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My wife and me stayed at the place 5 days & nights. We liked everything about it. Melanie & Willem who run the place are really nice hosts delivering an overwhelming spirit of hospitality. We felt very much welcomed there. The rooms are very nice and cosy. We specially enjoyed the breakfast in the morning with excellent food and nice conversations around the huge round table in the dining area downstairs. We took by this a lot of advantage following the recommendations we got regarding our exploring of the region. Another advantage of Fisherman's Daughter is that it's located very central in Mahone Bay. So we only had to walk minutes to get to all the intesting spots in the village and nice restaurants around. As we are living in Salzburg County, Austria, we are used to get best service in lodging and food.
But the Fisherman's Daughter delivered all of this over the top. Melanie and Willem, returning to South Shore we will choose your place ever again! Thanks for everything, Michael & Susan

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

THIS place is THE place to stay in Nova Scotia! We spent a week touring NS and Fisherman's Daughter was an absolute haven. Of all the places I have stayed, hands down, this was my favorite... we only wished we had skipped our other stops and went straight there! Melanie and Willem are truly amazing people with personalities as warm as their smiles. The B&B itself is welcoming and exquisitely kept. Each room has its own identity, all equally inviting. We stayed in "the Back Room" which was both cozy and refreshing. The breakfasts are beautifully prepared by the dynamic duo and are sure to impress. and as if that weren't enough; there is Max :) the splendidly behaved and completely gush-able Schnauzer.

i can't say enough about Fisherman's Daughter. Only that it (and the charming hosts) will be missed until we return again!

Room Tip: There are two beds in "the back room" (very quiet and with a skylight) "the Captain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catestriplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

A wonderful stay, lovely room, fabulous hosts! Thank you for the anniversary champagne! Great recommendations for dinner. Centrally located in Mahone Bay. Definitely the place! This place will not disappoint.

Room Tip: Captain's Room is lovely! Clean, cool and spacious,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turnwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahone Bay
6.3 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
342 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
322 reviews
8.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Bridgewater Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mahone Bay Bed and Breakfast
3.0 mi away
Bayview Pines Country Inn
Bayview Pines Country Inn
#2 of 6 in Mahone Bay
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Daughter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Daughter

Address: 97 Edgewater Street, Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia B0J 2E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Mahone Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mahone Bay
Price Range: £102 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fisherman's Daughter 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax in the warm simplicity of a shipwright's heritage home, tucked in between the famous three churches and overlooking Mahone Bay, Have a great sleep in one of four well appointed, en-suite bedrooms. After a healthy breakfast, relax in our garden or take a stroll into town. This is the perfect location from which to explore Nova Scotia's diversified breath-taking South Shore. 45 Mins to Halifax, 40 mins to Peggy's Cove and 15 mins to Lunenburg. Sugar and/or gluten free on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Fisherman's Daughter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisherman's Daughter Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing